We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14811 Kruse Oaks Drive, Lake Oswego, OR 97035   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Roseburg, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at the Crown Plaza Lake Oswego on a Groupon deal. The room was on the top floor, (check in upgrade), well appointed, clean, friendly staff and great central location to the Portland metro area as it's right next to I-5. The lobby is warm and inviting as was the room. It is an older building but the areas that we were in have all been updated. There were just a few guests staying as it was a Saturday and this hotel caters to weekday business class folks. Check in was quick and the reception was very friendly. Our check in associate referred to us by name and seemed happy to see us. The room was quite spacious and clean though the view was limited to the other exterior walls of the building. Our only complaint about the room was the heating/cooling system. You couldn't do fine adjustments so there were large temperature fluctuations which made it a little uncomfortable.
Our Groupon included an "American" breakfast and consisted of eggs, breakfast meat, (you Americans will know what that is), country potatoes, toast and a beverage. Sufficient quantities but pretty standard fare. You could also opt for the buffet for an additional charge of 7 bucks and that consisted of scrambled eggs, breakfast meat, potatoes, toast and beverage. (What?). All in all a very pleasant place and a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am glad you had a chance to enjoy the speciel package we ran after the Holidays. I really appreciate the detail you have left in your review as it really helps us understand what the guest is looking for.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the Lake Oswego area!

Sincerely,

Kevin Schjei
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Lake Oswego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    79
    62
    27
    10
See reviews for
76
55
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed in a room with a king size bed and a pull out couch with my two boys. Nice clean hotel with a friendly bunch of people working the front desk. The only thing I wished the hotel had was a free breakfast, so I don't have to go somewhere else to eat.(affordable place to eat) Other than that I would recomend this hotel to anyone staying in the portland area.

Room Tip: first time at this property. can be a little noisy from the open lobby area below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I hope you were able to have a great time with friends and family during the Holidays. I appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast pricing. We do have packages available that do include breakfast along with very reasonably priced menu items served out of our restaurant.

Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you the next time you are in the Portland area.

Sincerely,

Kevin Schjei
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Lake Oswego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed in the presidential Suite...the only thing was the housekeeping..kleenex behind the headboard and someone's underwear hanging on the ironing board. The bathroom could use an update or a thorough cleaning at best. Had room service and the meal was wonderful, also had breakfast buffet. Staff was very accomodating, bed was very comfortable. Ideal spot right off the freeway.

I would saty here again, housekeeping needs to improve however.

Room Tip: 6th. floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I first want to apologize for your experience with housekeeping. This is defiantely not acceptable and I assure you that I have gone over your feedback with my housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening again in the future.

I am glad you had time to try out our food during your stay. I believe our Chef prepares some of the best food in the Lake Oswego and I am glad you approved.

Thank you again for writing a review and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Lake Oswego/Tigard area.

Sincerely,

Kevin Schjei
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Lake Oswego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Montana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my daughter, who was interviewing at OHSU medical school.

Very nice place, overall. I like the location, which is convenient to several highways, including being right next to I-5. There are several good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Try Thai Basil - very good.

You can tell this property has been around for a while, but it appears that the staff has done a very good job of maintaining everything.

It was very quiet - no road noise or anything.

The breakfast buffet is a bit pricey, at $14.00. Don't waste your money; there are other, less expensive options nearby.

Beds were comfortable. Nice TV with lots of channel options.

Staff was very friendly and accomodating.

We got a special rate linked to OHSU ($79), so the value was exceptional for Portland.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We really appreciate the comments you have given us on our staff. I will make sure to pass on this great feedback to them. I do understand that a full breakfast buffet can be more than what some people need. We do have a full breakfast menu available that has very reasonably priced breakfast options.

Thank you again for the time you have taken to write about our hotel and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Lake Oswego area!

Sincerely,

Kevin Schjei
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Lake Oswego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Crowne Plaza Lake Oswego is my first choice of a place to stay anytime I have been in Portland over the last 10 years. The only time I choose another hotel is when Crowne Plaza is booked. With a great restaurant, fitness center, business center, pool/jacuzzi and bar, the hotel offers complete comfort and service without leaving the property. It is the perfect place to work and relax for several days. The present staff are exceptional in providing great service and accommodation. They make the Crowne Plaza distinctive and special. Justin and Nicolai always make me feel at home when i come through the doors. I have recently rented a condo in Portland but still choose to stay at the Crowne Plaza for the luxury of relaxing, working a bit, and relaxing again without going outside.

Room Tip: The sixth floor is very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It is always great to be someones first choice and hearing that feedback really makes our job rewarding. We appreciate all the times you have stayed with us and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Kevin Schjei
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Lake Oswego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The staff was friendly, helpful and responsive. Unfortunately, the property owners are AWOL in maintaining the hotel. The halls were not vacuumed for five days, The in-window heating and
A/C unit was so noisy it had to be turned off at night even on the low-fan setting. Room-service
trays were left in the halls for a full day without pickup. In short, the property is being neglected.
Finally, the night stand lamp used black electrical tape to hold the light bulb socket in place. I
could go on, but the comments above should be sufficient to discourage anyone from booking
a room at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for writing a review about our hotel. I really appreciate that feedback you have given us as we are always looking for ways we can improve. We take great pride in having a clean hotel and I am really disappointed to hear about your experience. Please note that I have gone over your feedback with our Executive Housekeeper and her staff to make sure we can prevent these things coming up again in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment and we hope you give us another shot when you visit the Lake Oswego area.

Sincerely,

Kevin Schjei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mccleary, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We travel to Oregon every year for our annual Girls Black Friday Shopping trip and it this was our first time staying at the Crowne Plaza. The staff took our bags for us prior to our rooms being ready. The bags were in our room when we arrived back at the hotel. The rooms were clean, the beds and pillows were super comfortable and it was a wonderful nights sleep. When checking out the staff was very friendly and helpful in giving us directions to our shopping areas. We will definitely be back next Black Friday weekend! Thanks :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We really appreciate the positive feedback you have left and please note that I have shared this with the staff. We hope you make your shopping trip an annual event at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. Have a great Holiday Season!

Sincerely,

Kevin Schjei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego

Address: 14811 Kruse Oaks Drive, Lake Oswego, OR 97035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Lake Oswego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Oswego
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Oswego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly refreshed Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego Hotel. This summer, as the flower baskets cascade to the sidewalks,the flower beds are in full bloom, is the perfect time to visit and enjoy your Oregon experience. Located at I-5, exit 292 Kruse Way and HWY 217, only 10 minutes away from downtown Portland, the Oregon Golf Club & close by Beaverton's High Tech area, Lewis and Clark College, OHSU, PCC and the Oregon Convention Center. Complimentary hotel shuttle service to downtown Lake Oswego, Lewis and Clark, OHSU, Mentor Graphics, and Xerox as well as any location within three miles. Tax free shopping at Woodburn Co. Stores, Bridgeport Village or Washington Square. Whether your visit brings you to us for business or pleasure, the Crowne Plaza is ready to serve you! When traveling alone, with a group or your family, our accommodations were designed with you in mind. For extra comfort, pamper yourself in one of our spacious two room guest suites. Enjoy our new Mediterranean style cuisine in Basil's Kitchen where your table is waiting. Drop by and enjoy your favorite cocktail at Basil's Bar and catch a game on the new plasma TV. Relax after a long day in our indoor/ outdoor pool, hot tub and sauna, or workout in our fitness center. Our expert catering team has ranked # 1 in Meetings Satisfaction for weddings, banquets, meetings and special events. Our Crowne Meetings Director is waiting to help you with your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Osego Hotel Lake Oswego
Lake Oswego Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.