We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place great location except for room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14850 Kruse Oaks Dr., Lake Oswego, OR 97035   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place great location except for room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend because others were staying here that we were traveling with. Great location for walking to places to eat and located off the main highway easily. The staff very friendly and the breakfasts looked good though we didn't eat there. Others had said it was very good. I just have a problem with hotels like this not including breakfast, this place is very comparable (price & amenities wise) to other hotels for the same price with breakfast included. Though the water and snacks always out to grab were very good. We just had problems with our room (s) and the air conditioning and though they moved us right away we ended up next to the elevators and the noise of the ding each time it hit the floor was terrible. I always ask for rooms on the top floors and completely away from the elevator, this is in our profile as Hilton Honors members too. Especially since there was a large children's group staying there I should have had them move me the minute I saw where they were putting us. Just don't have a husband willing to move luggage too many times. Plus the people were traveling with wanted us near by, that will never happen again! All in all okay stay, a lot of plumbing noise overhead constantly that added to elevator noise so just ask for top floor and away from elevator!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about us on Tripadvisor. During the summer time on the weekends we often have teams in house. We do have a strict noise policy for these groups that we monitor while they are at our Hotel. We encourage all of our guest to let us know if they have any issues so we can do our best to resolve that issue. If you have an issue with a room in the future and want to move but don’t want to hassle with moving your bags all you have to do is contact the front desk and we will move your bags for you. Our goal is to do whatever we can to make sure you enjoy your experience while at our hotel. Staying during this time of year rates can seem high but when you do some price shopping you will find we are very comparable and often cheaper than the hotels in Portland. Hilton Garden Inns do not include breakfast in all of our rates because we prefer to give the choice to the consumer rather than just charging a higher room rate to cover breakfast costs. If you do want breakfast included we have bed and breakfast rates available at a slightly higher cost. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    131
    39
    8
    7
See reviews for
84
83
26
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for a tennis tournament nearby. Hotel was neat and clean and check in was great. Being a silver honors member entitles me to free water from fridges and also a free item from the shop, had a turkey wrap. Hilton now has these adjustable beds in the rooms for comfort, useful for some people. Keurig machine in room did not work, informed hotel desk was never replaced. Coffee is free in the mornings but you have buy the pods in the lobby to get coffee, strange policy! Asked for a corkscrew and was given a freebie, that was nice. My biggest complaint about Hilton vs. Marriott for example is that breakfast is NOT included. At $12.95 pretty expensive. rates were also high at $209 plus all the taxes per night. Almost $700 for 3 nights. Was there as part of a team and no group rates, expensive and not really worth the money. Pool was really small and also hot tub really small. No outside seating areas at all....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about us on trip advisor. You stayed during our peak season on nights we were sold out so our rates are higher on those days. If you checked the hotels in the area you would find for those days the rates are very comparable and actually cheaper than most of the hotels in Portland. If you are traveling with a group that requires over 10 rooms I would recommend that you talk with our sales department to see about setting up a group rate.

We charge for breakfast at Hilton Garden Inn's because we like to give our customers the ability to choose if they want to pay for breakfast. If breakfast was included in the rate, the rates would be higher to offset the cost. We do have a bed and breakfast rate that includes breakfast but it is at a higher rate then what you paid. Hopefully the next time your group is in the area you will stay with us again and this time get a group rate by booking through our sales department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We used the Hilton Garden Lake Oswego as our base for exploring Willamette Valley wineries. It was a good choice. Good quality room, pleasant staff, convenient to I-5. There is a Starbucks 5 minutes away, which made for quick and convenient light breakfast. In off-peak hours, it was a 20-30 minutes drive to Dundee and the heart of wine country. It was also relatively convenient to make our way to the Portland Airport for our trip home.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for the kind words you wrote about us on trip advisor. People often compliment our hotel because of the convenience of the location and the friendliness of our staff. We are close to the Dundee are that has a large number of vineyards like you said but we are also close to Mt Hood and a short drive to the Woodburn outlet malls if shopping tax free is more of what you are looking for. Thank you again and we hope you will stay with us the next time you are in the Lake Oswego area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel frequently over the last six years. The facility, staff and location are great and I have always been welcomed as a member of the family rather than a visitor. I highly recommend the property!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about us on Tripadvisor. We pride ourselves on delivering a high level of customer service and making guests feel at home. We will share your kind words with all of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I recently stayed here while chaperoning my son and some teammates at a local soccer tournament. Room was ready a few minutes before check-in time. We had asked for adjoining rooms and everything was ready. Check in was easy and there was no line. Complimentary breakfast was simple but good and plentiful. I was impressed with the lobby because it was West Elm-cute but comfortable enough to sit and have a meeting with 15 teenage boys. They served snacks and wine in the evening and had a great variety of choices. And when I showed up 15 minutes after closing time, the staff was accommodating and served up a much needed glass of wine. There is a Starbucks and Chipotle (and other places) right across the street so everyone was happy. The only thing that I didn't like was the mattress. Apparently, you could adjust the mattress but it was shoved so close to the nightstand that I couldn't pull it back to read which way I was supposed to turn the knob. I think they should just invest in normal mattresses because I wasn't the only person in our group that had trouble with it. A/C unit was a little louder than I would have preferred by at least it cooled the room down on a 90 degree day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about us on tripadvisor. I apologize about the issue with the nightstand being close to the bed. There should have been plenty of space so that you could have easily adjusted the bed. Although we occasionally have people that do not like the bed, we often get fabulous reviews about our beds. Thank you for your kind comments I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The rooms were not ready at check in time. The staff and management were at the best times disinterested and the worst times rude. Admittedly they were very full, but if you can't handle that you are in the wrong business. The breakfast area wasn't kept cleared of dirty dishes after people had finished eating. Not a pleasant environment.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda M, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of every guest and to ensure that we deliver a high level of customer service. From looking at your survey it looks like we could have done some things to make your stay more enjoyable, I want to apologize for that. In the future should you chose to stay with us again, I hope that you won't hesitate to contact us at the front desk with anything that prevents you from having a most comfortable and enjoyable stay. We would be happy to replace, repair, or otherwise fix anything that is not in proper working order.

As you noted we were quite full and very busy during your stay. The business of travel season often makes it difficult to have the rooms ready at our 3 pm check in time, although we do make every effort to do so. There are often guests that need a bit of extra time for checking out - which of course delays our housekeepers from being able to enter and clean the rooms. When the hotel is full, breakfast is also full and again our staff makes every effort to clear tables, keep the buffet stocked, and attend to every guest. It is highly recommended that you allow time for delays when staying with us during our busiest season which is Summer. If there is anything else we could have done to make your stay more enjoyable please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Lake Oswego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, UT
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a nice hotel, feels very fresh and updated. The staff was very, very nice, and the room was large, super clean and very comfortable. I had a great night's sleep. There's several restaurants within waling distance, including Applebee's, Stanford's, Olive Garden and my favorite, Thai Basil. One thing to be aware of is the parking - it's fine if you have a car (use the parking garage) but if you have a truck and are towing a trailer I would not recommend this hotel, as you will be parking on the street and it's just not the most trailer-friendly setup. If I remember correctly it's something like 7' maximum clearance. Other than that, this is a very nice place to stay. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda M, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found the location and staff to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. You Can Count On Us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego

Address: 14850 Kruse Oaks Dr., Lake Oswego, OR 97035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Lake Oswego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Oswego
#1 Business Hotel in Lake Oswego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing Lake Oswego hotel, the Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego hotel is conveniently located near Tigard & Wilsonville, OR within close proximity to the beautiful Oregon Wine Country and only minutes from downtown Portland. We are also located near Bridgeport Village Shopping Mall, Washington Square Shopping Mall, Oregon Zoo, Rose Garden Arena, and Lewis and Clark College. Plus, the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Lake Oswego offers 179 spacious guestrooms full of thoughtful amenities complemented by friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. At the Hilton Garden Inn, you'll find everything you need, right where you need it during your stay in Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego Hotel Lake Oswego
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Oswego
Hilton Lake Oswego
Lake Oswego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.