We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place, below average for HGI” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14850 Kruse Oaks Dr., Lake Oswego, OR 97035   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok place, below average for HGI”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights on a business trip last week. I am HH gold and the vendor I was travelling with was Diamond . . . don't expect anything other than complimentary breakfast. Not that I did, just stating what you will get.

Lobby area is nice, breakfast is average for HGI. The rooms are in need of an update. Pool is very small, as is the fitness center.

Overall, it was an average stay and my expectations were met.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
acehigh212 - I am excited to say that we will be getting that update for the rooms in 2013. They will look and feel fantastic. HGI has implemented Project Grow which will catch up all of the older properties with the newest generation properties. Our fitness center is a bit small and because of that we have recently started a relationship with Snap Fitness directly behind our hotel. We can get you signed up at the front desk for access to their gym which is fully equipped and in great condition. It is just $7 per day or $20 for the week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    119
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
79
75
25
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here this past Weekend. Staff was outstanding--super friendly. Facility was clean, fitness center was adequate. Restaurants closeby were better than average chain choices--Stanfords and Lake Oswego Grill. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Well done.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
HeatherPA - Thank you for your review. I love the restaurants in the area. There is also a great Thai restaurant behind us as well as Chinese, terriaki, a local deli, a few different Mexican restaurants and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Location is great! Lobby and rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff is extremely friendly and professional. The "happy hour", although small/simple, is a great way to spend $4.50 for a very cold beer. But the coffee "bar" and breakfast leave a bit to be desired. Coffee bar had only decaf one night and warm regular coffee another. Breakfast, ugh. Selection was minimal flair for HGI. Cooked to order left something to be desired. I ordered (as always) a spinach, onion and cheese omelet. Well, it had TWO pieces of spinach, maybe some onions (I couldn't find them but maybe they were there), and a little (and I mean little) cold shredded cheese sprinkled on top. And the front desk cookies are, in fact, overcooked. Our housekeeper is "eh", nothing special. Two brochures found on floor upon our return that were on desk when we left...little things like that. And, yes, the doors are all marred - so they need to pay more attention to detail, regardless of whether they expect a renovation in the near future or not. We did not experience a loud A/C as others reported, but we did experience a well working A/C as it kept the room nice and COLD, just the way we like it. Keep in mind, we are diamond members so it's not our first trip to the rodeo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
danthatravel - I also think our location is great. We are close to a major freeway (I-5) but set back far enough that we do not get the noise from the traffic. Our happy hour is a new program we have instated and it has been going very well. I will pass on your other concerns to the proper managers so we can continue to improve our property. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Wow! What a great value this place is. The front desk staff appear to be rotating every day. We never saw the same person twice doing our 3-night stay. However, all of them are professional, super helpful and friendly. My in-laws who were leaving a day before me could not print their boarding passes at the business center. The front desk staff let them used their computer and printer! Our stay did not include breakfast so I cannot comment on the quality. Just to note that breakfast seems popular and looks pretty good. We opted to go to downtown Lake Oswego for breakfast instead which is a lovely place worth a visit. My room smells so nice when I walked in. Everything in room works well. All furniture are relatively new and clean. Nice amenities in the bathroom. The flat-screen TV has many HD channels. The free WiFi is quite fast. There is also an AUX cable from the clock radio so you can hook up your iPod or iPhone to play your music. I didn't use the small pool. It is more for kids. Getting to downtown Portland is quick an easy via I-5 (15-20 min). Comparing to staying in downtown Portland, we saved a good chunk of changes and we probably got a better quality hotel for the same class. Next time we go to Portland, unless we find a killer deal downtown, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
CliveNYC - I am glad that you share our enthusiasm for our hotel. It is people like you that keep us smiling. Thank you for your review and I hope to see you during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

The breakfast here made it a great place for my family. Made to order omelettes, waffles, bacon, potatoes, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, name brand cold cereals, and juices.

Ask for the rate that includes breakfast. One night was $129 without breakfast or $133 with vouchers for up to 4 adults. Kids were only $5.50 when I paid out of pocket.
Wish the staff had offered the rate including the breakfast our first night. Great location near good restaurants & the freeway. It doesn't get much prettier than Lake Oswego.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
utahrinn - I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Lake Oswego is a very pretty place and I am glad you were able to share that with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I am a diamond member. I received a bill for my morning breakfast. I should not have since I elected the free breakfast instead of rewards points. The server brought my bill.
I fill out the ticket entering my name and room number. On the line with the bill total and tip I wrote "0" giving no tip and intending for no total amount on the bill.
When I checked out of the hotel, my hotel stay total included the $9.95 for the breakfast that I was supposed to have free for being a diamond member and the server that served me absolutely no food or coffee conveniently had granted himself a $3.00 tip without my authorization.
When I addressed this with the reception staff member she displayed no concern for what the server had done.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Jo A - I am sorry to hear that your breakfast experience ended so poorly. This is not how we do business here. I will make sure that our staff is looking for the free breakfast vouchers we give to our Diamond members. It is also completely unacceptable for our server to write in a tip when none was given. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I am sorry that it happened to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with helpful staff. We were passing through coming from Mt. Rainier going to Crater Lake National Park and this was a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Traveller1171 - I am happy to hear you had such a great experience here. That is what we strive for. You also found a few of our regional treasures in Crater Lake and Mt. Rainier. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego

Address: 14850 Kruse Oaks Dr., Lake Oswego, OR 97035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Lake Oswego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing Lake Oswego hotel, the Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego hotel is conveniently located near Tigard & Wilsonville, OR within close proximity to the beautiful Oregon Wine Country and only minutes from downtown Portland. We are also located near Bridgeport Village Shopping Mall, Washington Square Shopping Mall, Oregon Zoo, Rose Garden Arena, and Lewis and Clark College. Plus, the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Lake Oswego offers 179 spacious guestrooms full of thoughtful amenities complemented by friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. At the Hilton Garden Inn, you'll find everything you need, right where you need it during your stay in Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego Hotel Lake Oswego
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Oswego
Hilton Lake Oswego
Lake Oswego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.