We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and patio setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Provence

La Provence
16350 Boones Ferry Road, Lake Oswego, OR 97035
5036354533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 133 Restaurants in Lake Oswego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Bakeries, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great food and patio setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I recently enjoyed a fantastic lunch sitting out on the patio of La Provence in Lake Oswego. Excellent food and service and especially the patio setting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    70
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love the look and the pastries, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This restaurant moved locations recently and this one is really pretty. The pastries look fantastic. We sat on the patio hoping for a nice lunch. The service was a little slow, the place was pretty busy. My friend ordered a Quiche of the day, but the waitress told us they just ran out. She ordered a salad, but she was not thrilled with it. I had Vegetable Quiche and it was good, but the sourdough bread they brought us was dry.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Unique style and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I tried this last night and were incredibly impressed. The style and ambiance is good, we sat at the front and it could get a bit busy, so try to stay to the back or outside if it's a nice night.

The main dishes are broken down into two price categories of small entrees; there is a $5.50 selection and a $6.50 selection and believe me you get plenty of food for that money and plenty of choices. The food was all outstanding.

We did not try the desserts, but they all looked fantastic.

All in all we will definitely be back here again and thanks to Patrick for making us feel so welcome.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amity, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I had a wonderful late morning Breakfast on the Patio. Wonderful food & great Service. I had the Eggs Provencal; nice thick grilled tomato slices topped with eggs poached to my specification, nicely flavored & topped with melted mozzarella. A Bellini followed by a lovely single espresso completed the lovely meal.

At the next table a young couple with a small boy & a baby were treated so well by their server & other staff. As the lunch rush began the staff continued to smile & serve us with efficiency.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spotty food, untrained staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We loved the old place for breakfast but the new place is not ready for prime time. Examples of what we ate:
Mussels--outstanding. Snails--in an ocean of cream sauce with way too much pancetta and puff pastry that was impervious to cutting. Ahi tuna tartare--Excellent with a mild wasabi cream and chipolte roumalade. Cheese plate--Skip this. Steak "bites"--very good.
Overall food rating--A wide gulf between things done well and those not so well. Average at best.

Service--The shape of the room means a lot of waiter traffic but that's not the waiters fault. What is annoying is the obvious lack of training. Examples--The wine was served without a tasting being offered, nor the cork. Staff was generally lacked knowledge of the specifics of dishes. Each time staff removed a finished dish we had to ask for forks/knives when next course arrived. I can't blame staff. I blame management for inadequate training.

That said the small plates idea is interesting. Just get some consistency on the food and train the staff properly and this place could be in the very good to excellent range

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Provence also viewed

Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 

Been to La Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.