We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cup of joe and a bite of sugar!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe & Sugars Cafe & Espresso

Joe & Sugars Cafe & Espresso
1119 Adams Ave, La Grande, OR 97850
541-975-5282
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 59 Restaurants in La Grande
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
Description: Joe & Sugars Cafe is in the heart of downtown La Grande (located next to Red Cross Drug Store). We serve a full service Breakfast from 7-11 and Lunch from 11-3.Offering a daily lunch special.
Restaurant details
Description: Joe & Sugars Cafe is in the heart of downtown La Grande (located next to Red Cross Drug Store). We serve a full service Breakfast from 7-11 and Lunch from 11-3.Offering a daily lunch special.
Pendleton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A cup of joe and a bite of sugar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

All good, homemade food. I love coming in here in the morning... It's always filled with regulars, the coffee is hot, and smell of cooking bacon coming from the kitchen always makes me hungry! Try the quiche, it's quite good; the crust is amazing!

P.S. Disregard Darlye D's review. Clearly he is referring to either the "Flying J" or "Denny's" as the corporate restaurant by the highway... Neither of which beat "Joe and Sugar's" If that is his idea of breakfast, then clearly he needs to keep on trucking... right down the highway. I hear there's a "Starbuck's" down the highway too. Maybe he can get a "corporate" coffee there as well!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

While traveling I do prefer to go to independent restaurants over any chain so we made a point of having breakfast here during our stay in La Grande. What a disappointment.

Two stars all around from the atmosphere to the food to the service.

The first thing you notice is how disjointed the place is. Some tables are huge, some are tiny. The booths are awkward and not easy to get in and out of. And on our visit the next problem was how long it took the food to come out. I ordered simple bacon, eggs, and hash browns and it took over 20 minutes for it to arrive at our table.

And when it did the eggs were barely luke warm. Which I might have told them about if they ever checked on our table. Once the food was dropped we never saw a server again.

The coffee is self serve? Which is odd for a breakfast diner type place.

I would not recommend Joe & Sugars. This is one case where the corporate restaurant by the highway is the better call.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkim48, Owner at Joe & Sugars Cafe & Espresso, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
I am sorry your visit at Joe & Sugars Cafe was disappointing.
Each customer who walks through the door is important to me, and I strive to make their experience a good one.
Service & the quality of food is something that it important to me.
Again, I am sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Adequate, pretty small, clean, mostly locals joint.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stopped in for a late breakfast, appeared to have about a half-dozen tables, lengthy specialty coffee list, smaller food menu. Definitely a locals, "home place", which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Server was pleasant & efficient, self-serve coffee a bit different. Portions served were hot, plentifully sized and generally tasty. Noted there were veggie options available. Also a good selection of locally-made pastries. Spouse had a pumpkin something scone; said it was just ok.

Would return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Wyoming
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Joe and Sugars is a regular visit place for our family when we go to La Grande to visit family. Home made cookies, cinnamon roles, scones, coffee and lattes, and more. Stop by, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good place to watch it rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were visiting LaGrande and needed to have some lunch. We decided it was worth the few minutes to wait for a table and headed here for lunch. We all had an excellent lunch, the service was friendly and good, and our latte's were very good. It was a great place for lunch and enjoying a warm spot on a rainy day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe & Sugars Cafe & Espresso also viewed

 

Been to Joe & Sugars Cafe & Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe & Sugars Cafe & Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.