We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay if you have pets” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Motor Inn to your Saves list
Royal Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1510 Adams Ave, La Grande, OR 97850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Anniston, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stay if you have pets”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I reserved a room online at the travelodge in La grande. I arrived and was told they don't take pets. Which was fine since I was not impressed with the property at all. I was sent to the royal motor inn. It needs work. No pool and no business center. The police showed up looking for someone the next morning. I will not be back at either property any time soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
18
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Passing through the town on my way to do the Hells Canyon scenic byway, just needed a place to stay for the night. This place was just fine. It was clean and location was downtown close to restaurants and gas stations. Some of the towels were dirty though and the air conditioning emits a terrible smell (although I got used to it). Bed was a bit on the saggy side. Staff was friendly. Parking is a bit limited.The toilet was also leaking some water. But overall, it did not dampen the mood of my stay and I was satisfied. If passing through again would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were just passing through and chose this place because it's downtown and looked clean and it was. The rooms are on the smalll side but we had a king bed and a good location for checking out the lovely downtown. This hotel wasn't fancy but it had most of the basics and the price and location made it a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This motel in downtown La Grande, just a short drive off the interstate (only about .9 mile), has to have some of the cleanest rooms we've ever stayed in. They apparently have new mattresses, as the beds were extremely comfortable. There was a plethora of channels on the t.v., and the air con worked well. It is less expensive than the motels right off the interstate, is quieter, and the service was great. There was a small fridge and a microwave in the room, and the free wi fi was fast and easy. Don't expect much from the breakfast offerings (coffee, bananas, and store-bought muffins), but that is about all you get for "continental breakfast" anywhere. The curtains in our room obviously needed repair, but they did their job of blocking out the light just fine. We have spent two nights there in the past few weeks, and we will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I come to La Grande annually and this time, we decided to stay at this hotel because most to the reviews were pretty good. I agree with a previous reviewer....."you get what you pay for". It was noisy, dirty, and the bed, though it was called a "Sleep Number Bed" which we have at home, was terrible!! It had ridges and we rolled to the middle of the bed and the numbers did NOT work! The towels should NOT be called towels.....they are so thin, you need two to get dry with them. They are more like rags!!! The location is handy for walking downtown but there is no other redeeming value here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I guess you get what you pay for. It was very noisy all night - as you could easily hear your neighbors and anybody talking outside, as well as when anyone went up and downstairs. In the morning I noticed the carpet was infested with tiny ants. There was also something gross on the bath towel I went to use and had to go get another one. If we had had a booking for more than one night I would have cancelled after the first night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

Although older and not fancy, the room has everything one could ask for - a comfortable king sized bed as we requested, a microwave, mini-refigerator, a decent TV, and free wi-fi. The room is clean and comfortable. The manager was personable, helpful and responsive. It is a bargain and we would stay here again if we return to La Grande.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Motor Inn

Address: 1510 Adams Ave, La Grande, OR 97850
Location: United States > Oregon > La Grande
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Motor Hotel La Grande
Royal Hotel La Grande
Royal Motel La Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.