We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing since last time there.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
5140 S 6th St, Klamath Falls, OR 97603-5063
541-883-1790
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 132 Restaurants in Klamath Falls
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Wa.
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing since last time there.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We usually love Black Bear Diner when traveling. This time the food wasn't that good. The service was good, however. One thing, even for the smaller appetite menu, the servings are generous.
We may not make an effort to seek out these restaurants in our future travels.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    27
    14
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good Enough To Return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Passing through Klamath twice in two weeks we tried the Black Bear the first time for breakfast based on the Tripadvisor reviews. All of the different meals were very good with generous portions. The service was prompt and friendly with a restaurant that was 70% occupied.

On our travels when we find a place that is good, we usually return. On our return trip we stopped again for lunch. Our experience was consistent with the first try. The food is prepared the way you want it, substitutions were not an issue, the prices are competitive with similar restaurants.

I rate the Black Bear above the "cafe" level and put it in the restaurant category. They do have lunch specials, but if it is busy they can run out of the special.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Locals place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We tried Black Bear cafe because of the reviews. When the locals like to eat there it is usually good. The portions were huge. I had fried chicken and think they brought me half a chicken. The service was good even thought they were very busy! The food is good and prices are reasonable. The desserts looked delicious but we were too full to have any.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, WA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good Brealfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The omelette was great (if too large a serving), service was fine and timely. Husband had the pancakes and they were good too. We enjoyed our waiter and had no problems. I will return but try to split the breakfast. Oh yes, the fresh squeezed OJ is the best! Try it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twisp, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Recommended by the Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We asked for a restaurant recommendation at one of the gas stations in town. I spoke the guy in the c-store and my other half asked the guy at the pumps. Both of them said the same thing - the Black Bear Diner. So we went there. I didn't realize they are a west coast chain of restaurants. You'd never know it though since the place didn't have a chain feel it at all. It had a down-home feel to it.

I ordered the grilled steak salad. It was huge - way too much for one person for lunch, but it was delicious. My other half ordered the chicken avocado club sandwich. His only dislike was the homemade potato salad. He found it too vinegary for his tastes.

You know the place must be good if employees bring their families to eat there. I heard some people talking to a lady who served them on a previous visit. She was there on her day off with her children to have lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 
Klamath Falls, OR
 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.