We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Nuts Dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Running Y Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Running Y Ranch to your Saves list
Running Y Ranch
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Running Y Road, Klamath Falls, OR 97601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Klamath Falls
North Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Golf Nuts Dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

Running Y Ranch and Golf Course outside of Klamouth Falls Oregon are well worth a three-day stay. We purchased a stay and play package for the lodge and unlimited golf.
The lodge is awesome as are the guest rooms.
The golf? Perfect tee boxes, fairways and greens. A beautiful setting with multiple views.
For the money, the packages are a great value!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    90
    35
    27
    13
See reviews for
83
135
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

Yes, you read the title correctly. I've figured out why Running Y has availability in August....the Midges. (Which they neglected to mention at the time I made my reservation.) Midges are gnat-like insects sometimes confused with mosquitoes. They don't bite but don't walk outside and open your mouth for any reason otherwise they will make their way inside. Yuck. At check-in they said to embrace them but it's pretty hard when you get swarmmed as soon as you walk outside. The food at the bar was lousy but the bartender was awesome. The room was comparable to a Motel 6. Never again will I stay here. Sorry, I don't embrace bugs.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

Running Y is a very nice, newer hotel. Our king sized room in the first floor was great. Food is a disappointment, and that's a problem, because you have no other options unless you bring your own or have a 20 minute drive. Dinner is done well, but pricey, with many entrees in the $30 price range and a good wine list. Breakfast and lunch are just terrible. There is a very limited buffet for breakfast with overcooked eggs, biscuits and gravy. Lunch is even worse - limited and not good when you get it. Overall, food service is slow. We frequently at breakfast and lunch with up to six tables of dirty dishes - they didn't have enough staff to bus the tables. Golf is great here - we loved the course, and the carts have GPS. The spa is small, but the massages were absolute heaven on earth.

  • Liked — Great room
  • Disliked — Food quality and food service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

The Running Y is either the best kept secret in Oregon or there's some seriously wrong here. We were there during the last week of June and it was all but empty. Even the staff was missing, which means you have to schlep your own bags up to your slightly overpriced room. It reminded of the Overlook Hotel in The Shining, minus Jack Nicholson, REDRUM and those creepy twin girls. The only sign of activity were the handful of retirees enduring the Worldmark timeshare spiels in order to get a few dollars off a room. The bar in the lodge closes at 8 p.m., which cuts short the amount of time you have to drink alone. The restaurant stays open till 9. It's very good, but it's a quarter mile away at the golf course pro shop. The greatest part about Running Y is the Arnold Palmer-designed golf course. It's a great layout for any golfer regardless of handicap.

So, if you like solitude and don't mind paying a little extra for it, this is the place. Bring your golf clubs and a playing companion unless you like to play alone or getting hooked up with a stranger.

  • Liked — The quiet
  • Disliked — Lack of staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

Just to say relax and enjoy isn't enough. From the road to Running Y to the resort itself scenic views abound. At the Y, walking and bike paths take you through rugged woods to lake vistas. Around the Arnold Palmer golf course and up to the sports center, we saw two groups of deer, squirrels and other four legged, cute animals. The sky was full of amazing birds. My only wish was to see more Bald Eagles. We thoroughly enjoyed the 18 hole real grass putting course and, it goes without saying, the PGA course. After an active day, the spa was a real treat. Then off the the suite in the lodge with its cozy fireplace and relaxing deck looking over the lake and golf course. Here the service was adequate and the restaurant good. The following day we enjoyed tennis and swimming. All this in a quiet, peaceful setting. We will make the trip to the Running Y again this summer and for many more to come. Who knows maybe we will find a home there.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

In lodge ambiance and large, pristine room of typical motel design, we enjoyed our stay. Layout needs some improvement; there was no plug for computer at desk and no lamp/nightstand on one side of comfortable king-size bed. We slept wonderfully none the less. Bath had great electrical features; heat lamp, venting, and night light but otherwise small and unimpressive. Golf course, mountain, and peekaboo lake view was glorious. Meal at ranch's Ranch House Restaurant was adequate but pricey. Though waitress was friendly and accomodating, very inexperienced as was the Lodge consierge (her first day but no trainer in sight). Has beautiful gym and spa. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

Lovely surroundings and a wonderful golf course are the top features of this getaway location. The spa is also a wonderful place to rejuvenate. I had the best facial I have ever had! The Running Y is definitely a place to go play golf and relax. The restaurants on site are also terrific. The staff are very attentive and pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Running Y Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Running Y Ranch

Address: 5500 Running Y Road, Klamath Falls, OR 97601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Klamath Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Klamath Falls
#5 Business Hotel in Klamath Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Klamath Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Running Y Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Running Y Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Running y Ranch Hotel Klamath Falls
Running y Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Running Y Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.