We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A large hotel resort complex on a beautiful golf course, with a spacious, inviting lobby, and very plush, spacious rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Running Y Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Running Y Ranch to your Saves list
Running Y Ranch
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Running Y Road, Klamath Falls, OR 97601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Klamath Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A large hotel resort complex on a beautiful golf course, with a spacious, inviting lobby, and very plush, spacious rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This large, plush hotel resort complex is on a beautiful golf course; with a spacious, inviting lobby, and off the lobby is a very nice restaurant and bar with huge open picture doors leading to the charming terrace patio by the golf course!

While visiting Crater Lake in mid- July, almost all the lodging around the area was occupied. So, my wife and I were lucky to be able to book 
3 nights at the Running-Y Golf Resort (Holiday Inn) in Klamath Fall, some 45min drive away!

Our room was quite plush, spacious and very well appointed; the queen size bed very comfortable. The provision of both FIRM and SOFT Pillows was a welcoming feature! The bathroom was very nice and spacious, too. Free WiFi everywhere.

The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. They gave us directions to various local attractions; helped us with printing out a document, as its business center did NOT have a printer. 

In this hotel resort, we enjoyed walking on the trails around its beautiful golf course, where
many kids were having fun biking around, too. We also had the best tasting "Prawns over Pasta" ($18) in its nice restaurant, and enjoyed our happy hour drinks in its comfortable patio overlooking the beautiful golf course. The wait staff was very pleasant, but the kitchen could not keep up with the orders, thus a long wait for food! 
- Along the drive to the hotel, there were another restaurant/bar and a market store. Next to the hotel was a large complex of beautiful condos (and timeshare), where there was a very nice pool and spa, which hotel guests could also enjoy. By the way, this gorgeous, relaxing resort was quite popular for fishing activities, too, besides golf! 

From here we drove to visit the magnificent Crater Lake (See separate review). It was a nice, 45min scenic drive to Crater Lake. The small town of Klamath Falls 
was  only 10min drive from the hotel. The town was rather small and old. We had dinner at one of the two popular Mexican restaurants there, the Palacio. The food was OK, service adequate, nothing special. It seemed to be more popular for parties and music.

We love Running-Y Ranch Resort, and would go back there next time we visit Crater Lake. Based on what we read on TripAdviser about lodging at the Crater Lake complex and in nearby towns, my wife and I would rather stay here at the Running Y.

Peterskis, Aug 2012

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the golf course, especially if you are a Priority Club member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Running Y Ranch, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Peterskis - Thank you for all of the fabulous feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! We are thrilled you had the opportunity to explore the entire Resort and hope to have you back as our guest in the very near future.

Warm Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    95
    37
    28
    13
See reviews for
89
144
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pacific NW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

To start the Running Y has a fantastic golf course. Top rated and very playable for all handicaps, Arnold Palmer design, loved the course. Unfortunately they closed the restaurant at the golf club so no food except from snack bar as they didn't make enough money to keep it open. Unfortunately the Lodge seems to also have cut back staff and hours on it's restaurant and service was very slow and poor. Menu has few choices and many dirty tables were left uncleared for long periods of time, causing people to wait or leave. Has tables for about 60 inside and 20 outside but only 2 waiters, they just were understaffed.
Front Desk: The reservation was screwed up three times before they got it right and they never could figure out how to email me a conformation until the day I left when they tried to tell me I was checking out a day early. They staff need training.
The hotel is very clean and fresh looking. Very beautiful location and condition. They do have a huge problem with bugs in K Falls, not just the resort the whole town. So if you don't like bugs I would advise going elsewhere.

The pool spa and fitness game sports center is very nice. Pool indoors. A nice place to take the family. Very busy place.

The shuttle service was wonderful, you don't need a car as they will pick you up and take you anywhere, airport, train, golf course, ect. at no charge, and tipping is optional. The drivers were extremely friendly and represent the resort well. Of course the day I flew in the front desk forgot to inform the driver to pick me up at the airport. Luckily for me they did have a driver there to pick up another lady on another flight so i flagged the driver down and got a ride.

I have mixed feelings about this place. I doubt I will return unless I have a golf tournament there in the future. The poor service from the reservations and restaurant staff turned me off. And the large number of empty building on property tell me this place is struggling. A recent bankruptcy and buyout by Holiday Inn has not improved the resort.

But I loved the golf course......

Room Tip: Golf course view rooms on upper floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Running Y Ranch, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
terrynreba - Thank you for sharing your experience (both positive and constructive) with us! Your feedback is appreciated an I hope that you will consider us should your travels bring you back to Southern Oregon. I am confident we will exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We really liked the lodge. Staff was friendly and helpful. The golf course is fantastic, a must play. The only negative was the wait for food in the restaurants. Don't get me wrong, the staff was friendly and attentive, but waiting nearly 40 minutes for two salads and two burgers was over the line. Other than that, we'd highly recommend staying here!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Running Y Ranch, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
MJRinNV - Thank you for the fabulous feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay (and the Golf!)! Your feedback is appreciated an I hope that you will consider us should your travels bring you back to Southern Oregon.

Warm Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chables, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Only spend one night as a stop to Crater Lake, but I really enjoy this hotel.

The lobby - bar - terrace are very nice to have a drink and enjoy the landscape.
We had a large room, clean and very quiete. Very friendly staff.

Pool and fitness (even if we didn't used it) looks great (just be aware that the pool is in a building outside the hotel)

Only bad point was the restaurant, waitress where very friendly but it took a lot of time to be served.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Running Y Ranch, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Zebul0n- Thank you for the fabulous feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! I agree that the Terrace of the Ruddy Duck is one of the best views on the Resort! We hope to see you back soon.

Warm Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time here. We combined business with pleasure. The lodge room was very nice with a little patio and nice view this was a platinum upgrade and our best buddy Max the golden retriever was welcomed. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Food was good. The empty shops are a bit disconcerting. We'll be back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Running Y Ranch, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
David S - Thank you for the fabulous feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you (and Max!) back soon.

Warm Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Look, first it is not an expensive hotel. So get the 4-5 star thing out of mind. But the weird thing is that it could be so easily. Beautiful setting, the lobby and restaurant bar have the lodge look with vaulted ceiling, leather and wood furniture and rock, stone floors and fireplace. Rooms quite nice as well. Then comes executing a 4-5 star hotel. Thats where it drops off precipitously. Since the hotel is so far from town, you are left to the services in house. The restaurant fare was lifted from the Portland airport, 10years ago. Soggy over dressed salads, pizzas that you would expect from Safeway, and the dullest hamburger ever made. Then for breakfast, the only option is a $9 all you can eat spread reminiscent of the free version in the lobby of your local Best Western. Probably the poorest trained staff you will see in an otherwise nice place. These kids were hired out of Wendy's, given a name tag and put on the floor.

Bottom line; they did the hard part, but there is an amateur running the show here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Running Y Ranch, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
sfkjeld - Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Your feedback is appreciated an I hope that you will consider us should your travels bring you back to Southern Oregon. I am confident we will exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The house keeping service was below anything I ever experienced with this chain of hotels. Stayed for 2 nights. When we arrived our rooms were clean and spatious. No remarks. After a day trip are room was not cleaned. We only get fresh towels. No new soap or shower gel, beds weren't made up, room wasn't cleaned. For the rest the service was excellent, very kids friendly, very nice staff. Only thing next to house keeping is the lack of acknowledgement of being a Platinum Ambassador member. Aside from 1000 bonus points I didn't get anything. When checking in they told me I got a nice room with view on the Golf court - indeed that was the one I booked and paid for. No upgrades or complimentary stuff. You don't feel rewarded like you would normally get at Intercontinental or Crowne Plaza's. These are a few area's of improvement for an otherwise very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, General Manager at Running Y Ranch, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Maarten V - Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Your feedback is appreciated an I hope that you will consider us should your travels bring you back to Southern Oregon. I am confident we will exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Running Y Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Running Y Ranch

Address: 5500 Running Y Road, Klamath Falls, OR 97601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Klamath Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Klamath Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Klamath Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Klamath Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Running Y Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Running Y Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Running y Ranch Hotel Klamath Falls
Running y Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Running Y Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.