We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New onsite mgmt is wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Point Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Klamath Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocky Point Resort
Save
You added Rocky Point Resort to your Saves list
28121 Rocky Point Rd, Klamath Falls, OR 97601   |  
Hotel amenities
Bend, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“New onsite mgmt is wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

New onsite mgmt, Sondra & Todd, are friendly, helpful and simply great people representing a great property. After a few years hiatus due to previous onsite mgmt (see my prior review), we were greeted with a genuine smile and offer to help in any way. We asked if they had any firewood and when we arrived a nicely stacked bundle of wood sat at our campsite. Since we were checking in late on a Friday for duck hunting they said enjoy your morning and we'll settle up on the paperwork in the afternoon. They're hard workers and are excited to make everyone's time away from home as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Thanks Sondra & Todd! We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
6
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to Rocky Point resort with our granddaughter this weekend and took our trailer.
I wasn't sure what to expect but a friend I respect goes there so we thought we would give it a try. Ari and Derek are new managers there and one couldn't ask for more helpful and friendly people.

The camping area for trailer is ok. We made last minute reservations, but we are going back
later in the summer and reserved an area that is a little more quiet and off the main area and friends will stay in a site with a water view. Most of the tent camping has a water view.

There are boats and kayaks for rent. We rented a (funky) two seated kayak for an hour and saw jumping fish and a pelican. .Derek was helpful in getting us in and out.

There is a restaurant which has beautiful views, its very nice. Not sure about eating healthy
food there. Great for a drink and salad, they do have fish and an assorted mix of other
food and the bartender over the weekend was very fun and friendly to our granddaughter.

Room Tip: we stayed in a trailer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family and I went for dinner at Rocky Point Resort this weekend. The waitress was very friendly and hospitable. The view of the lake is spectacular. The setting was so beautiful and relaxing. The food was all right but I'm hoping that it will improve and become more high end so that it fits the setting. The menu currently provided has French fries, hamburgers, patty melts, French-dip sandwiches, etc.- making it more like a diner than a waterfront resort restaurant. They also had salmon with a baked potato and salad but it was a bit bland. Trout might be a nice added dish. I'm wishing the new owners- the IOOF good luck in their endeavors. I will come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This "resort" should be condemned! We rented a "cabin" which I would more call a shack. We were charged $167 for one night. The place was infested with big black carpenter ants coming up out of the floor from under the toilet that was not attached to the floor. The spider webs were so thick in the Windows we dared not open them on a hot summers night. Cob webs in the corners of the floors and behind the curtains, obviously this place has not had any upkeeping of any kind. The pans in the stove had burnt food in them. We had gone out to our family reunion and back late evening so of course there was no one at the office and never called me back, when we checked out the girl at the office said they couldn't control the a spiders. She said the new management was understaffed and she eould ask if we coild ger a refund of some sort but of course this never happened. Never stay there!

Room Tip: Choose a room somehere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a great time at the resort. Lots to do if you like birding, canoeing,hiking or fishing. My husband was thrilled to catch a 22" trout off the dock. I loved seeing the western grebes mating ritual. We all enjoyed great canoeing. The place is very clean and efficient and the hosts are welcoming and accommodating. Very careful about rules, however. Be sure to keep your dog on leash in the campground. A lovely, peaceful spot.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This destination is definitely on our must do once a year trip. We stay near the dock and have beautiful view of the lake at a very affordable price. The fishing is epic as is the sunsets from this locale. The prices at the convenience store are surprising low compared to local markets and the restaurant food is average but the view overlooking the estuary and lake make up for it. Although we have a travel trailer with all amenities we like using their hot showers (free of charge) as they were very clean and spacious. The location is extremely ideal as it is protected by direct winds, within an hour of Crater Lake, the Williamette River and the entry to a fantastic estuary with many waterfowl with waterways through tules for perfect kayak and canoe touring. One of the few rv resorts we've visited where we didn't need sleep aids or ear plugs. Added plus is the boat launch is right there at Rocky Point. From California we have a multitide of options but definitely find this the "go to" getaway. Already booked our trip for this year....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Rocky point resort is definitely the last resort. We lived there for 41/2 years if for some reason you couldn't make it to town the resort was the last resort. Sue was the rudest person ever and that husband of hers is not much better! As for the restaurant I think they put onion soup mix in everything they cook. They drive away more business then they get! Next time go to lake of the woods..
Scott and cheryl

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Point Resort

Address: 28121 Rocky Point Rd, Klamath Falls, OR 97601
Location: United States > Oregon > Klamath Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Klamath Falls
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the spring fed waters of Upper Klamath Lake, Rocky Point Resort offers access to one of the nations best native trout fisheries. Fish average 3-7lbs with fish over 10lbs caught regularly. From bait to fly's this is a true fisherman's paradise. Nestled in the Upper Klamath National Wildlife Refuge birding opportunities are endless with over 260 species that inhabit the waterways of this freshwater marsh. With over 9 miles of canoe trail, days can be spent navigating one of Southern Oregon's best kept secrets. We have cabins, motel rooms, RV and tent sites to accommodate all walks of the outdoor enthusiast community. Food is available at our dinner house restaurant with beautiful views overlooking the bay. Come stay with us for fishing and birding memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.