We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Refreshing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wallowa Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Joseph
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wallowa Lake Resort
Save
You added Wallowa Lake Resort to your Saves list
84681 Ponderosa Lane, Joseph, OR 97846   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Nampa, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Wallowa Lake Resort hasbeautifully maintained cabins.On arrival we were greeted immediately as we checked in. Cute store with souvenirs and lovely gift items. The owner was concerned about the stairs to the loft in the cabin we had chosen and went out of his way to find us other accommodations, even though not in his facilities. We stayed in our original choice, The Osprey. Charming cabin that slept 4 comfortably. The cabin was immaculate with newly updated bathroom plus fully equipped kitchen and woodbuning fireplace. We are already planning our next trip for 2011.

Joseph, OR was a very friendly town with many shops and restaurants. Our group would highly recommend this location. We think it would be a great place for a family reunion.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    16
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

When we arrived, we were given a very personal welcome, including lots of information and maps about nearby attractions, as well as about the movies, books, and hot tub provided by the resort for no charge, "on the honor system." As soon as we opened the cabin door, the first thing I noticed was a strong smell of propane (there was a propane stove/heater in there.) I told the office right away and Doug came right over and turned it off, set up a fan in the window to air it out, introduced himself, apologizing all the while, then offered us a big bag of charcoal briquets and lighter fluid for the grill on our deck (we had thought we might go and buy some from the local grocery) at no charge. The grounds are beautifully kept and very pleasant under large trees with deer wandering freely around the cabins and in the roads. The hot tub was roomy and open until nine p.m. so we were able to use it in the chill of the evening under the full sky. The bed was pretty good, but the couch and chairs in the living room area were not very comfortable. I like to sleep with the window open and we found we needed an extra blanket, which the office got out for us right away. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and pots and pans, dish soap and rags, a very quick electric stove, a toaster and coffee maker and microwave oven. The TV was hooked up to a combination DVD/VCR which worked just fine. The bathroom had lots of towels and a very good shower. Everything was clean and tidy. It's nothing fancy, but all the necessities are more than adequately provided. It was no less than I expected for a facility on a lake in the wilderness, and the hospitality was certainly better than expected. Just the right price, too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We arrived ast the resort-eager to begin our stay, and "lo" the car quit...dead as a door nail!

The owners and office staff assisted with our dilemma, since we were in a dead zone for our cell.

They called service for us; were told that they would get to it by the following Wednesday (this was Friday the 13th!).

Patty, one of the owners, called a car shop that would stay open later to check our car, which although new, had a dead battery. Patty picked up the battery for the service center, her friend installed it (owned service center), and we began our vacation-only less than 3 hours late, instead of 4 days!

We were overwhelmed with this, and needless to say, they have our gratitude and business anytime we are up this way!

Our cabin was spotless, their gift shop is super, and the staff, manager and owners both have our interest at heart obviously. They are true servants for their clients!

The whole Wallowa experience, from Mt. Howard to the little country store, from the wonderful Huckleberry ice cream to the marion berry cobbler at Mt. Howard up the tram was 5 days of rest, relaxation and friendly faces at Wallowa Lake Resort.

It is family friendly and there is a quiet time at night until early am which I really thought wise.

Please take this to heart and give them a call-you won't be sorry!

Sincerely, C and J
Carlton, Oregon

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

25 of our extended family met at Wallowa lake resort. Doug was very helpful in selecting the cabins that would best meet the needs of our large group.

The cabins were spotless, spacious, had lots of utinsels and comfortable beds.

The cabins are just a short walk from the lake, a small store, resturant and the gondola.

The scenery is breathtaking.

I only regret we could only stay 3 days

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

My husband and I brought our very active -- but very well-behaved -- dog with us to Wallowa Lake Resort. It was $10 extra per night to have him with us, but it was worth it. The cabin we stayed in was clean and convenient, and the perfect size for two people plus a dog. The staff gives each dog a care package with treats, poop bags, and a sheet to toss on the couch or bed, if the dog's allowed on the furniture.

Our cabin had a fully stocked kitchen, with dishes, cups, silverware, cooking utensils, a decent set of knives, stove, oven, microwave, coffee maker ... and on and on. The only thing we needed to buy was a set of tongs. And, of course, our own food. Wi-fi was available at the resort office, but cell phone reception was non-existent for our Sprint phones (and my Kindle!). It is a "resort," so there are restaurants, a pizza joint, horse rides, and similar activities in walking distance.

There was a trailhead two miles up the road that led to several hikes of varying lengths and beautiful scenery. The town of Joseph was five miles away, and had everything we needed, including brew pubs and an outdoors store where I bought hiking boots.

The proprietors were sweet, helpful, and on top of everything. I'm hoping we can do this every year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Cutest little town on Earth with some of the nicest people you'd ever want to meet. Everyone waves as they go by, except maybe us big city tourists who aren't used to that kind of consideration. Just a few miles outside town is Wallowa Lake, I honestly didn't want leave! Rented a cabin from Wallowa Lake Resort, www.wallowalakeresort.com. Great rates, on site and awesome! Totally helpful and again friendly folks. Cabins are very clean, well stocked and have great rates. If you are considering a vacation this is one of the best places on earth!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Easy to find, and secluded location. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. We went for a 5 day trip, going out during the day for hikes through the Eagle Cap Wilderness. They recommended hikes for us, which was helpful since it was our first time in the area. The cabin was much bigger and cuter than expected, after viewing the pictures on the website. It was very clean, with everything we needed and a comfortable bed. The hot tub was secluded and really nice.
If you're interested in hiking, a few trail heads are only a mile down the road from the resort. And, about two miles down the road the other direction is the cute, small town of Joseph, where everyone is extremely friendly.
Great stay overall, and we'll definitely stay here next time!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wallowa Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallowa Lake Resort

Address: 84681 Ponderosa Lane, Joseph, OR 97846
Location: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide fully furnished luxury rental homes and cozy cabins at Wallowa Lake. Amenities include an outdoor hot tub, wireless internet, king beds, Cable TV, wheelchair accessible units and lake/mountain/river views. Many cabins are pet friendly. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallowa Lake Hotel Joseph

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wallowa Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.