We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do your homework before you book!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wallowa Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Joseph
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wallowa Lake Resort
Save
You added Wallowa Lake Resort to your Saves list
84681 Ponderosa Lane, Joseph, OR 97846   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do your homework before you book!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Two months prior to Labor Day, & having never been here I specifically asked for a quiet, secluded location, pet friendly. Many were available, but was given suggestion of #24 or #12. We rented "eidelweiss".
Here's what we got (remember, YOU ultimately choose which property you rent, so research and ask around if you've never been here):
The king bed provided the worst sleep ever. Very worn out, lumpy, with rubber sheets that provided a thorough sweat. The sleeper sofa was marginally better, per our 13y/o son. The 5/6 sleeping arrangements were two foam cushions on a plywood platform that also served as couches by day. Good enough for our 9y/o son, as he said, at least its not the floor...
I hated the mini golf being next door. Its open all day to 10 pm. Its loud and brightly lit. You have a perfect view of it & the rv park from the porch. I had hoped that "quiet and secluded" meant the same thing in Richland as it did in Oregon...not so.
On the bright side, the toilet plugged up solid the second day. Luckily enough, the renter next door complained to the mgmt that our family dog was next to her porch at the same time the toilet ran over. So they were prompt to fix it since they were already on their way here to deliver us 'notice'. They are serious about leashes here. You cant let ur dog out even if the property you rent is nearly 2 acres. And we didnt get the 'pet welcome pack' others referred to.
Everything here is way overpriced. So with that in mind, we got a 'cheap motel quality' cabin. No biggie. Just wished they were more up front with the overcrowded-ness and proximity to high traffic/noise areas. I think it'd be fair to include these 'attractions' on the cabin map for us uneducated visitors to consider.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougInJoseph, Owner at Wallowa Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on “#24 Edelwiess”. You booked on 7/21/12 and you arrived on 8/31/ 12. Your booking was one month and 10 days before your arrival and at that time we had 5 openings out of our total cabin inventory of 40.

I spoke to the person that booked your reservation and they have never told anyone #24 Edelwiess is secluded. It is next to the mini golf which we publish on the web site. Reservations should have also told you it was next to the mini golf. Absolutely, ask as many questions as possible when renting a vacation cabin. What do you see from the front door? What do you see form the deck? It is near a main road or highway? For our part we are updating our online maps to include locations of mini golf, restaurants, the tram and as many landmarks as possible.

In regard to the king bed it is pillow top and 2 years old. We have never received complaints about the bed. In addition, we equip our cabins with nice linens which are tossed if they get to worn or become stained.

The cabin’s sleeping arrangements are published and communicated on your confirmation and our web site. This cabin is $140/night and sleeps 4-6. It is fully furnished with a complete kitchen, an outdoor BBQ and free WiFi. Wallowa Lake cabins which sleep 4-6 during Labor Day weekend are priced from $130-$260/night. Higher priced cabins are generally newer, larger and have more bedrooms and standard beds. Be aware staying in a resort area will always be pricier for the same accommodation in Richland Washington or in a city.

In regard to the toilet and dog, I personally went to the cabin and unplugged the toilet and mentioned the dog. The guest staying in a cabin 50 yards from your cabin told our office that your dog continued to come onto their porch. We love our 4 legged guests but so everyone has a sense of privacy we have a leash rule (though it is seldom enforced unless a dog does not stay close to their family or cabin).

When I arrived I fixed the toilet and provided new towels since your existing towels where wet from the toilet over flowing. You asked me about places to hike so I provided hiking maps and a recommendation on where you could go to let your dog run free. I hope you found the map and directions where helpful. Sorry about the pet care package. The housekeeper likely missed leaving one in your cabin. Our office is always ready and willing to provide whatever you need for your pet including pick-up bags, sheets, towels and of course treats.

Thank again for your helpful comments. If you decide to book in the future talk to me personally. I would be happy to make your next stay as enjoyable as possible.

Doug Buska
Owner Wallowa Lake Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    16
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, WA.
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The condo we had was #28 and for 4 people it was perfect. Our cell phones didn't work in the area and the condo had no phone. There was good Wi-Fi service. Was on the dead end highway.
Many deer passed by the deck morning and night. Had problems with raccoons knocking garbage cans around at night . very close to the tram, horseback riding, go-carts, miniature golf and all the action. Very clean.

Room Tip: we were on the lower level and there was some upper level noise. However, there was no partying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We rented cabin #34 and loved the cabin. The woodwork and simplicity of the cabin made it all so warm and welcoming. Small front deck with table and chairs to enjoy the evenings on. Sits away from the resort activities so is quiet and peaceful but close enough for a short bike ride or walk, which we did numerous times! Our kids are all over 20yrs old and stayed upstairs in the open loft. We got the comfortable room downstairs. The cabin had all the amenities one would need! The game cupboard is full of great games to play, flat screen TV, BBQ, washer/dryer and so much more. The only downfall of this cabin is that it has a steep driveway, not a lot of room to maneuver and little "yard" area. Some also may not appreciate the create angles in the shower but we managed just fine with these minor issues. Would stay here again and was perfect for our family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in trout view and the patio suite. We had a small family gathering. Grandma and Grandpa took the patio suite with their dog. One bedroom and bath with small living room that connected to the upstairs. The rest of us stayed upstairs (6 adults and 6 kids). We had 4 bedrooms and 3 baths lots for room to spread out! The kitchen was so well equipped that we even made homemade ice cream in the maker that was provided! The kids had so much fun feeding the fish in the pond and the deer that came right up to see what you had! The patio was big enough to gather for a BBQ and the small side yard worked for a game of washers or frisby. The kids enjoyed the swing out side and the games provided inside. The laundry room was spacious and the dinning room had great seating with 2 big tables and a sideboard for buffet style serving. We had a fireplace in the living room and wood to have an evening fire. The parking for the boat was a little challenging, as you had to back in from the main road, but we managed fine and enjoyed having ample parking at the cabin. This cabin was not updated. It was very well equipped, clean, a lot of storage, and very comfortable for us. We could walk to go-karts, mini golf, bumper boats, and horse back ridding! It was close to the boat launch at the state park. They even had bike rentals! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific northwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our cabin was very clean, spacious and comfortable. It was close to hiking and within walking distance to other fun activities, such as miniature golf. It was expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wallowa Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. I would say you either stayed in cabin #17 ($230 Night) or cabin #25 ($260/night) both are on the river. These are the more expensive places to stay at the lake since they are one the river, have nice wood work and provide all the amenities of home (washer/dryer, dishwasher,...).

We have cabins in all price ranges from $90/night to $260/night. Lower priced cabins will not have views and fewer amenities. Regardless, all of our cabins will be clean and everything will work.

We ask all of our guest to post on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in cabin #36. No problems checking in after hours due to our late arrival. Cabin was perfect! My wife is a photographer and broke her tripod. I asked Doug if there was someplace local we could buy one, he let us borrow one from him for free. Best service, best locations, best everything! We will stay here from now on.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This last weekend we stayed at the pet friendly cabin called McClune (#19). We had planned on tenting in the park next to the resort with other family members but the earlier weather reports changed our plans. We were able to get into a cabin on short notice. My wife and I and our dog had a awesome time despite some inclement weather. We had so much fun with my family too. The furnished cabin was great, clean and ready to go. We would definitely stay at this resort again. There was so much to do in the area. This was my first time to the lake. Have to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wallowa Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallowa Lake Resort

Address: 84681 Ponderosa Lane, Joseph, OR 97846
Location: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide fully furnished luxury rental homes and cozy cabins at Wallowa Lake. Amenities include an outdoor hot tub, wireless internet, king beds, Cable TV, wheelchair accessible units and lake/mountain/river views. Many cabins are pet friendly. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallowa Lake Hotel Joseph

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wallowa Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.