We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast
309 South Main Street, P.O. Box 74, Joseph, OR 97846   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Joseph B&B and Inns
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2006

Staying at this wonderful B&B was such a relaxing and pampering experience. Heather and Bill really understand all the details that make a visit memorable. Their knowledge of the area was so helpful to us as we had never travelled to eastern Oregon before. They gave us terrific recommendations for places to eat and information on various places that we could visit. Bill's breakfasts were delicious and very generous portions. We truly felt as if we were staying at the home of friends and they go out of their way to make your visit special. We were originally booked for two nights but we had such a great time that we added an extra night. This place is a winner and we will be back again.

  • Liked — Bed was so cozy and the living room felt like home! Beautiful views of the mountains.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
80
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

A truly great B&B, the bedrooms are impeccably furnished, the breakfasts were wonderful and the hosts make you feel like family and were very helpful as we planned our activities. The Bronze Anther is what a great B&B should be.

  • Liked — Tremendous hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

Host and hostess are perfect for the role as operators of this Bed and Breakfast; so personable. They couldn't have been more accommodating and did everything possible to make us feel comfortable. Very clean. Extra expense on down comforter an down pillows and extra heavy bathroom towels. The house is a 1923 "Craftsman-style." Our bathroom was brightly lighted, full-size. After enduring closet-size bathrooms at other B&B's this was a real plus. Parking was easy and this another plus. The location near the Wallowas Mountains is magnificent. From the dining room window, a person can enjoy the breathtaking view of Joseph Mountain. There was NO street noise. We slept well. Joseph Oregon is an interesting place with a foundry and wonderful bronze art on Main Street at each intersection. A bronze cougar -- full size -- a cowboy rodeo rider -- a woman in a blue dress -- and others. BB has a full-size bronze deer in the front yard. (Deer wander into the front yard at dusk.) Makes for awesome ambience. We did not find a good place for dinner in town so we drove to Wallowa Lake State Park -- just 5 miles down the road -- and ate at the old lodge -- built in 1923.
This was a real treat. Makes for wonderful memories.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2006

After an outstanding camping trip in the Wallowa mountains of eastern Oregon, we threw a dart at the map and landed in Joseph, Oregon -- a wonderfull small western town that's yet to be really discovered as a destination. After a couple of nights at another (less wonderful) establishment, we were talking with some locals who recommended the Bronze Antler. Since there was a room available, we grabbed it.

Heather and Bill are wonderful hosts and among the most well-informed travel coaches we found. The rooms are warm, inviting and very comforatable (we agree with the comments of others about this) but all of our hosts' recommendations about what else to do, where to eat (and not) as well as some of the interesting history of the area was great information.

Breakfast was great, and I'm sure we'll be back sometime.

If you're within a couple of hundred miles of this place, go for it!

  • Liked — Warmth of hosts and comfort
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

The Bronze Antler B & B is a little piece of paradise in beautiful, remote northeastern Oregon, well worth the "easy 74 mile freeway off-ramp" from I-84, as jokes innkeeper Bill.

Normally my husband and I aren't big fans of B & B's as they sometimes lack privacy, but we decided to give this place a try, and we were glad we did. The three upstairs rooms are quiet, separated by a door at the top of the stairs to keep the cats out (I never saw the cats), offering additional privacy. There is small amount of traffic noise--the inn sits near the end of the main street through town on the way to the lake, after all--but you only notice it if you choose to. It wasn't a problem.

In fact, we slept extremely well. The beds are cozy in an amazing combination of firmness and softness. Once you climb into these beds you'll sigh and never want to get out. (We want to buy these mattresses now!) The room is decorated in soft, soothing colors.

The bathroom is full of lovely, high-end Restoration Hardware type fixtures. Retro-chic, you could say, with old-fashioned push button light switches. They even have bidets, not something you'd think to find in such an isolated part of the world.

We did have a little trouble with blowing a fuse in the bathroom but Bill cheerfully and quickly fixed it. Later as I showered, the shower light (yes, there was a special light for the shower) suddenly went out, only to go back on later when I used the blow-dryer. My husband thought it might have something to do with the motion-detector lights that they have upstairs, but I don't know. I guess when it comes to bathrooms, I prefer a little more low-tech. But honestly, we were so delighted by the place that these little electrical issues hardly bothered us.

Bill's breakfast in the morning was hearty with very fresh ingredients, including raspberries that could be used in food advertising. Heather was away for the weekend at a music festival but Bill seemed to manage fine on his own. Bill is a gregarious man, easy to talk with, like an favorite uncle you are happy to see again.

Joseph itself is a delightful art community, all within easy walking distance of the Inn. Make sure you take the tram ride to the top of Wallowa Lake while you are there. Great fun and great views with nice trails at the top for a $20 ticket. Bill and Heather keep a small refrigerator stocked with soda pop for their guests and we took a couple drinks up with us for our hike atop the mountain.

Bill and Heather did their research well in making this little gem of an Inn. We will certainly return.

  • Liked — Luxury and warmth
  • Disliked — minor electronic issues
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, ID
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Bronze Antler Bed and Breakfast. The Bronze Antler is a restored circa 1920 house. The Innkeepers meticulously researched every minute detail of the recontruction. Everything was spotlessly clean and of the highest quality. It is amazing the difference high quality sheets make! The bed had a pillow-top mattress that was so comfortable, I just wanted to stay in it. The view of the mountains from our room was spectacular! What a wonderful thing to wake up to!

The Innkeepers are perfect for this line of work. They were incredibly thoughtful and seemed to anticipate our every need - even those that we didn't know that we had. Coffee, soft drinks and gourmet goodies were offered throughout the day. They were also a wealth of information about the area. They were free with excellent directions and even offered to make reservations. The 2 breakfasts that we had were out of this world. The food was beautifully presented and excellent.

Before we arrived, the Innkeepers recommended a place for dinner that I have to mention. It was Vali's restaurant. Vali's is a hungarian restaurant that is reservation only. Each night there is only one menu item. On the night that we chose, we were served chicken paprika, dumplings, cucumber salad and apple strudel. This was one of the best meals that I have had in a really long time.

I highly recommend the Bronze Antler.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2005

My husband and I just returned from our second stay at the Bronze Antler. After our first visit (one year ago), we vowed to return and are happy to report that everything is just as great as we remembered! Heather and Bill are delightful hosts who truly want everything to be perfect for their guests. From the moment you arrive and find the personalized welcome note in the dining room, you'll know that you've come to a very special place. The fresh baked cookies, brownies and beverages are available all day and Bill's delicious breakfasts will keep you satisfied until past lunch time. We've stayed in 2 of the 3 bedrooms and found the beds to be very comfortable and the other amenities (linens,robes, toiletries) are first rate. Heather also gave us great recommendations for things to do and places to eat, including making our dinner reservations. We look forward to going back!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast

Address: 309 South Main Street, P.O. Box 74, Joseph, OR 97846
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Joseph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning fully restored 1920s Arts & Crafts bungalow B&B located in Joseph, a small art town in far northeastern Oregon. Scrumptious full breakfasts served with organic coffee, teas, and juices. Three graciously appointed guestrooms and one over-the-top suite each with en suite bath. Regulation surface bocce court. One affable cat on premises but not in the guestrooms. We're a favorite for anniversary couples, hikers, art enthusiasts, and those wanting a quiet escape from the hub-bub of city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bronze Antler Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.