We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of small so get there early for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Towne Cafe

Old Towne Cafe
8 South Main Street, Joseph, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Joseph
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We have eaten here in 2008 and again recently. It is so good that we want to give it a positive review for travelers to this part of Oregon.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kind of small so get there early for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A friend and I happened to be right out side the door when this cute little place opened at 7 AM for breakfast. We could tell it was a town favorite as it didn't take long for all the seating to fill up. Food was good, hot and plentiful. Great place to go for biscuits.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I just had the very tasty oatmeal, but the menu was fantastic; filled with items made for people trying to eat healthy. My regret is not being in Joseph long enough to try other breakfast dishes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
484 reviews 484 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Inexpensive yet excellent breakfast small town charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were on our way to Wallowa Lake and decided to eat breakfast/lunch here, hoping the variety is better and cheaper than resort lake prices. We were right! This is a small yet charming place. They serve breakfast all day. It has a small courtyard for outdoor seating. The interior is very cute, wooden seating bench/tables.

Our server was very friendly, attentive but not overbearing. We ordered 1/2 of the Old Towne breakfast: thick country style bacon with scrambled eggs, on top of breakfast potato sautee with onions. Fresh drop biscuit, and an amazing salsa with a side of sour cream. Can't imagine who can finish a full order. All for $6.50.

Also ordered the two pancakes with two eggs any style. The pancakes were dinner plate size, half an inch thick!!! Also $6.50 Needless to say, we left very full and happy.

It was apparent that this is a popular local place, as many customers came in and the servers recognized them and knew their usual likes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Best BLT in the West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

You know that cafe in that small town where the people were great and the breakfast and lunch was fantastic? This is that place. If there was a BLT Hall of Fame, the Old Town Cafe should be inducted immediately. Really nice lady runs it too. This is the place to start your day in Joseph.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Giant Pancakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stopped here for breakfast on the way from Wallowa Lake to Halfway via Imnaha and Hat Point. We had packed a lunch picnic as there isn't a lot around on the route and were looking for a hearty breakfast to start us off for the day. The Old Town café has an outdoor section which was great as it was a sunny morning. We were surprised when the pancakes arrived as there were 3 of them and they were plate sized and nice and fluffy. The rest of the breakfast was excellent too as was the coffee - both regular and espresso. Service was friendly and attentive and the price reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Towne Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Towne Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.