We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stubborn Mule

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stubborn Mule
104 South Main Street, Joseph, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 21 Restaurants in Joseph
Cuisines: American
Description: Phone: 541-432-6853
Restaurant details
Description: Phone: 541-432-6853
Kelso, Washington, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fair at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

The martini was really good, food not so much. Service was awful. The poor bartender was also our waitress. Wouldn't go again

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sliding down hill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Dirty tables, no where to sit except bar. Very noisy. Service very slow. We had steak, shrimp and chicken. Steak was under cooked, shrimp was gigantic but bland and chicken was dry, tough and the wrong dish. Was served chicken breast with so much garlic, there was no chicken flavor left. Waitress did take it back, but consequently everyone else was done and waiting by the time the chicken got there. It was the correct dish and not over cooked, but was just ok. So all and all a very dissatisfying meal. And not for a very cheap price. Will not go back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Didn't get to try the food. We were thrown a menue and silverware and then sat... and sat... and sat. Ended up going to the Embers where we were actually waited on. Funny because a local came out when we left and appologized - not someone who worked for the restaurant. She said she didn't know how it happened since they "usually only have one waitress and actually had 2 this night".....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Oregon
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Excellent Prime Rib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had dinner here one night. We had the prime rib which was excellent. Price was fair. Atmosphere was western with Deer and Elk head mounts on walls in the bar. Black bear rug also mounted on wall. They had 3 live turtles in a tub for kids to see.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Refined Pub Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I mean no disrespect by the title, for a certain segment of eaters this is just perfect. Rueben sandwich and Halibut fish and chips are my personal favorites. Burgers with handmade buns, ranging in size to huge. Large portions. May as well forget about the veggies. Service is quite variable, ranging from decent to simply terrible. Food is consistent, however.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stubborn Mule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stubborn Mule, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.