We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a comfortable atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calderas - CLOSED

Calderas
300 North Lake Street, Joseph, OR
541-432-0585
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food in a comfortable atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My family and I visited Joseph for Thanksgiving weekend. Caldera's offered great food, interesting selection, and attentive service. My only complaint - the live music was way too loud. For an intimate, romantic, small building...it was just too much, In fact, I don't remember my precise meal (just that it was good) because I was so distracted and overwhelmed by the volume.

If you don't care for live/loud music--ask before you make reservations!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central Point, Oregon
1 review
“Triple Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We had read about Calderas in Sunset magazine, and decided to see if it was as good as indicated. It was everything they said, and more. The interior was intriging, and the food and service was first class. My husband had the pork chops, and I ordered the special ~ a pot roast with mashed pumpkin potatos drizzled with chive oil. Wonderful!! My husband doesn't care for sweet potatos, but loved this mixture (we share meals). I suspect its going to be at our holday table forever more.
Be warned, the dining area is small. Make reservations do avoid being disappointed. Also, allow time to enjoy the meal. Desserts are out of this world good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, oregon, USA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I am an atmosphere junky, and this place has it! The interior is gorgeous and makes you feel as though you want to spend the entire evening in this little gem of a restaurant. Good food isn't easy to come by in rural communities, but Calderas really knocks it out of the park. We had their pumpkin-chive soup, spinach salad and a flatbread and all were delicious. We'll be back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food OK but service really slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had dinner, and had high expectations...the decor is lovely, and the woman at the bar was very nice and pretty sophisticated. It turned out she was doing absolutely everything: tending bar and serving all the tables in the restaurant on a busy evening. She was very pleasant, but the service was extremely slow, for obvious reasons. The final negative was that when the sun went down, the interior of the restaurant was very dark. I could hardly see my food. I think visible food is a vital safety factor, even at home. Caldera should (1) hire more wait staff, and (2) turn up the wattage!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeagle, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had a great meal at a gorgeous restaurant. Great service and a very friendly atmosphere. We would highly recommend it when you are visiting Joseph, Oregon.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calderas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.