We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Painted hills, sheep hill, and strawberry mountain!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Day Fossil Beds National Monument

John Day Fossil Beds National Monument
John Day, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in John Day
Type: National Parks, Cultural
Activities: Biking, Hiking
Attraction details
Springfield, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Painted hills, sheep hill, and strawberry mountain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A day trip to John Day offered up some awesome scenery as we drove over the Ochoco divide and towards the John day fossil beds. We stopped at the painted hills unit, and it was great. a few nice trails here, and interesting coloration to the hills... We continued towards John Day, and entered the visitors center with a great view of sheeps head hill. A nice lesson on the fossil beds, ages of the formation, and more chances for hikes. Arrived in John Day, and we were greeted with the ominous Strawberry mountain. Some great hikes awaited us!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    36
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent must see! Even if short on time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fossil beds has several easy trails not too long. Hot temps though. Museum was great exhibits were fantastic dioramas with models and sound effects. 20 min. Film was worth watching too. Painted Hills are huge and spectacular. Very short trails too see everything quickly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“See the Painted Hills Unit!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We drove out to see the Painted Hills from Bend. It is about an hour and a half each way. It is totally worth it!!! Make the drive. The hills are fabulously beautiful. It was really HOT though - over 100! Bring sunscreen and plenty of water if you plan to hike. We did the short easy boardwalks and viewpoints. My 4 year old loved it. We even saw a lizard sitting on the bright red hills. This is a must see in my opinion. If you want great colorful shots, wait until the evening. We went through about 6-8pm. The light on the hills was golden and really brought out the contrast in the hills.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prineville, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Visitor Center is one of the best...very informative and interesting. The scenery and trails can't be beat. It is a must see destination.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“See this monument but do not miss the Painted Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This monument is like a museum that lets you peak at what the archaeologists are studying. There is a museum. Plus a lecture by the rangers, gift shop, and great bathrooms. About an hour away is the Painted Hills section which are not described on TripAdvisor. That is a must see, but please mind the signage that you CAN NOT walk on these formations. They really look like someone spray painted them. The drive is paved for part, but the bigger portion is on a gravel road, that is very dusty.the view from the lookout is fantastic.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Day Fossil Beds National Monument also viewed

 

Been to John Day Fossil Beds National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Day Fossil Beds National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.