We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Southern Oregon - Hands Down-Jacksonville Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacksonville Inn Dining House

Jacksonville Inn Dining House
175 E California St, PO Box 359, Jacksonville, OR 97530-9451
+1 541-899-1900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Jacksonville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Southern Oregon
1 review
“The Best in Southern Oregon - Hands Down-Jacksonville Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant for many years..and we keep going back!Top notch cuisine whether you are eating on the patio from the Bistro menu or dining in the dining room from the dinner menu.Jerry Evans,the owner and manager runs a tight ship but does it ever pay off!The staff are attentive,efficient and always ready to accommodate you! We can't say enough good things.Our favorites are the Chicken in Phyllo and the Stuffed Hazelnut Chicken...to die for..other notables are the Chicken Picatta and the Petrale Sole..and not to be outdone the fried oysters..another favorite of the Pollard family!If you are in Southern Oregon vacationing you gotta stop here..not cheap but definitely 5 star and worth every dime!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    44
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marin County, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“a fine dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The dining room accommodated 18 adults offering very fine dinners, wine selections, excellent desserts, and friendly, unhurried service by an exceptionally friendly head server (who offered some delightful historical tales about the inn). The fresh fish, the seafood pasta, and chicken Marsala were each very tasty and presented with an inviting artistry.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I just had dinner at the Jacksonville Inn in Jacksonville, Oregon, and it had to be one of the most pleasurable dining experiences we have ever had. We are in our early 60's and have been to just about every kind of restaurant possible. This was in our top ten dining experiences ever. The Inn is in an older building and the restaurant is downstairs. The surroundings were comfortable, tasteful and softly lit. The menu was varied with meat and fish entrees, but we are vegetarians and there were several items on the menu from which we could choose. The food was absolutely excellent. We opted for a vegetarian tort (like a lasagna) that had a large side of a variety of exotic mushrooms, and also a grilled vegetable plate that was perfectly cooked along with a goat cheese fritter. Perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. But the best thing about our dining experience was the staff, especially Jason (maitre d') and Sarah, our food server. They were naturally friendly and knew how to make our evening the best possible. Simply couldn't ask for better service. When are back in town, we'll definitely return!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still a good deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I took my wife to the Jacksonville Inn for her birthday dinner. We ate in the Bistro just off the lounge. The meal portions are smaller than the main dining room and so are the prices. In fact our two meals were just under what the bottle of wine cost us that we ordered. Atmosphere has not changed and we took the same table we did our first time 20 years ago. The menu has a few more items on it than in the past, our last time here was approx. 10 years ago and we some how forgot about this place. Food was excellent as was the service, a very friendly waitress. It's been a long time since I had chicken livers and these were perfect. My wife had the chicken in phyllo which she had ordered in the past and it was the same, moist and tender. We both had the baby greens with blue cheese crumbled on top with house dressing and the famous J-Ville carrots. Dinner also came with bread and bowtie noodles with spaghetti sauce on them. We were both filled up so we didn't order any after dinner treats. Will not forget about this place again and plan on returning sooner than later.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great local food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Nothing disliked. Food and service was both excellent. From the fresh local heirloom tomatoes to the locally caught Columbia river steelhead to the very yummy raspberry dessert, everything was delicious. Wine list was also extensive. We highly recommend this place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacksonville Inn Dining House also viewed

 

Been to Jacksonville Inn Dining House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacksonville Inn Dining House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.