We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacksonville Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Inn

Save Saved
You added Magnolia Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnolia Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   245 N. 5th Street, P.O. Box 1319, Jacksonville, OR 97530   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Jacksonville Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The cab from Medford airport was $24 and my driver gave me an informative and colorful cab ride to the b&b. Susan, the owner, was at the front desk when I arrived and gave me an overview of the town, recommended a couple of veggie friendly eateries and directed me to my room, Suzette. Susan also very kindly let me borrow a waterproof jacket for the Hellgate Boat excursion which I very much appreciated. The room was impeccably clean and smelled delightful. Decorated in a French theme gave it a nice homely feel. The bathroom was a nice size and I had plenty of space, the bed was comfortable and the noise minimal. There is a fully stocked kitchen on the second floor and, much to my delight, a selection of teas and a hot water spigot. In the morning breakfast is served in this same spot, they have a selection of breads and pastries as well as fruit and oatmeal. There is free wifi and a small lounge and lovely outdoor area. Susan and Robert have thought of every detail and taken great effort to make the inn warm and hospitable. When staying in Jacksonville look no further than the Magnolia Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
60
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A beautiful place in the midst of the historic town of Jacksonville. We had an upstairs suite of 2 rooms and bath. Modern conveniences but very charming also. We had breakfast on the upstairs veranda overlooking the old Jville courthouse, and the food was delicious. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended for a quaint place to stay off the beaten path.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Everything about our 2 night stay at the Magnolia Inn was fantastic. It is very charming, run by a couple who give genuine personalized and attentive care to their clients.

The rooms are filled with genuine antiques that perfectly blend into the area, but all the "necessary" amenities like air conditioning, entertainment, dining areas, etc., are all there.

The location is in the heart of the "old" city, and within walking distance to anything you will want and need. We plan to return for a longer visit in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the house would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoreau
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Magnolia Inn is simply the best experience on my recent vacation to southern Oregon. The warm atmosphere and detail is out of this world. I felt I was visiting a plantation mansion in the old south with great amenities. Every room is spacious and the sheets - 600+. Comfort, comfort, comfort! We had to add another night to our stay just to experience it again.

Room Tip: Be ready to stay longer. You will fall in love with the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We just got home from a weekend in Jacksonville, Oregon. Having stayed 2 nights at the Magnolia Inn. First of all the town of Jacksonville is all about historic buildings and it is such a treat to see a bit of history wherever you look. With that being said, the Magnolia Inn is a part of that historic experience, a converted sanitarium (or convalescing hospital) that has a lot of charm in it's tasteful decorum. We stayed in the Madison room and I loved the light from the windows, the room was clean, decorated well and comfortable. The hosts Robert and Susan were delightful to visit with. The breakfast was not a hot breakfast as some B n' Ber's expect but had variety, fresh homemade (delicious) goodies along with fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, pastries and other yummy things to eat. And breakfast was on your own schedule (between 7:30 -10:00am). The dining veranda looked positively inviting except the weather can be cool and damp in April, but looks to be a relaxing place to curl up with your coffee or hot chocolate and enjoy the morning arrival of the sun on warm days. This place is located within walking distance to the charming city center of Jacksonville. It was across the street from 2 of the oldest churches in Oregon, the old courthouse and jail. The Magnolia Inn was comfortable, homey and friendly. The rooms are small, but everything about this place is Welcoming, I was delighted with my stay and will come back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are about the same size, The Olivia room is the only room downstairs and looked to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We happened upon this lovely bed and breakfast during our first extended trip together. We fell in love with it, and returned the next summer, (now engaged), and the summer after that (for our honeymoon) and are looking forward to returning this summer. We can’t imagine staying anywhere else when we are in the area.
Great location, for Britt, Ashland Shakespeare Festival, or just relaxing walks around the town. Wonderful local restaurants and shops, and convenient to Ashland, the Rogue, and the wine country.
Wonderfully preserved large house, with great views off the balcony and front lawn, cozy, inviting rooms, and nice little touches throughout, such as game boards set up, a popcorn maker in the lobby, and a lending library. And the best scones ever!!!!
What really sets this B&B apart, however, is the attention to detail and personal interest shown by Robert and Susan. It is obvious they truly love taking care of their guests. They are wonderful hosts, and have become our friends as well!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Magnolia for a total of three nights in January and February and were lucky each time that the one dog friendly room was available (book in advance if you can!) Some places say they are pet friendly when what they really mean is pet tolerant. Not at the Magnolia!
Robert and Susan and their beautiful friendly pooch met us at the counter, and led us and our dog Sancho to a large first floor room with all the conveniences and even a doggie gift basket replete with treats, toys, and a furry blanket. Some places Sancho can't wait to leave, but he and we found the Magnolia to be truly dog welcoming! Thanks for the comfy stay! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Only one doggie room- book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Address: 245 N. 5th Street, P.O. Box 1319, Jacksonville, OR 97530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.