We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go out of your way for this place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of C ST. BISTRO

C ST. BISTRO
230 E. C st, Jacksonville, OR 97530
261-7638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: C ST. Bistro, opened in winter 2011, and is a true gem in a old miners town. Using locally sourced ingredients we have a love for letting ingredients speak for themselves.
Big Sky, Montana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Go out of your way for this place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We came here for lunch and it is on a quiet side street in the historic and very sweet town of Jacksonville. It looks very modest with only a few tables inside and out but the food here is extraordinary! I had lunch of a reuben sandwich with slaw instead of that boring old sauerkraut. This sandwich was the very best in my past 3 decades of sandwich eating. Hands down. I asked how they made the pastrami so tender but slightly crispy on the edges and full of juicy flavor and they said it was marinated for multiple days and smoked for more and clearly this is a place that respects its food. The russian dressing was outstanding...nothing like what you'd get at any old deli. My husband had the vietnamese sandwich that he said was amazing. We both finished every last crumb. This place is truly worth going WAY out of your way for. We will be back again and again over the years. The value by the way was also great--some of the best food ever for a fraction of a fancier meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    13
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Having your web design office across the street from a bistro with such great smells wafting through the neighborhood isn't always easy, but lunch or dinner there is sooo good! The owner is personable and entertaining and serves up some incredible gourmet food, accented by a nice selection of locally produced (and other quality) wines. The place is always busy and people are always laughing and satisfied as they walk to their cars. Trained by Julia Child and previously co-owner/head chef of a ritzy restaurant in Santa Barbara, in Jacksonville we're glad that Paul Becker moved north to set up his new shop!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Recommend for lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We enjoyed a lunch break at the C St. Bistro while browsing through shops in Jacksonville. It was chilly on the day we visited so we ate inside, but they have pleasant outdoor seating that would be nice on a sunny day. Fresh local ingredients. Very nice dinner menu too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“C St. Bistro...four stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Paul is an amazing chef (and owner) of C St. Bistro! We had dinner for the first time at C St Bistro and were blown away by the excellent food we were served. Paul is very unassuming and laid back but when the food came to the table we were in awe and amazed at his abilities to prepare such wonderful dishes. Four stars for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just finished lunch with three other diners...Very surprised with the excellent food. Burgers are ground to order served on brioche buns! I had a Med salad that was perfect with goat cheese, kalamatas, capicola and salami. The chefs were friendly. The prices reasonable. The Rogue Valley is a disappointment if you're looking for quality food but we have found a place we will return to often.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C ST. BISTRO also viewed

 

Been to C ST. BISTRO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C ST. BISTRO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.