We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frau Kemmling Schoolhaus Brewhaus

Frau Kemmling Schoolhaus Brewhaus
525 Bigham Knoll, Jacksonville, OR
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Aloha, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Were there for a catered birthday dinner, accomodations had to be made for food allergies, but everything was great. Are going to return with family for another try ala carte next visit...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    34
    9
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best German Food in Oregon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is one of the best restaurant experiences in Oregon. It is out of the way if you are travelling down Interstate 5, but it is well worth the trip. The German food is outstanding and the atmosphere is great. There is a wonderful selection of German beer. It is a nice family atmosphere. If you are around for the Holidays, it is very "Christmassy". The restaurant was built in an old schoolhouse.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding German ambience and cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

After a week of rafting down the Rogue river, my survivors and myself spent a splendid day sampling some of the local vineyards and settling into a B&B in Jacksonville to chill until our flight out of Medford the next day. Jacksonville is a picturesque little town and we enjoyed walking around the historical sights as the afternoon waned. Quite by accident, in the late afternoon, we noticed a few signs indicating that there was a local German restaurant nearby. We eventually found it to be a discrete establishment that had taken resident in a "re-tasked" high school building. Since it was close to dinner, we took a chance, went in and were seated out on the biergarten. It was wonderful, especially after being seated into the pleasant biergarten in the back. The food and beer were excellent, the service was friendly and the ambiance was sublime. It was a jewel and a fine end to a fine day. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A quiet Monday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It seems the best time for a quiet meal happens to be on a Monday. That's when everyone is mostly at home watching a game and there is not a big crowd at the restauraunt. As usual the kids get chicken nuggets or something and we enjoy our German food. But do request a reservation to guarantee a spot after 6pm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Has Promise, Needs Polish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I took my wife here for our anniversary hoping for a good experience as I like German food very much (my grandmother and great grandmother, both German, fixed me lots of wonderful food as a child).
What we got was a very mixed bag in both food and service.
Foodwise, I ordered Weisswurst (white sausage) with a side of potato salad and sauerkraut. My wife ordered a pretzel (one of her favorite things), and the same sides.

First, the good: The Weisswurst tasted wonderful, as did the sauerkraut. The dessert pastries in the shop attached are to die for!

The unexpected: The potato salad was not the German potato salad I am used to. It was a rather plain one made with (my guess here) mustard, vinegar and a little sugar. The version I am used to adds bacon bits and carmelized onions for a much deeper flavor.

The bad:
1. My wife wanted a cheese sauce to dip her pretzel in. The waitress said they had none, and could not make any.
2. The pretzels salt was all in one glump in one place on the pretzel, leaving most without salt and, well, you get the picture.
3. The Weisswurts is usually served in a light broth, simmered just below boiling and served skinned. Mine was not in a broth, was COLD inside and barely warm outside, and not skinned. As we were not given a sharp knife, and a request did not produce one (she just never brought it) skinning it was not the easiest task.
4. The potatos in the salad varied from cooked to mush to near raw. Not consistant at all.
5. The service was slow to take the order, slow or forgot requests, and slow to produce the check.

As a side note, we did arrive at opening, but no excuse really as a good restaurant should be ready to go.

In summary, they have good recipes, but they lacked the skill or will to properly execute them on this day, and service was not that good either. Not sure if I will give them another try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frau Kemmling Schoolhaus Brewhaus also viewed

 

Been to Frau Kemmling Schoolhaus Brewhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frau Kemmling Schoolhaus Brewhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.