We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent adventure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Segway of Jacksonville

Segway of Jacksonville
360 North Oregon Street, Jacksonville, OR 97530
(541) 899-5269
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Attractions in Jacksonville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the carriage house at the historic George Hayes property (built in 1888)at 360 North Oregon Street. Come to the end of our brick paved driveway and check in, to begin your own Segway Experience in the historic Gold Rush town of Jacksonville. Training (and helmets of course) are provided - and we supply you with your very own Tour Guide to escort you through this National Historic Landmark District and educate you on its Wild West past! Or rent by the hour to create your own self-guided adventure (we have maps and great tips on where to explore!).
OREGON
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Don't worry that you won't be able to ride one of these. You'll get lots of instruction and practice before heading out. This was money well spent. Learned a great deal about the area and saw more than we could have on foot. I would definitely do this again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SEGWAYIN' YOUR WAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fun !!!!! They provide you with a thorough preview and training session, and then you are off on your own !!!!! They answered all questions, had you "run a course" to get familiar with the machines, and gave you maps and directions (although Jacksonville is small enough it would be difficult to get "lost.) The price is very reasonable. I felt safe and comfortable when I left the property, in control of my Segway - I had a blast and I'd do it again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun historic tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This our first time operating a Segway. We received about 30 minutes of instruction and were off like pros. The tour was well planned and gave us a lot of history of Jacksonville. Our tour guide Betty is from Jacksonville and clearly knew a lot about the town. The tour included stories about downtown buildings, the Britt festival grounds and the historic cemetery. The total time was 2.5 hours including the instructions.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Historic jacksonville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Jacksonville is such an amazing place for the size of the town. I would encourage travelers to spend at least a few days getting to know the area. The Segway tour I spent time with had a very knowledgeable lady, who pointed out many buildings with history. The story that stood out to me was about a gun-fight that took place during early gold-rush days, and right on that spot is an old brick wall that to this day has bullets from that fight. Stories of Indians and cowboys... many old buildings that bring the past to life. Don't think you are finished after your Segway tour!! Now its time to head up to the most amazing Cemetery EVER!! In Early October the cemetery comes to life with actors dressed in the clothing of the period, standing on the graves of those pioneers telling the stories... its so amazing!! But no matter what the season, Christmas or July, this little town is a destination, with concerts in the Summer or beautiful Christmas decorations and shopping in the Winter... Check it out!! :) Don't forget to try some of the best coffee in the coffee shop with original wood-plank floors and many paintings and Antiques! Delightful!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have been on this tour twice before with my husband, but when my daughter and I were in Ashland recently I had to take her there. She wasn't too sure about this at the beginning but she had the best time! There is instruction time before the actual tour starts so you know how to go fast/slow, stop, turn, back up, park,etc. Before you leave the driveway you already know a lot about how to work with the Segway.
The tour is a lot of fun. The entire town of Jacksonville is a historic landmark. Many buildings have been restored, several have been rebuilt in historic style. Lots of interesting things to learn about the town and Oregon in general. There are plenty of stops along the way to get off and look around. And it's fun to wave at all the pedestrians taking pictures of you!
If you have previous experience with a Segway and want to tour the town by yourself, it is possible to rent a Segway by the hour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway of Jacksonville also viewed

 

Been to Segway of Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segway of Jacksonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.