We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic retreat, superb food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacksonville Inn

Save Saved
You added Jacksonville Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jacksonville Inn
175 E. California St., Jacksonville, OR 97530   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic retreat, superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Jacksonville Inn for over 10 years now and have never been disappointed. Antique filled romantic rooms, cottages with large jetted tubs, steam showers, and a full chef inspired breakfast included in the price. If you're in Jacksonville, this is the place to stay and eat!

Room Tip: Our favorite room is the Peter Britt room. Any of the cottages are simply amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    13
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
59
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We enjoyed the most amazing and unusual special dishes tonight that were beyond our expectations. Both were on the special listed menu for the evening. I would order them again. Service was prompt yet relaxing. Wine superb.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A trip to Jacksonville, Oregon and a stay at the Jacksonville Inn is always a highlight of any season for me, but most particularly in the summer during the Britt Festival. The location is perfect and within easy walking distance to the Britt, but should you prefer, the hotel offers a ride to the Britt for their guests for an added personal touch. The hotel is right in the heart of this historic little town (population 2190), and right next door to every little boutique to satisfy your browsing/shopping pleasures. I love this hotel. The staff are always friendly and always go the extra step to accommodate you in any way, whether you are a guest in the Inn, or are staying in one of their cottages. I highly recommend that if you have not stayed in one of the cottages, you make a point to do so whether you are new to the JVille Inn experience or are a returning guest. The rooms in the Inn are lovely, reflecting the era but with all the modern comforts, possessing every little ounce of nuance imaginable, each with a private bath; and the restaurant is located downstairs and also offers lovely outdoor seating. The cottages are beautiful, inviting you to stay in if you so choose, and even closer to the Britt. The details: the linens are fresh, the beds very comfortable, the rooms are not only lovely but roomy and functional; rooms and cottages very clean; the cottages of course are larger and offer more amenities (large spa-like showers with separate spa tubs, microwaves, fireplace, etc); and to greet you is champagne on ice. I highly recommend the restaurant as well. I cannot say enough about this experience. I am a repeat guest and I have never been disappointed. They also get 5 stars for consistency !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Each time I return I find even more to like. My most recent visit included the "must" dining on the patio and taking in the fabulous breakfast. New to me this year was the wine shop. I found a few treasures to take back home with me. This trip my wife joined me for the first time. We checked out the cottages and got a look inside at the The Presidential / Honeymoon Cottage. Special! No doubt we will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have the good fortune of living in the Rogue Valley and being able to visit the Jacksonville Inn often. Over the years, my family has celebrated many special occasions there, and it's the place we take our friends from out of town. We've dined on the lovely patio during warm summer evenings, eaten in the Bistro where the atmosphere is laden with history, and had more formal gatherings in the elegant dining room. In all the different areas of this unique Inn the gourmet food, which has won top awards, and exceptional, friendly service are always consistent. For really special times we've stayed overnight in one of the cottages...all of which are extraordinary with canopy beds, fireplaces, steam showers. fire places, and living room areas. We call these occasions our escape to excellence! I'm looking forward to our next "escape!" P.S. The wine list and the desserts unequaled!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stay at the Jacksonville Inn every year going and coming from Salem. It is the highlight of my trip. I travel with a dog and the staff is extremely dog friendly. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. The restaurant has fabulous food. Sitting in the patio and dining when the weather is warm is delightful. Eating in the cozy dining room when the weather is a little chilly is equally as nice. The full free breakfast with your room is right off the regular breakfast menu and delicious. The accomodations, staff, wine shop, food and ambience cannot be beat. On my way home this year I stayed at the Westin in Sacramento and it wasn't even in the same ballgame as the Jacksonville Inn. They also offer coffee, tea and biscotti first thing in the morning with the local newspaper.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in the Gin Lin room which is the room provided to people traveling with pets. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I attended some meetings in Jacksonville a few weeks ago and had a wonderful stay. The room is in an old brick building that has operated as a hotel for over 100 years, but it still has all the amenities that one could ask for of a modern hotel. Even the check in is cool, being surrounded by thousands of bottles of wine. So while checking in you can choose a bottle of wine from any style or grape type you want. The beds are comfy, the room spacious and the breakfast is to die for. You get to choose from anything on the menu in the restaurant that takes one back to the old west days (but only in decor and ambiance). The food is a wide selection of the standard fare with a special 'skillet' delight each day. I highly recommend the Jacksonville inn and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which is a corner room that overlooks Jacksonville's main street and also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacksonville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacksonville Inn

Address: 175 E. California St., Jacksonville, OR 97530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in one of gold-rush Jacksonville's early permanent structures, the Jacksonville Inn perpetuates the nostalgic romances of that era. Built in 1861, the walls of the dining area and lounge were built of locally quarried sandstone, and specks of gold are still visible in the mortar. The town is the first in America to be named a National Historic Landmark, and Jacksonville has preserved its 19th Century charm.Located in the heart of this national landmark town, The Inn is an elegant historic bed and breakfast featuring luxurious Honeymoon Cottages. Gerry Frank of the Portland Oregonian named the Inn as the "Most Romantic" lodging in Oregon.As one of Oregon's most acclaimed restaurants, it received the Medford Mail Tribune's "Readers' Choice Award" for five consecutive years as "Best Restaurant." The Wine and Gift Shop has over 2,000 wines and received Wine Spectator magazine's "Best of Award of Excellence," one of 600 in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jacksonville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacksonville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.