We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem, Nice Afternoon Outing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wings of Wonder

Wings of Wonder
5978 Willamette Ferry St, Independence, OR 97351
503-838-0976
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Little Gem, Nice Afternoon Outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

It's a little drive through scenic countryside to get to Wings of Wonder. Butterflies fly around free inside the large walk-through greenhouse building. It's a fun place to take children or out-of-town guests. If you want to take the nearby Buena Vista ferry and make your drive into a loop through the country, make sure that you check in advance the ferry's operating hours, because it is closed certain days.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Love it Everytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I have made several trips to Wings of Wonder with my two year old son and friends. We have loved it each time. There are hundreds of butterflies flying around inside a large greenhouse. My son excitedly points to one after another yelling "look at that, look at that!" It is fun to see all of the very different butterflies, we especially love the big blue ones!

There is a small reptile room in the back and you can walk around the gardens outside. We make several trips around the path inside the butterfly house. Be aware, it is kept very warm and humid inside so dress acordingly.

Wings of Wonder is located in the Oregon wine country. A fun trip there can include a ride on the Buena Vista ferry across the Willamette River (seasonal). The butterfly exhibit is located very close to the ferry.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and THANK-YOU "she guard" animal lover and owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My friend and I stumbled upon Wings of Wonder and were looking forward to seeing the butterfly garden . However, when pulling into the parking lot we were very disturbed to find a dog locked in a car with a window barely cracked on an 80+ degree afternoon. There is no way I could have toured let alone enjoyed the garden if the dog had been left in that car. I would have either called the sheriff and or broken the car window.
KUDOS and many thanks to the owner of the garden ,whom I believe it was, that asked the family with the dog to leave.
That being said, we had a great visit and were enthralled with the gorgeous butterflies and well taken care of little finches and quail!
Highly recommend this fabulous little out of the way attraction!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

A friend and I spent a magical time recently at “Wings of Wonder”. It's along a country road through beautiful farm land south of Independence, Oregon and across the river from Salem. This is a lovely place that is home to an wonderful collection of exotic, foreign butterflies that swoop all around you in a indoor tropical paradise.

There are AMAZING plants, a small collection of snakes and lizards, a very pretty garden with tables and chairs, plus a nice gift shop (coffee available). You can buy a jar of Oregon moths (cultivated in their lab) and watch your own butterfly emerge. It’s a great place to visit by yourselves or with your kids and grandkids!

They're open March to Oct., Wed. thru Sat. 11 - 4 and Sun. noon to 4 pm.
General admission is $8.50, child 4-10 yrs $6.00, senior $8.00.

PLUS, nearby is a riverside county park and boat ramp and the small BUENA VISTA FERRY, which takes you and your car over the Willamette River to Salem.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Butterflys--Well Worth the Trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Seeing this on tripadvisor, we made the drive on a cold and rainy April day. It's out in the country, and off the beaten path, but a beautiful drive. Once inside, we were transported to the tropics--85 degrees and the high humidity of a jungle environment. It was just like the cloud forest in Honduras--except--thousands of butterflys!! Within inches of you!! BRING YOUR CAMERA!!! (Hint--if its a cold day, drive with your heater on, and put your camera in a warm place next to the heater.... ours fogged up due to the change in temperature--but that was fine--it gave us more time to explore while the camera warmed up :-)

There were butterflys and moths of all sizes and colors, some shy, most very photogenic. Some would land on you. There are lots of cute little birds, and frogs as well. We were inches from some amazing butterflys and moths, and were able to get some great photos.

We very much disagree with one of the previous posts. We found the owners and staff to be very friendly and helpful--and this is not a place where you are rushed---you can take as much time as you want. We were with a group that had 5-7 year olds, and the staff did provide "extra training" for the little one who (so badly) wanted to grab the fragile butterflys. But the staff were very patient with the kids, who got in the mood to move slowly and "sneak" up to get a closer view.

I would agree with the previous posts that high energy small kids would need to be supervised (by the parents) more closely, but we saw toddlers who had a GREAT time.

There's also a snake section in the back, where you can see some beautiful (enclosed in cages) snakes.

I know $8.50 a person is a lot these days, but---this is well worth it and a very memorable experience. There are gardens outside for kids to run off energy (before or after), and this would be a nice place to have a little picnic. We will be bringing friends and family to this place--highly recommend it!! And, (river levels permitting) you can take the Buena Vista Ferry to get back to I-5 on the way back!! For more info, check out their website.

Recommended visit time? for most, probably an hour or less. For photographers... longer... again, it's your call.

This is a hidden gem....

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wings of Wonder also viewed

 

Been to Wings of Wonder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wings of Wonder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wings of Wonder to your Saves list