We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idleyld Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging
138 River Vista Court, P.O. Box 62, Idleyld Park, OR 97447   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Maple home for four nights. It was such a wonderful place to enjoy a peaceful vacation. The home is located off the main highway far enough that we only heard the river and and the sounds of jumping Steelhead and Chinook. The deck is so private and the view of the eagle's perch across the river was priceless. Randy greeted us when we arrived and was so helpful. The home was spotless and comfortable. The short/private-access path to the river took us to "Turtle Rock" that provided a great place to sit and watch the river pass by and from which to cast our fishing poles. We enjoyed our visits with the locals at the store that is up the path from the houses. They provided a lot of great advice to us regarding bait and fishing gear. We will come back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Wow, the Maple home was perfect! Fantastic view from the private deck. All three homes are situated so you can't see the other decks. Felt like your home was all alone on the river. The deck included a full size propane grill, which we used, table, chairs. It had an entrance from the master bedroom and living room. It is a short walk down to the river with a suntanning/fishing rock with easy access. There is a tree across the river that the resident Eagle sits. (he was toying with me the whole time as every time I put my camera down, he'd do a close fly-by, I'll get him next time!) The kitchen had more than expected, you really only need to bring food. If you forget something in town, there is a store just a short walk up the hill. It has everything from vegetables to bait. The living area of the home was spacious and nicely decorated. Oh, the beds were both to die for, I haven't had that good of a nights sleep anywhere, very comfy with upscale bedding, the sound of the river just below you and that wonderful bay window with the perfect view for waking up. Randy was just wonderful, very friendly and knowledgeable about the whole area. If your going fishing, you really need to speak with him! We will definitely be back, even if it means breaking our rule of not going to the same place twice. The weather was just right too, no wind and around 70's in July. No mosquitoes, I thought being in a kinda of rainforest area we would be eaten alive, but didn't happen. We didn't need bug spray at all. We were there for seven nights, you need at least that. There's so much to do in the area with all the waterfalls, Crater Lake, white water rafting, fishing and trying to get that perfect shot of that Eagle!

Room Tip: Pick the Maple home, it doesn't have stairs and the bathroom is much larger as well as the livin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

When we made our reservation, the owner, Randy, warned us that we would not want to leave and he was absolutely right......we even tried to change our airline reservation so that we could stay longer, but, alas, no alternative flights were available. We stayed in the Fir cottage in mid-May and it was fabulous! Beautiful view of the crystal clear Umqua River off the back deck, a romantic comfy loft bed, fully equipped kitchen.....Randy even left us a bottle of local Oregon wine as we were celebrating our anniversary. This trip was just the two of us, but we've already talked to our family about this being the perfect place for a collective family vacation. In addition to the wonderful accomodations, the locale is to die for: world-class fishing, waterfalls, babbling brooks, picnic spots galore, and (for our purposes) lots of scenic squirrel-y roads to drive. My husband and I love to take the roads less travelled and we have seen some unbelievably beautiful spots.....this was right up there at the top. We highly recommend River Vista Vacation Homes!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you like a clean, well supplied and spacious vacation rental house with an open deck overlooking the Umpqua River this is the place to be. Wish we could have stayed longer. What a treasure. Friendly and informative owner is a plus as well. Lovely location, there are a lot of fun things to do close by. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umpqua, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in the Maple cottage for 2 nights and it was wonderful! The cabin was very homey and clean, and Randy made us feel very welcome and comfortable. It was nice to be out in nature and be able to enjoy all the scenery around us. The view from the deck is amazing and I have never had a better night's sleep! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is incredible. We stayed four nights in January. We made a point to be back early from our hiking every day so we could sit on the sofa with our wine while looking at the amazing Umpqua River flow by.

The place was immaculate, well furnished and the host, Randy, was totally nice and helpful. Our biggest problem was deciding which bed to sleep in as both had river views and looked inviting.

It is our intention to come back every year to River Vista, both to do some serious fishing on the private property directly in front (free from the shoulder to shoulder fishing I've grown tired of) and just to read and relax.

Since my wife and I retired we have traveled quite a bit - and without a doubt, this was one of the more beautiful places we've wandered across. And that is why this will be a yearly stop for us - during Salmon season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We rented all three homes last month and took all of our friends and family for a relaxing weekend. We had a blast! We already reserved them for next year. It is nice to have the "home" feel away from your own home. Randy was very nice and helpful. Will be going back often.

Room Tip: All the cabins are great we liked them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging

Address: 138 River Vista Court, P.O. Box 62, Idleyld Park, OR 97447
Location: United States > Oregon > Idleyld Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Idleyld Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short drive from I-5, River Vista is located on the Rouge Umpqua Scenic Byway, Highway 138 East, called the "Highway to the Waterfalls," and the road to Crater Lake National Park. Our vacation homes offer spectacular views of the North Umpqua River. Spacious, full kitchens and private decks with river access await-ideal for families or romantic getaways. Why rent a room, when you can rent a river. Daily and weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Vista Vacation Homes And Lodging Oregon/Idleyld Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added River Vista Vacation Homes and Lodging to your Saves list