We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Idleyld Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idleyld Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idleyld Lodge
Save
You added Idleyld Lodge to your Saves list
PO Box 98, 23834 N Umpqua Hwy, Idleyld Park, OR 97447 (Formerly Idleyld Park Lodge & Restaurant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stay away from this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We have traveled the US for 5 weeks and I have to say this place was definitely the worst we have stayed during all that time.
The house is totally run down and so are the rooms. Our room had two calendars hanging on the wall: one from 1978 and the other one from 1975. This is indication enough how well this place is maintained - NOT. I reckon the beds must have been about the same age as they did not smell nice at all.
Breakfast was included which sounded fair as 55 bucks is not that cheap after all for a place like this. Stayed in youth hostels for a lot cheaper and much nicer rooms, in cities and got a lot more value than that. When we saw the breakfast, I was so grossed out and decided not to touch a thing. The bread had expired a month ago, the cereal 1 (!) year ago, and the butter had expired 2 months ago. I asked the owner whether she actually has got anything that is fresh and she said 'No'. She only buys expired food as this is a lot cheaper. And in 10 years apparently nobody had complained, and it had not made anyone sick, so she was wondering what I was worried about. It felt like a comedy.
Obviously I did not touch a thing - she then threw USD5 on my table and said it was compensation for the food.
Pretty ugly. What an unpleasant expreience !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theprune, Owner at Idleyld Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
The calenders are VINTAGE, part of the rooms decor, showing kids fishing! NOT ment to be used as current!! The beds are as clean as any other motel in this area. I showed you when you left the dates on the food were "SELL BY" dates NOT expiration dates and that you read the cereal box wrong and it was not to expire until NEXT year. I also explained to you that I purchase large containers of fresh margarine and put it into smaller ones so it is more convenient for the guests. The guests are welcome to see the larger container for dates if they want. The $5.00 was to make up for your disappointment. You went ahead and posted this negative review anyway, THANKS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

If you maintain a sense of humor, this is a reasonably priced place to stay in this beautiful area. If you like kitsch, this is definitely your place to stay!

The place has real potential and it appears the owners are plugging away at improvements, but if you're used to metro chic, go elsewhere. This is an historic log lodge that needs some upgrades, but it was clean and the hosts were pleasant.

The kitsch is priceless. I note the replicas of birds nests on the top of our bed posts and the doll clothes strung on a mini clothes line as part of our room's decor.

The lodge is adjacent to a pretty run-down trailer park and the owners offer one of the trailers as a nightly rental also. I do not recommend the trailer.

Expanded continental breakfast was included in the reasonable rate. Don't expect a waffle maker here, but there was an assortment of danishes, muffins, and cereals, with some hard boiled eggs and fruit. Coffee and hot water for other beverages were also served.

There is a store across the street selling gas, convenience items, liquor, and deli food.

Their website is a pretty accurate depiction, but they don't tell you they have cats.

Just maintain your sense of humor and look forward to enjoying the outdoor activities in the area. The waterfalls are a day's adventure in themselves.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Idleyld Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idleyld Lodge

Address: PO Box 98, 23834 N Umpqua Hwy, Idleyld Park, OR 97447 (Formerly Idleyld Park Lodge & Restaurant)
Location: United States > Oregon > Idleyld Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Idleyld Park
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Idleyld Lodge Oregon/Idleyld Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idleyld Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.