We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and a great budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Motel Hood River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Motel Hood River to your Saves list
Sunset Motel Hood River
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2300 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and a great budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

Very clean hotel just a few minutes west of downtown Hood River (which is not a very big town). Staff was professional and courteous. Room was quite economical, and we were pleased with its cleanliness, and that it also had coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. I believe I was even able to get a good free wireless connection. I would recommend this motel for a quick and simple one-night stay for budget travelers moving through the gorge.

Cons:
Motel-like rough sheets
Door opens right to outside street
Small TV

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    11
    3
    9
See reviews for
13
30
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

I took a last minute jaunt out of town. Didn't want to pay an arm and a leg but wanted something clean and quiet. This fit the bill.

It has been newly remodeled. Most of Hood River (and gorge) hotels are closer to the river. A fact many do not realize is that there is very extensive train travel 24/7 in this area. What is nice about this motel is that it is up on the hill out of town so away from the train noise. Plus there is a nice little waterfall in a garden outside the front of the building.

The owners have put in new granite (or granitelike) material on the bathroom counters. Carpet looks new and walls newly painted. The wall in my room was a nice green, the carpet brownish, the granite brownish and the art brown, blue, green. It would be nice if the bedspreads had these colors as well, but instead were blue/red/pink which didn't really match. But this doesn't affect the stay. Just feedback for the decorator. :>)

Bed was comfortable enough. Very clean. The only weak point is the manager. Not very friendly. I asked her if she could please not place people right next to me if possible. She gave me a bunch of reasons why she might not able to...instead of just saying she would "Make a note of my request". No one stayed there except me so it was a moot point.

She was also asleep sitting on the couch when I checked out on Monday morning. Made a few noises to wake her up, checked to make sure she wasn't dead and left my key.

I would stay there again in a minute though. I think it was only $65 on a Sunday. Great deal.

  • Liked — Clean and qutieand newly remodeled
  • Disliked — Manager a bit unfriendly
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We got this motel at the last minute. It seemed like a really good price for Hood River, although I wasn't sure how far from town it was. We were pleasantly surprised.

The motel room wasn't anything to write home about, but it was fine.The person at the front desk--the owner, I assume--was very pleasant. The view from the room window was lovely, as the owners had planted a nice garden with a tiny fish pond and bench where guests could seat and relax.Downtown Hood River is a very quick car ride from the motel.

The only downside was that the walls seemed quite thin. We could hear a squeaky bed to our left, and loud footsteps above us. But with the (very!) loud air-conditioning or fan on, all that got drowned out.

This place was no five-star hotel, but for the price it seemed like a good deal.

  • Liked — price, and the nice garden
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

A very budget priced, clean, quite, lodging motel convenient to downtown Hood River. We used it as a base to go to other attractions and just a place to sleep. I would definetly stay here again. We even had a view of Mt. Adams (second highest mountain in Washington) out our window.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, quite
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Motel Hood River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel Hood River

Address: 2300 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel Hood River 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Motel Hood River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Hood River Hotel Hood River
Sunset Hotel Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Motel Hood River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.