We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a good surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Motel Hood River

Save Saved
You added Sunset Motel Hood River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Motel Hood River
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2300 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
“What a good surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I thought we were doomed, no reservations busy time of year. Site unseen made a quick cell phone call on road, thought, "well at least if we don't like it, it will be a place to sleep". Not only was it clean and well maintained, the management was absolutely, hospitable, and very knowledgably of the area, with lots of good travel info for sight seeing. Friendly and helpful ...... As soon as we got unpacked for a one night stay, we immediately went to front desk to book another night, fortunately one room left. We were so happy with this good, convenient, location stay. Can't wait for next visit to area, we will pre book here!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs, especially at end near office. Great view of mountains, including Mt. Adams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    9
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
29
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

What a disappointing experience! My boyfriend and I made a reservation for this hotel online. On the day we expected to check in we called to say we were running late. We were advised by the front desk that our reservation was made for the following weekend.

Upon further investigation on our end we DID indeed notice we booked the wrong weekend. While on the phone with the reservation agent my boyfriend very clearly stated "Well we will not be there that weekend and I would like to cancel my reservation". Clear as day. The agent confirmed our reservation was cancelled. We hung up and found another hotel that availability for that evening.

One week later we get a phone call from Connie from Sunset Motel asking us if we were going to be checking in that night. My boyfriend restated that he cancelled his reservation. Connie demanded we provide a cancellation #. He explained to her (several times) that we didn't have one. Connie's only retort was to continually threaten to charge his credit card. After a less than professional discussion Connie HUNG up on him. We call back and she continued to threaten to charge his card and say the conversation was recorded.

At that point, overwhelmed by her inability to be remotely understanding and or professional, we asked to speak with a manager. We were told no one was there that evening. Thus far, four days later, three phones and two emails into the Sunset Motel we have received absolutely no call back and his credit card was charged in full this morning.

Needless to say we will NEVER consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

While traveling the back roads on our Harley my wife and I stayed at this motel. We were pleasantly surprised with how nice this motel was furnished. I am a gadget guy and I had more then enough outlets. The bed was so COMFY and they had a comforter that was a great finishing touch to the room. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you Travel safe...

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, oregon, USA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Simple basic accommodations for when you are in a pinch for a room or need to save a little money. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, although the woodwork was looking tired and worn.

What I liked:
--Refrigerator in the room
--sink outside of the main bathroom
--little sitting area out back on a tiny man made pond.

What you should know:
--Walking downtown takes about 25 minutes from this location
--If you open the windows, you can hear the interstate
--The hotel is nonsmoking, but has ashtrays outside every room. I didn't like this considering that our neighbors would smoke and it would drift into our room whenever we opened the door.

It was good enough, I would stay again if I couldn't get accommodations at some of my other favorite places in Hood River.

Room Tip: I think a second floor room away from the stairwell would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The room and bathroom were very clean. The proprietor was friendly and put us upstairs in a quiet room away from other guests. There was a nice view of the gorge out our window. Easy to find on the main road. Good day hikes near by.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Not impressed. $89.99 PLUS TRAVEL TAX makes a room over $100 a night.

English is a second language at this motel so good luck understanding anything the desk clerk says. Room smelled strongly of bleach ( trying to hide the cigarette smoke - unsuccessfully) with some sort of bugs constantly running around in the bathroom.. looked like cockroaches of some sort.

Tried to complain and only got "dirka dirka" talk. My eyes and throat burned from the bleach odor for days.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherlin, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were driving on Oregon Highway 84 enjoying the majestic Columbia River Gorge and knew before leaving that our trip was to be an overnighter. I had found this property online, the pictures made this moderately priced property look to be a good bargain. It was! There is no elevator, pool or conference facilities but there are clean comfortable rooms. After a long drive-that is all that is necessary most times. The location is easily found and convenient to Hwy 84
as well as convenient to dining and local shops and attractions in a town that is stunning and welcoming. If travel takes you to the Pacific Northwest you cannot go wrong with time spent in Hood River with a stay at the Sunset Motel.

Room Tip: No elevator so avoid the stairs with a ground floor room. It is quiet with just a bit of freeway no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Motel Hood River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel Hood River

Address: 2300 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel Hood River 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sunset Motel Hood River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Hood River Hotel Hood River
Sunset Hotel Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Motel Hood River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.