We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean and modestly priced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Motel Hood River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Motel Hood River to your Saves list
Sunset Motel Hood River
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2300 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, clean and modestly priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a nice place to stay while in Hood River. It's a motel, not a resort and that just what I wanted. If you are looking for a place to rest up, short and sleep, Sunset is just fine. Will stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
12
30
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stranda, More og Romsdal, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I found this motel to be clean, but not a destination motel. The owner takes pride in his motel and maintains it well. Safeway across the street, many restaurants within walking distance. Nice place to lay my head for tonight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Pros: Surprisingly well-appointed interior based on modest outward appearances. Clean, dark tones, clean, bright bathroom. Nice comforter and pillows. Fairly quiet even with window open. Nice mountain view. Black-out drapes. Overall, a pleasant surprise! I'd def stay there again.

Cons: Springy bed that bounces and wakes up a light sleeper when partner turns over. $120 for a night kind of steep (booked through Booking.com) but I suspect you can get a cheaper rate booking directly with motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We scored the last room here on a busy Saturday night in H.R. and were thrilled. Price $119; 2 Queen beds. Upstairs. We were three very tired Mt Adams hikers in need of a good night's rest and a shower - and we got it - with a view across the Columbia looking back at the Mtn. The gentleman who checked us in was very friendly. The room was very clean and well-appointed. Quiet motel. Only complaint was no HBO.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We've stayed at the Sunset several times, as the hotel situation in Hood River, especially during the tourist season, is very tight. We always ask for a 2 queen bed room on the top floor (no elevator). This last time we stayed there we got a room next to the stairway and had a wonderful view of Mt. Adams across the river. The beds are new and very comfortable. The rooms have upscaled products for your use, coffee, flat screen TVs, WiFi that was easy to log on to, refrigerators and microwaves. The only downside we found was that the carpeting could use better cleaning. We like this motel for its ease to downtown and the mall across the road, and the quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
237 hotel reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

the check-in person was glum- not friendly at all.
the room was excellent- very clean, nice furniture, microwave and fridge, desk and chair, comfortable bed, satelite tv with 70 channels, large window that opened., very quiet. good lighting at the desk for reading.
room rate was similar to that of other motels in the area thatwere not as nice as this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I was charged a night that I wasn't there and they claimed was a double charge but billing was for two separate days? Check your credit card statement or pay in cash.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Motel Hood River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel Hood River

Address: 2300 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel Hood River 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Motel Hood River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Hood River Hotel Hood River
Sunset Hotel Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Motel Hood River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.