We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, clean room at a good rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Motel Hood River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Motel Hood River to your Saves list
Sunset Motel Hood River
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2300 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
237 hotel reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“excellent, clean room at a good rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

the check-in person was glum- not friendly at all.
the room was excellent- very clean, nice furniture, microwave and fridge, desk and chair, comfortable bed, satelite tv with 70 channels, large window that opened., very quiet. good lighting at the desk for reading.
room rate was similar to that of other motels in the area thatwere not as nice as this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
12
30
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I was charged a night that I wasn't there and they claimed was a double charge but billing was for two separate days? Check your credit card statement or pay in cash.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you dont need a lot of room. I would highly suggest to call the motel to get prices instead of reserving online, much cheaper if you call! Great place, nice people, good deal! Room was fully loaded with micro, fridge, coffee, iron, hair dryer. Would come back to this motel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunriver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

my wife and i were pleasantly surprised by a quiet, clean room with nice linens at an outstanding price..that translated into a very good value. this is a traditional two story motel that has been recently renovated. it is quite unassuming in appearance and is not a place you would look at twice. However, we discovered it had a nice view overlooking the Columbia River, clean recently renovated room with nice linens, and was quiet. Rooms are small but not tiny. Room charges were very reasonable. Location is good, but cannot walk to downtown. Across the street is shopping center with a safeway and a fuel stop. This is a particularly appealing place during the off season when it's quiet by definition...and during the mid-week.

Room Tip: choose upstairs. end units are appealing as they only have "neighbors" on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We booked a room here based on the reviews from families that had stayed, We had our kids with us on a family week to the Oregon coast and were returning home after those days in washington and oregon. NEVER AGAIN! First, The room was advertised as a double for 64.00 I expected taxes what I got was an 80.00 deduction from my bank account. Oh well, what 16.00? Right? We then showed up where they did have our reservations ready. Knowing that we were showing up, they should have at least turned the heat on but our room was frigid. with 2 little ones road lagged this was miserable, we decided to turn the heat on and take the kids to dinner when we asked after a family place besides mcdonalds we were reffered to 3 rivers grill. ummm 7 days on the road with 2 kids and we end up having to walk out of a what appeared to be a very formal place. The manager only smiled one time the whole time, we were getting our room. Around 11 our family was treated with about an hours worth of our neighbors extra curricular activities and I was thankful for the loud roar of the heater to drown them out occasionally. Woke up for a shower only to find the toilet backing up we called to get assistance and instead were met with "thanks for letting us know" So I had to go another day with out a shower! And we had to go to the restrooom at mcdonalds! Due to much morning frustrations, no shower and not I was completely out of sorts when we left, that when I got to Kennewick I realized my phone was still at the hotel. So I called when I got home, to see if they could send it on. My phone is a small slide phone and would have cost no more then 3.00 to mail. Instead they made us mail them a flate rate envelope which they just mailed out on wednesday, Meanwhile. I have customers who think I am avoiding them and appointments being scheduled and I can do nothing about it! No customer service from this place...for 80.00 I could have stayed at a chain and next time I will. Beware of this place!

Room Tip: go somewhere else...p.s. no view either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I was charged way more than I feel that this room is worth. The room was very cold when I walked in. It took quite some time to warm it up by way of the heating unit. Then I tried the wi-fi and never did get a working connection. I told the manager about it, and she said that she reset the router. But what she actually did was shut-off the wi-fi to my room, completely. I am fortunate that I am able to access a working wi-fi signal from McDonald's. The manager never smiled at me, once, from the time that I checked-in. I won't stay here, again...nope, I won't.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Motel Hood River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel Hood River

Address: 2300 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel Hood River 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Motel Hood River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Hood River Hotel Hood River
Sunset Hotel Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Motel Hood River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.