We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast
3820 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were two couples, in two rooms, for two nights after spending a few weeks camping. What an amazing experience. Beautiful historic home in the perfect location with an unobstructed vista towards the river. The rooms were fabulous. Loved the decor and the historic charm. The best parts were the breakfasts and the hosts, Allyson and Jim. Starting with having a glass of wine on the deck watching the view of the kite sailors and wind surfers when we arrived and then the amazing breakfasts. Would return in a heartbeat

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I, and another couple, recently spent two days at Lakecliff. It was the beginning of a two week vacation traveling around Oregon. While all the places we stayed were memorable, our stay with Allyson and Jim was particularly relaxing and endearing. Our rooms were bright and comfortable; early morning coffee sparked interesting conversation and breakfasts that followed were tasty; the days Allyson helped us plan were full of memorable sights, fun drives and experiences; the wines we enjoyed at Jim's recommendation -- both on Lakecliff's charming raised deck and in area restaurants were notably fine and enjoyable; walks through the naturally landscaped grounds were peaceful and rejuvenating at all times of day; the lodge livingroom with gas-powered fireplace was the perfect setting for our end-of evening nightcap or glass of port. The genuine warmth and hospitality of owners Jim and Allyson made our stay warmly relaxing, and Lakecliff and its owners enduringly endearing. I highly recommend a stay at the Lakecliff B&B in Hood River.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The historic Lakecliff house, a 1908 residence listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is a well-lighted, open, inviting home on a wooded and wonderfully landscaped three-acre grounds with a stunning view of the sailboards on the Columbia River. But it pales in comparison with its innkeeper, Allyson Pate. She is a gracious woman whose relaxed warmth and attention to detail is without dispute. Plus she's a wonderful cook. Her breakfasts were varied and yummy. We'd planned to spend just a night in Hood River, but came back for a second, because of this b and b....Needless to say, we don't usually change our vacation plans based on accommodations. But we agreed that this could have been our best b and b experience ever, and we're very experienced travelers. The rating above is hugely misleading, so please check to see that 14 out of 16 reviewers have rated this inn as excellent. And we couldn't agree more.

Room Tip: the lilac room is spacious and has a fine view of the Columbia River Gorge from its queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

From the moment we pulled up the driveway and were greeted by the Pate's three friendly B&B dogs, we felt at home (and we are typically cat people). Being their last guests of the season and having the house to ourselves, we were truly spoiled at Lakecliff. After Allyson gave us a welcoming tour of their beautiful house, we settled in to relax after a rainy day of visiting the gorgeous waterfalls on the drive over from Portland. It was difficult pulling ourselves away from the river view in the living room's large picture window, but Allyson had lots of great dinner suggestions for an evening in downtown Hood River (a short drive away). We stayed in the Daffodil room, cheerfully decorated and very comfortable, with a fireplace and private bath (shower was in a separate room from the sink/toilet - very thoughtful). Again, the view from our room's back window was beautiful! Yes, there is a bit of noise from the nearby interstate, something I'm sure the original owners a hundred years ago could not have anticipated. This did not prevent us from getting three very sound nights of sleep in a very comfy bed! Breakfasts were delicious (especially the french toast and pancakes with local marionberry syrup) and kept us going until well into the afternoon. Allyson was so helpful in providing information and tour routes to enjoy our days in the Gorge area. Lakecliff's own grounds were incredible and we were lucky enough to watch some bald eagles in the river below on one of our walks. What a lovely setting this must be for all the weddings held here each year! We felt fortunate to be able to celebrate our 15th anniversary here and hope to return again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Daffodil room, which had a super river view, but we peeked in on the empty rooms wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was recently part of a wedding hosted at the Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast. The location was beautiful and the house was amazing. The owners were very nice at the beginning but became increasingly rude and disruptive as the event went on. They woke up the guests in the morning, four hours before we needed to leave and demanded payment and that they pack up. They also interrupted the bride as she was getting ready to tell her that she must hurry up and that she was unorganized. In my experience with bed and breakfast places, the owners usually stay out of sight until check out and would never awake the guests to a wedding demanding payment when arrangements were already made. I would also think that someone who rents to wedding parties would know not to bother the bride or insult her wedding right before the ceremony.
They also kept our deposit because the grass in the field had been heavily walked upon. I was very surprised to hear the owners shock, because they host much larger weddings then this one every weekend. I have a feeling that they always keep the deposit because you cannot avoid walking on the grass in a field. Like I said, the area was great but I would never recommend them or rent from there again.
I would also like to add that they have very little set up for caterers, no running water, and no kitchen (unless you hire the owner (allison) as your wedding coordinator for 900$) also no trash service (you must pack up your own trash and transport it to the dump). They may be great for a nights stay but not for a large event.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonPate, Owner at Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
How sad it that? 135 joyful weddings and one dreadful, hungover bridesmaid did not want to leave by noon on Sunday...and we get a bad review. Everything in that review was completely untrue. Please know that my husband and I work hard every weekend to be sure that everything goes joyfully and perfectly.

As to the dancing on the grass. As part of our policy we cannot have guests dancing on the grass. As you can imagine, the damage from 100 dancing guests can be pretty substantial and with back-to-back weddings we want to be sure every bride gets to have the place looking tip top for their special event. We do have a built-in dance floor and we also recommended this bride rent additional flooring. The bride assured me they would have very few dancers. We did tell them that if the grass was ruined they would lose their deposit and sure enough there was barely a blade of grass left...sad and we had to bring in sod for the next wedding, which cost way more than the deposit! Please check out our website for the many, many photos of wonderful brides who loved our beautiful place, appreciated all of our hard work and come back every year on their anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

where to start... the view was amazing from every window in the home. the owner Allyson was so sweet and helpful. our room was bright and cheery, again with a great view. the property was immaculate, the food was to die for, and the best coffee we had the entire trip! While all properties in Hood River that are on the water are near the RR tracks, it is not disturbing at all. very peaceful and scenic. would def stay there again and hope for the poached pears for breakfast

Room Tip: daffodil or the blue room, both amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Spent 3 nights here August 2011. Historic property overlooking Columbia River. Circa 1900 cottage, large old trees, nice landscaping. The best bed and breakfast of our 3 week trip to Oregon and northern California. Someone has to be the best and Allison is, the best cook, friendliest, local advice. Very warm and genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3820 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in three acres of firs and ferns, this beautifully restored, 100 year old Bed & Breakfast offers the ideal stay in the Columbia Gorge. We have a large deck overlooking the Columbia River, four over-sized rooms with fireplaces, air conditioning, private bath and great views, homemade breakfasts and LOTS of spoiling! Lakecliff is perfect for your peaceful and romantic getaway or a gorgeous setting for weddings up to 150 guests. We look forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list