We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were so spoiled!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3820 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
Cincinnati
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We were so spoiled!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

From the moment we pulled up the driveway and were greeted by the Pate's three friendly B&B dogs, we felt at home (and we are typically cat people). Being their last guests of the season and having the house to ourselves, we were truly spoiled at Lakecliff. After Allyson gave us a welcoming tour of their beautiful house, we settled in to relax after a rainy day of visiting the gorgeous waterfalls on the drive over from Portland. It was difficult pulling ourselves away from the river view in the living room's large picture window, but Allyson had lots of great dinner suggestions for an evening in downtown Hood River (a short drive away). We stayed in the Daffodil room, cheerfully decorated and very comfortable, with a fireplace and private bath (shower was in a separate room from the sink/toilet - very thoughtful). Again, the view from our room's back window was beautiful! Yes, there is a bit of noise from the nearby interstate, something I'm sure the original owners a hundred years ago could not have anticipated. This did not prevent us from getting three very sound nights of sleep in a very comfy bed! Breakfasts were delicious (especially the french toast and pancakes with local marionberry syrup) and kept us going until well into the afternoon. Allyson was so helpful in providing information and tour routes to enjoy our days in the Gorge area. Lakecliff's own grounds were incredible and we were lucky enough to watch some bald eagles in the river below on one of our walks. What a lovely setting this must be for all the weddings held here each year! We felt fortunate to be able to celebrate our 15th anniversary here and hope to return again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Daffodil room, which had a super river view, but we peeked in on the empty rooms wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was recently part of a wedding hosted at the Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast. The location was beautiful and the house was amazing. The owners were very nice at the beginning but became increasingly rude and disruptive as the event went on. They woke up the guests in the morning, four hours before we needed to leave and demanded payment and that they pack up. They also interrupted the bride as she was getting ready to tell her that she must hurry up and that she was unorganized. In my experience with bed and breakfast places, the owners usually stay out of sight until check out and would never awake the guests to a wedding demanding payment when arrangements were already made. I would also think that someone who rents to wedding parties would know not to bother the bride or insult her wedding right before the ceremony.
They also kept our deposit because the grass in the field had been heavily walked upon. I was very surprised to hear the owners shock, because they host much larger weddings then this one every weekend. I have a feeling that they always keep the deposit because you cannot avoid walking on the grass in a field. Like I said, the area was great but I would never recommend them or rent from there again.
I would also like to add that they have very little set up for caterers, no running water, and no kitchen (unless you hire the owner (allison) as your wedding coordinator for 900$) also no trash service (you must pack up your own trash and transport it to the dump). They may be great for a nights stay but not for a large event.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonPate, Owner at Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
How sad it that? 135 joyful weddings and one dreadful, hungover bridesmaid did not want to leave by noon on Sunday...and we get a bad review. Everything in that review was completely untrue. Please know that my husband and I work hard every weekend to be sure that everything goes joyfully and perfectly.

As to the dancing on the grass. As part of our policy we cannot have guests dancing on the grass. As you can imagine, the damage from 100 dancing guests can be pretty substantial and with back-to-back weddings we want to be sure every bride gets to have the place looking tip top for their special event. We do have a built-in dance floor and we also recommended this bride rent additional flooring. The bride assured me they would have very few dancers. We did tell them that if the grass was ruined they would lose their deposit and sure enough there was barely a blade of grass left...sad and we had to bring in sod for the next wedding, which cost way more than the deposit! Please check out our website for the many, many photos of wonderful brides who loved our beautiful place, appreciated all of our hard work and come back every year on their anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

where to start... the view was amazing from every window in the home. the owner Allyson was so sweet and helpful. our room was bright and cheery, again with a great view. the property was immaculate, the food was to die for, and the best coffee we had the entire trip! While all properties in Hood River that are on the water are near the RR tracks, it is not disturbing at all. very peaceful and scenic. would def stay there again and hope for the poached pears for breakfast

Room Tip: daffodil or the blue room, both amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Spent 3 nights here August 2011. Historic property overlooking Columbia River. Circa 1900 cottage, large old trees, nice landscaping. The best bed and breakfast of our 3 week trip to Oregon and northern California. Someone has to be the best and Allison is, the best cook, friendliest, local advice. Very warm and genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days in early May and loved the beautiful surroundings and immaculate, comfortable space. Our room was comfortable and had wonderful views of the river. The breakfasts were amazing and the hosts could not have been more helpful. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Daffodil but honestly all of the room were lovely and had their special qualities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

we stayed in the daffodil room. it had a lovely fireplace. hosts were lovely and delicious breakfasts. allison gave us great recommendations for hiking, sight seeing, dinners, etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have been staying at the Lakecliff on the beautiful Columbia River for over ten years. Our son found this charming B&B when it was being remodeled. We stayed there every year when we visited Hood River. Now we live in Portland and can stay with our son when we visit him in Hood River, but would rather stay at the b&b! The rooms are gorgeously appointed with private baths and stunning views. The breakfast is amazing, served on the serene deck overlooking the river, or in the beautiful dining room with a warm and inviting fireplace.
The owners become your family only better, because they really pamper you!
We are looking forward to our next visit in August.
You will not be sorry if you stay at Lakecliff!!
You will also enjoy sightseeing in the area, visiting wineries, hiking, biking, shopping...what ever you enjoy. Allyson will provide suggestions and help with your dinner reservations. A no hassle escape...what could be better?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3820 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in three acres of firs and ferns, this beautifully restored, 100 year old Bed & Breakfast offers the ideal stay in the Columbia Gorge. We have a large deck overlooking the Columbia River, four over-sized rooms with fireplaces, air conditioning, private bath and great views, homemade breakfasts and LOTS of spoiling! Lakecliff is perfect for your peaceful and romantic getaway or a gorgeous setting for weddings up to 150 guests. We look forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakecliff Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.