We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Excellent accommodations - comfort, location, food, physical activities, privacy and VIEW! I don't usually stay at chain hotels, but this one was ideal after a long drive and hot weather. Sometimes comfort and familiarity is what you need to make you feel whole again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear SeattleSoli, Thanks for choosing the Best Western Plus Hood River Inn, especially since you don’t normally stay at chain hotels. We’re so glad you found “excellent” accommodations, and enjoyed our views. We appreciate your five dots in all categories and your taking time to submit a review. Hope you will return some day! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    405
    90
    34
    13
See reviews for
369
634
54
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We travel by automobile 4 to 6 weeks a year. We use many different hotel brands, depending on location and availability. The Hood River Inn is at the very top of our many travel experiences. The location overlooking the Columbia river, the amenities offered, the beautiful rooms, the well trained caring staff are outstanding!!! Don't miss an opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Gerald H, Wow!! We love all your exclamation points after “Outstanding!!!” Thank you for letting us and other travelers know the Hood River Inn is “at the very top” of your many travel experiences. We are grateful that you took the time to write to let us know about your experience. Since you’re from Oregon, we hope to see you again soon!!! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Called and made reservation for somewhat expensive room as I was told it had a balcony. Upon check-in, no balcony - not guaranteed. Would have booked a cheaper room. Restaurant dinner food and service was awful, breakfast was good. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom wasn't carefully cleaned which makes me wonder about the rest of the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear showello, How sorry we are that you were disappointed. It’s also disappointing to us when someone has a less-than-glowing review because it means we fell short. Thanks for taking the time to write and let us know that we need to better communicate with guests about our rooms (and guarantees of balconies), and continue to work hard on our dinners and service. Happy travels to you! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel is a nice facility and it's on a beautiful spot right on the Columbia River. The food in the restaurant is good, but the service in the restaurant is abysmally bad. We've stayed at the hotel two years in a row and both times our dinner order was botched. This year we stayed in one of the executive suites. The room was very nice and opened right onto the riverfront, but there were no instructions for the flat screen TV and when we called for help the maintenance person they sent didn't know how to make it work, either. Overall I would say the experience didn't quite justify the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear James C, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry you experienced poor service in the restaurant, and that you had trouble operating the TV in your room. I will remind housekeeping to be sure instructions are in each room, and also ensure that our maintenance personnel can help, too! We apologize that we didn’t meet (or exceed) our usual high standards during your stay. We appreciate your input. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF_California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The BW Hood River Inn, located right on the Columbia River, was a great place to stay for our week of August vacation. Although we were relegated to a room in the basement (book early if you want a week's stay in a room with a view) we had a basically nice room with a good price, and we didn't spend that much time in the room anyway. We walked down the path by the river each morning. The first morning we walked all the way to the information center and picked up a lot of info on the area. The woman who helped us at the Chamber of Comerce info center was extremely nice and helpful! The one problem we had at the BW Plus Hood River Inn was the restaurant. Don't order the wedge salad and expect a traditional wedge. This is basically a chopped romaine salad and doesn't deserve the word "wedge" applied to it, it is disappointing and a mislabeling which will only confuse diners. Also my dad ordered one shrimp meal and was served an entirely different meal that he did not appreciate. He ate it anyway, but the order was not correct and it cost $7 more than what he ordered. Other than that the waitresses at the restaurant were quite congenial and helpful and their service was great and some of the food was very good. It was just spotty on service and the wedge salad was a great disappointment for an extra amount of money. We basically had a great time at this hotel, right on the river. We sat on a bench every evening and watched the sun go down as sailboats, barges and trains passed by. It was a lovely place to stay in Hood River. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear donna_d173, We really appreciate your detailed review and your high recommendation to other travelers. We are so pleased you enjoyed your week-long stay, even though we couldn’t accommodate you with a river-view room. We are so glad you took advantage of our shoreline path and benches, and could enjoy the river views from many spots on our property. We have received a few comments about Riverside’s “Chopped Wedge,” so you are not the only one who found it confusing. It is actually syled like a traditional wedge (dressing, ingredients), but as described, is chopped romaine lettuce instead of iceberg. I will definitely chat with our chef to come up with ideas to better communicate this to our diners. It’s a popular menu item. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, and that you are understanding with a couple of disappointments. We hope you’ll return in the future! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Pluses: good service, great breakfast included in the rate (though if you order "outside of the box" you have to pay--we discovered that the hard way. I wish our waiter would have informed us when we ordered, rather than charging us for what we thought was complementary. My fault though, I should have read the small print). Great view right on the river and along a 1.75 mile walking path.
Cons: The room felt old and worn. Not quite dirty, but not fresh. They told us that they had bikes we could use rather than renting in town. Sounds great, but one had flat tires, one had bald tires, and the other two were just beat. We ended up renting in town anyway.
I'm not sure what the other accommodations are like in Hood River. It's a small town and I'm not sure there is anything better. I would probably stay here again in Hood River for the view and service, but without high expectations.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear travelPAUSA, Thank your for writing to share your experience. It’s always helpful to hear from people – especially when we miss the mark. We have ongoing remodeling projects, and my hope is that your section of the hotel is next on the list. With that said, none of our rooms should feel “old and worn,” so email me at chinman@hoodriverinn.com if you remember your room number so I can inspect it. If you do return, please request the newly remodeled East Wing room. Also, I will be sure our maintenance staff more frequently inspects all of our loaner bicycles. My apologies that our bikes were not up to par. We are pleased that you enjoyed some things about your stay, and hope you will give us another chance to impress you. Thanks again! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Travelled to Hood River for vacation with family. We had a fantastic two night stay with family. Location on river was excellent- to avoid freeway traffic ensure you book a river side room. Room was clean and vary comfortable. The pool and hot tub were brilliant in this afternoon. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were very enjoyable. The salmon was fantastic. Beautiful location and setting in Hood River - wonderful town with warm friendly people. It is a must see!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Claire M, We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay, and thanks for taking the time to recommend the Hood River Inn! How nice that you were able to enjoy our many amenities, including the shoreline pool and hot tub, and your meals at Riverside. Thanks for taking the time to submit your review and for the five dots across the board. We hope you’ll be back! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn

Address: 1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in the new riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.