We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hood River stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hood River stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and the staff is very accommodating. Unfortunately we ended up with suite #151 and there was a meeting in the room above us that they started setting up at 6am. Also the bed was the most uncomfortable one we have ever had. It appeared that the first room we had (that overlooked the freeway off-ramp) had a very nice bed, I think they just had not replaced the mattress in this suite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Cupcakelady18, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry that you were given a room below the River View meeting room. That room should always be given to one of the meeting attendees so I am not sure why or how that happened. We'd love to invite you back to have the experience you should have had. If you travel our way, please call me personally so that I might take care of your next reservation. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    406
    92
    34
    13
See reviews for
374
635
55
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hood river or
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It is so beautiful there, the hotel was great as well as the food. Be sure to ask for a river view room. I looked forward to staying there from what I saw and I was Not dissappointed.It was cloose to town as well as close to views of Mt. Hood and the 10 beautiful waterfall, and winerys. We saw huge fish from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Carol M, We appreciate the Five Star Review, thanks for taking the time to post it. If you'd like a referral to someone who can help you land one of those huge fish, just give us a call, we know some of the best fishing guides in the Gorge. We look forward to your next visit. Chuck Hinman General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel had it's pros and cons.

Pros:
* The staff was very friendly and helpful
* Free breakfast vouchers
* Large rooms with a fridge
* Great pool (tho small) and spa that overlooks the river

Cons:
* Business hotel feel, meaning that the rooms were very sterile with no charm, the hallways also looked a bit run down
* Once inside the room, you could be an Best Western anywhere in the country
* Required a car to get to the center of town
* Parking lot was shared with several other "strip mall" type stores like a Starbucks and a McDonald's

Room Tip: If you're looking to actually enjoy the city center, this may not be your best bet. Great for bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Christine16x, Thank you for your review and for the kind words about our guest breakfast and our friendly and helpful staff. I am sorry to hear that our location and your room were not ideal for you this time around. I am hoping that we'll have another chance to show you why most of our guests find us to be quite unique among Best Western hotels. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Best Western's Hood River is a trip to experience more than once. The hotel is gorgeous, clean and the rooms are quiet. View of the river, lots of open space around the property to walk, bike, and of course windsurfing and paddle boarding within walking distance. The main part of town is less than a mile away, with many restaurants, breweries, shops and local goodness to wander through. Only an hour outside Portland, OR and easy to navigate from PDX airport or the main freeways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear TA Friend, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and we're delighted to receive your Five Star rating. I love your description, "Understated Oregon" and like to think that our hotel measures up to that standard. We look forward to welcoming you back. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel was an eye-opener! It makes every other Best Western pale in comparison! Right next to the river, beautiful views from the rooms balcony's, great room designs and furnishings, outdoor heated pool and huge hot tub. We heard that the restaurant was good, but we had other plans for dinner. Front desk service was also quick and polite.

We used the lovely walking trail from the rivers edge that went all the way to downtown for shopping and dinning options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear lglilja, Thank you for the marvelous Five Star Review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's design, furnishings and our river front pool and spa. Please do come back and give our Riverside restaurant a try, I think that it too will be an eye opener for you. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here because of comments on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. Wish we had planned to stay in this area another night. The hotel was great and the breakfast was exceptional! Make sure you go to the Chamber of Commerce. The advice they gave us helped us plan our day and a half. Did the Fruit Loop (had never heard of it) Mt. Hood and some hiking. Would love to get back when we have a little more time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear kkOkChicago, Thank you for the Five Star Review of your short stay with us. One day is certainly not enough time to see all that the Columbia Gorge Scenic Area has to offer but you did make a good choice seeking advice from the Chamber. The fruit loop tour opens up many viewing opportunities along the way. We do hope you will travel our way again and when you do, we hope to again be your lodging choice. Happy Travels, Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rescue, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Compared to our last stay at Hood River, we were as little disapointed. The Room was much smaller and not on the river front as we had requested. The dinner at the resturant was great, but the breakfast menu was much more linited than the last visit.. I'm not sure we would go out of our way (as we did this time) to stay ther again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Dominic C, Thanks for the review and for taking the time to let me know of your disappointment with your recent stay. I don't know what could have happened that we were unable to accommodate your request for a river view room but I will certainly look into it. Our guest breakfast menu changes seasonally and I'm sorry that this time around you didn't find as many good choices; I will share your comments with our chef. When you are next headed our way, please feel free to give me a call so that I might personally handle your reservations. We look forward to the opportunity to wow you again...... the way we did on your first stay here. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn

Address: 1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in the new riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.