We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring for the river view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Hood River
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spring for the river view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Best Best Western ever. Our room (reserved a couple hours before check-in) had a balcony we could have tossed stones off of into the Columbia River. It was such a wonderful surprise. The complimentary breakfast was delicious the next day and another chance to enjoy the view.

I do wish there had been a cheaper food option onsite in the evening. We just wanted takeout to enjoy in our room after a long day of driving and the onsite restaurant was a little too pricey for that.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear KC D, Thanks for the great review and for describing us as the "Best Best Western ever." It is always satisfying when a guest is surprised with all that our hotel has to offer. I am sorry that you weren't told of our affordable bar menu which is available until 11 pm during the week and midnight on weekends. We hope to see you back again soon.
Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    714
    331
    66
    29
    10
See reviews for
294
509
45
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed two nights and enjoyed the hotel and surrounding area. Restaurant in the hotel was great and eating on the patio next to the Columbia River was wonderful. Didn't take advantage of the free breakfast. Definitely would go back!

Room Tip: I always ask for a "quiet room" and we were down the hall away from the elevator. Did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Diane N, Thank you for such a wonderful review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the experience of dining on our deck. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Best location, right on the Columbia River. Large, comfortable, modern, clean rooms, with a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our extended family had a total of three rooms, and everyone's was equally nice. My husband and I were on the newly-added third floor and the bathroom was beautiful and huge. Well managed property and well-trained and friendly staff. We called down to the desk for more hangers and wine glasses (this is wine country!), and they were at our door within 5-10 min. Great, thick towels and soft sheets.

The restaurant seems more likely to be a free-standing, independently owned local favorite, than in a chain hotel. Total anomaly! The free breakfast here knocked our socks off, made fresh to order from the terrific menu, with full table service, and full waterfront view. Everything from prociutto/basil scramble to lox and bagel to the most amazing oatmeal w/all the fixin's. Dinner was wonderful too...with the Alaskan halibut and local Salmon done to perfection. (What hotel restaurant you've ever been to guarantees they will not overcook the seafood?!) They also make great use of locally sourced produce and breads. Nice bar with live, local entertainment.

Cons were minimal, being a hole in the sticky, hard to open screen door to our balcony overlooking the river. Mentioned it upon check-out, and they were genuinely glad I did. There is a tad of traffic noise from the nearby bridge, on the river side, but earplugs are provided. I need it very quiet, so I noticed it a little, but still slept pretty well. Some people wouldn't give it a second thought. Definitely not a deal breaker.

Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Riverfront is totally worth the price. My sister's room in a different wing, was very large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear WearyAdventurer, Thank you so much for your very thorough review and for your comments about fine restaurant, “Riverside”! You touched upon so many things we're very proud of but the one that is closest to my heart is your comment about our well trained and friendly staff. I think that without friendly, gracious service, everything else is irrelevant and no matter how nice a hotel looks or functions, guest service is most important. Please come back and visit us again soon! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice rooms, and great menu. I like the pool and I feel welcome! For all sort of trips! Out door tables are nice and have deck heaters for chilly days! Nice dock, but you need to watch young ones! the water gets VERY deep and even at the dock is about, oh, I'd say about 6 ft.

Room Tip: Pick riverside. Definitely river side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Naturegal1313, Thanks for your review. We're excited you chose us for a getaway from Carson just 15 miles away. It is great to be appreciated by our neighbors and we truly appreciate your recommendation! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visit our daughter and her family in Hood River every year and have stayed at a variety of places in the last ten years. This year, we decided to try the Best Western again as we hadn't stayed there for five or six years. We had always found the staff friendly and now with the new wing and pool, it is even more attractive for us! The breakfasts that come complimentary are phenomenal! Sitting on the deck, enjoying the view of the river and enjoying a leisurely breakfast can't be beat! The only thing that the room lacked was a safe, which most hotels now come with.

Room Tip: There are waterfront view rooms but if you don't get one, you can sit on the deck and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Missy E, Thank you for the great review! We are very happy to be your lodging choice when you're here visiting family. We plan significant improvements to our property every year and try our best to respond to the needs and requests of our guests. Your suggestion of adding an in room safe is duly noted, when you return next year you will find that as an added amenity. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor friends. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice hotel, nice views, great breakfast, good location. All of the amenities were modern and nice - the TV was pretty big, the bathroom furnished nicely. The staff were very helpful in giving us directions to various locations. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: The East Wing is probably best, although we were in the West Wing and I wouldn't hesitate to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear GarySFBCN, Thank you so much for the five star review of our hotel and for sharing the fabulous sunrise shot from your room's balcony. It sounds like you had a memorable time with us. We look forward to your next visit to Hood River!
Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Here for business on an extended trip. Staff and service is excellent! Very clean. Pool is great. Restaurant and bar are also much better than expected. When there is nice weather, you can walk the waterfront all the way into downtown and take in all that downtown Hood River has to offer. The walk is only 15 minutes!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CVHinman, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Allan C, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, your recommendation means a lot to us! We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations during your extended stay and our entire team appreciates your positive comments, We look forward to providing you many happy returns! Chuck Hinman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn

Address: 1108 East Marina Way, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hood River
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hood River
#1 Green Hotel in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hood River's ONLY waterfront lodging and dining, on the breathtaking Columbia River with convenient access to all activities. Featuring rooms for every budget; from riverview rooms and suites to standard no-view rooms. Rooms feature mini-fridges, microwaves, hairdryers, irons & board, coffee makers, and high-speed wifi. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Riverside restaurant or Cebu Lounge. Take a dip in the new riverside pool and spa, or relax in the sauna. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and high quality cleaning standards. Our friendly, helpful staff is ready to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hood River Hotel Hood River
Best Western Hood River
Hood River Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.