We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come join the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard View Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vineyard View Bed & Breakfast
4240 Post Canyon Drive, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Come join the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Dave was great fun as a host. We were welcomed into the family and watched the Olympics with them. Kids played together. Awesome location just out of town. Quiet with crickets at night and amazing stargazing, great views all around in the day. Breakfast was fresh and hearty. Rooms were reasonably priced, unlike super expensive ones downtown. Wonderful place to relax, slow down, and get the local scoop.

Room Tip: All the rooms are super comfy, but I believe only the honeymoon suite has full bath. Twin and Queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kula, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed three nights at Vineyard Views and it was the highlight of our two week trip to the Portland area. Dave, Soma & little Anton were lovely hosts. Dave was great at coordinating with us & answering questions while we making plans. The property is breathtaking with a view in every direction. A lovely patio with comfy lounge furniture to curl up with a glass of wine & enjoy the fresh air. The rooms have a lush, romantic feel. The most comfortable bed we've had in a b&b. So comfy we were in danger of staying in bed all day! Luckily we had Dave & Anton's great breakfasts to coax us out of our room. The smell of locally roasted, perfectly brewed coffee mmmm, mixed with the sweet smell of lavender from the flower beds outside the breakfast nook. A hot stack of the best pancakes I've ever had. This is the way to start a day of vacation! We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONGVIEW
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Thank you Soma for a wonderful greeting as we arrived. We were given a tour of the B&B. Soma suggested a wonderful winery called Marchasi that we visited and it was excellent. We bought some wine and had a relaxing evening on the patio visiting with the other guests from Alabama. What a beautiful evening enjoying the view and the visit. We had a good night sleep, nice and quiet. Woke up to the smell of bacon, yum! We had a lovely breakfast with the other guests and the other host, David, he made a yummy fratata with potatoes and bacon. Just a suggestion to serve toast or biscuits with homemade jam. It was nice meeting David that morning and talking with him while he made breakfast and also chatting with him during breakfast, he is very informative about the area from wine tasting to hiking and wind surfing. Thank you again David, Soma & Anton.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Leavenworth, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at two bed and breakfasts during our vacation in Hood River, Vineyard View was the first and Inn at the Gorge was the second (see separate review).

What we liked about Vineyard View and the Honeymoon Suite:
1) The property is away from the hustle and bustle of the city center and is further out in the countryside. They have a lovely back patio to take in the sun and the scenery. It was a great place to curl up and read a book or watch the sunset. Walking along the vines is refreshing and relaxing. Another plus was no mosquitoes.
2) David and Soma are nice hosts. If you are in town to wind or kite surf, David is the guy to talk to.
3) Breakfast was delicious.
4) The house is set up in a way to encourage guests to interact. My wife and I like this and loved our conversations.

To improve:
I had only one issue and that was the room was very warm due to the large hot tub in the bathroom which made the first night's sleep a bit uncomfortable. On day two, I found the temperature control and turned it down which solved the problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here mid-May 2012 for two nights. As we drove up we were impressed by the lovely landscaping. Our hosts and family were welcoming, friendly, helpful, and informative about local attractions and eateries. The room (with beautiful full bath) was clean and comfortable. Wi-Fi was helpful, also. Breakfasts were delicious, individually prepared, and hosts accomodated our travel/sightseeing schedule (we wanted to start a bit earlier than normal). We will try to book a room in the future if we are passing through this part of Oregon again, and I would strongly recommend this delightful B&B to family and friends.

Room Tip: Corner suite had lovely views from bed and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We are so glad we chose to stay here for our Honeymoon. David and Soma were wonderful hosts. Our honeymoon suite was super comfortable and we took full advantage of the hot tub in the bathroom. Our breakfasts were hearty and delicious! We certainly felt at home here and are thankful to have found it. We plan on coming back with family and friends... and perhaps every year for our anniversaries! :) Thanks for a wonderful experience!

~Russell & Adreana Bennett

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We reserved this B & B based on its website. According to their site we could have 4 beds in the family suite. There was only a toilet and sink in the room, but we understood there was a shower nearby. We also had dietary restrictions we gave upon chatting with the owner.

Upon arrival in Hood River we found the Vineyard View B&B about noon. We stopped by to check the place out. We rang the bell, then walked in and yelled Hello, and still no response. This was not a good introduction. We came back after a bit of wine tasting (highly recommend touring this area - great wines). The family suite was at the top of steep stairs. One of us had mobility issues, so this definitely would not work. The owner could tell we were not happy. After some negotiations, we took 2 separate rooms for the same cost. We shared a hall bathroom. The beds were fine, although a bit creaky. Shower was hot, but bathroom really needed a makeover. In fact, our major complaint was the deferred maintenance that was visible in both rooms as well as the bath (broken blinds stained carpets, horrid caulking by tub). Some TLC is definitely needed. We also missed those fancy touches we have come to expect at B & Bs - soaps, robes, coffee, treats set out. We also felt banished to our rooms as the owners and their son were watching TV in the great room. Not a good feeling
Breakfast was good, if uninspired, and our vegan friend was accommodated perfectly. The owners, David and Soma, are very friendly. Terrific views
Doubt we will visit here again, but it was adequate for one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinoLover69, Owner at Vineyard View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We are sorry that your expectations were not met. Thank you for the feedback. We have taken care of the maintenance issues you pointed out. Our normal check in time is 4PM so if a guest shows up earlier we may be out in the gardens or vineyards working. We try our best to carry cell phones with us at all times so we can be reached by guests who request an early check in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
Free internet...
Show More
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
Boutique, Quiet...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
19.6 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4240 Post Canyon Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vineyardview Bed & Breakfast is located adjacent to an award winning Winery. We grow Pinot Gris grapes, vegetables and fruits. We strive to source most of our food from our own gardens and from area producers. We are located out in the country, yet just a five minute drive to Hood River. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vineyard View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list