We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful first time experience at a B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   902 Oak Street, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tumwater, Washington
1 review
“A wonderful first time experience at a B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Columbia in the Hood River Room. The room was beautifully decorated and my husband couldn't get enough of the architecture within the home (e.g. wooden beams on ceiling). The breakfast served by the owner were scrumptious, made with local ingredients, freshly prepared every morning. The hosts were friendly and engaging, giving us information on local events and things to do. Our room had access to the main balcony off of the main floor. Even though others could access the balcony, we found that we had it to ourselves the whole time we stayed. We got to enjoy the complimentary cheese and wine out on the balcony with a great view of the Columbia River and surrounding area. We are hoping we will be back soon to enjoy more of what Villa Columbia has to offer.

Room Tip: Although we were told other visitors prefer rooms on the upper floor with private balconies, I found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    16
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
98
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This B & B beats all others and all hotels hands down. The owners, the rooms, the location, and the breakfast...oh the breakfast! I would go back to Hood River just to stay in their B&B again! The place I'd spotlessly clean, their are complimentary drinks, a common balcony to relax in the morning, rooms are well decorated and have tubs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend our seventeenth Anniversary weekend on bicycles so we found this place and couldn't have been happier. We spent our first night on the road here and they have a big room for storing all of our bike gear and then it's just a short walk to downtown. Our room was spotless and the breakfast was sumptuous. Couldn't ask for better. Also we loved the decor. I don't see how anyone wouldn't absolutely love this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend in Hood River and our stay at Villa Columbia was a great part. Boba and VJ were welcoming and full of information on the area and activities. The breakfast was delicious and nutritious. They were also snacks and beverages available throughout the day. The B&B was clean and well-maintained. There is a great little deck with a view of the Columbia that was perfect for sitting and reading.
Hood River itself was a great little town to visit. He rented bikes at Mountain View Cycles and hit the local trails for a great ride in the Post Canyon area. We also tried some standup paddle boarding.
There are plenty of great restaurants to choice from. We really enjoyed the pizza at Double Mountain Brewery. The food and atmosphere at Brian's Pourhouse was also excellent.

A final note on costs - Hood River can be an expensive place to stay. Villa Columbia was comparable to other B&Bs, but I feel we got good value for location, food and service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are probably a bit quieter. The traffic on Oak St. can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary and we loved it! We walked two short blocks to the downtown area which was hoping with nightlife and great restaurants. We then enjoyed out Jacuzzi tub and DVD player in our room. In the morning Breakfast was amazing. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We were in the white salmon room which had a river view and a great bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A very welcoming B&B. Owners are helpful with ideas about where to go and what to do in Hood River. (You can even get discounts on some activities when booking through them. ) Also got good value from a free 'Winery Passport' that owners Boba & Vijay gave us which entitled us to free tastings (or free food) at upwards of 6 local wineries/tasting rooms. Rooms are comfortable and clean (though not luxurious). Lovely side porch gives a view of the river and mountains, and is a great place to sit and read a book. An easy downhill walk into downtown Hood River (which means a bit tougher uphill walk back.)

(Note to owners ... I recommend you try to do something about the damp smell that greets/confronts guests when entering through the basement after parking your car. Maybe worth removing the carpeting in the basement. Good news for visitors -- the damp smell isn't noticeable in other parts of the house.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaColumbia, Owner at Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear bigbadhopper,
Thanks for staying with us and sharing your good comments about Villa Columbia. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are spending a tremendous amount of energy to make our guest's experience unforgettable.
Thank you for your suggestion regarding the old carpet. We had it scheduled for replacement and that was done two days ago. When you get back you will see nice new carpet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Orygun
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Villa Columbia is a wonderful B&B. The owner's are wonderful people from the old country (which I believe was Yugoslavia) and the wife, Boba, does all the cooking which is true european delicatessen. The house is a 1911 craftsman style home that has been fully restored. Beautiful old wood, crown molding, and tight grained wood floors are found throughout. The view of the Columbia River is gorgeous during breakfast while sitting in the dining room. All rooms come with their own private bath that are quite nice and spacious for B&B's from this era. The least expensive room, The Hood River, is the only one that has a patio from the room. It does share with the common patio but is a nice feature if you like sitting outside sipping wine at night or reading the paper with morning coffee during the day.

The hotel is located about 4 blocks from downtown Hood River. Two blocks away from a couple of the best restaurants, Brian's Pour House and 3 Rivers Grille. It's so nice to be able to park and just walk to shops, restaurants, bars, and yes, wine tasting rooms. If you have an opportunity to stay at Villa Columbia, Boba will make you feel right at home without being overbearing. Wonderful place, wonderful stay, we'll be back!

Room Tip: They're all good. Most rooms are on the second floor which has better views, but the Hood River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast

Address: 902 Oak Street, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Columbia B&B is conveniently located in downtown Hood River, Oregon-the hart of the scenic Columbia River Gorge. Each of five, quiet and luxurious guestrooms is decorated with total comfort in mind. Rooms feature comfortable beds, luxurious linens, antiques, fireplaces, river views and private bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs. Three-course gourmet breakfast included. Villa has large private parking, secure storage for equipment and wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.