We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge
Save
You added Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge to your Saves list
5601 York Hill Drive, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Agree with the previous reviews - this is a unique place and we had a very enjoyable weekend which we were sorry we couldn't extend. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed the farm and its surroundings, the comfort / privacy of our room and the unbelievable views of Mt. Hood at various times of day (including just after sundown when it appears as a ghost).
Make sure you dress well even in summer - it's about 5 degrees cooler here than in the town.
There are about 7 wineries nearby and if you arrive late the first evening, there is a bottle in the room.
We hope to make it back to Sakura Ridge soon!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Mt. Hood
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear fairguy,

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Sakura Ridge.

If you know ahead of time you will be arriving late, in addition to wine in the room we can provide a picnic dinner or an antipasti platter for a late night snack.

There is also tea, cocoa, sodas and popcorn available 24/7.
Hope to see you back here on the farm.

Best,

Deanna and John Joyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
69
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visited Hood River for one day to spend time with our son. He just starting working in Hood River and was was advised by the locals that Sakura Ridge Farm was a must. We have traveled to many places in the world and have been fortunate to have stayed in many wonderful lodges and hotels. Just entering the gate to the farm and lodge is worth the stay. The view of Mt. Hood is nothing less than a religious experience! Most importantly, spending a night in John and Deanne's home was simply memorable. Our room was lovely and the living room area and outside deck were comfortable and inviting. Breakfast was just right and the other guests were wonderful. Nothing else needs to be said!!

Joel and Allison

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks so much for supporting our Farm! We love to share the experience with all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our first visit was in 2003 and, like a fine wine, Sakura Ridge has improved with age. Now we visit 1-2 times per year and always look forward to our return. The tranquility of the property, natural beauty of Mt. Hood, and hospitality of the hosts are absolutely unrivaled in our experience.

The morning breakfasts are delectable with the freshest produce--some grown right on the property. Deana & John seem like personal friends after all these years and are especially respectful of guest privacy. This is a working orchard, yet all are welcome to lounge on the decks or roam around and enjoy the sheep, chickens and barn cats. Don't miss the Spring blossoms in the valley! A two+ night stay is absolutely essential to truly savor this wonderful property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We agree. 2 or 3 nights makes for a perfect stay. Sometimes there is nothing better than arm chair farming from the decks. 3,000 pear trees, chickens in the coop, bees in the hives and incredible grass fed lamb. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The working farm experience is very cool, and John let us bottle feed 3 lambs! Great food. Amazing scenery. Very well designed interiors that exceed the expectation of a log home farmhouse. Even though it rained the whole time and clouds obscured the view of Mt. Hood, I'd recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stay in one of the rooms facing the mountain for the most amazing views. Lots of common area to share with comfy furniture, a full kitchen and a wood-burning fireplace. Wander through the pear orchard or the veggie garden, be entertained by the chickens and the sheep or just sit on the porch in the rocking chairs and stare at the mountain views. The house is surrounded by beautiful flowers too. We've stayed here 3 times already and are going back in February. It's close to Hood River which has great restaurants and cute shops and awesome views of the Columbia River Gorge. And did I mention the breakfasts are fantastic?!?!

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in an upstairs room with private balcony. Nice view of Mt. Hood. Our breakfast was fresh and healthy with a great view of the mountains. Our room was clean and perfect. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Would go back without hesitation. I recommend this place to anyone if you want to relax, and enjoy a little seclusion and great food and service and rustic atmosphere...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sakura Ridge is located 10-15 minutes outside of Hood River. A gravel road leads uphill to the lodge. When entering/exiting you must get out of your car & unlock the gate so the sheep don't escape & the coyote don't get an easy lunch. The lodge faces Mt. Hood and woods. The surrounding farm is a photo shoot for House & Garden magazine...picture perfect! You can enjoy the breathtaking views while sitting on the patio rockers. The lodge has 2 large rooms downstairs. If you are a couple, opt for these larger rooms as we did for 3 nights. These rooms have a patio & the bathrooms have heated toilet seats. The claw tub is ok for showers. There's a small game nook downstairs and on the entry level you have access to a kitchen with microwave plus lots of sitting areas. Deanna makes a delicious breakfast of quiche, bacon, french toast, homemade granola & fresh fruits. The eggs are from her own chickens. She's also a friendly & welcoming host. The lodge is immaculate. The parking is convenient. It is so quiet here. GPS works intermittently
Beautiful wool Pendelton blankets cover the beds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
4.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
4.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
14.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
19.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge

Address: 5601 York Hill Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artisan organic farm and Bed and Breakfast located in the foothills of Mt. Hood. World class views, breakfast fresh from the farm. 5 Guest rooms, all with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sakura Ridge - The Farm Hotel Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.