We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge
Save Saved
You added Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge to your Saves list
5601 York Hill Drive, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visited Hood River for one day to spend time with our son. He just starting working in Hood River and was was advised by the locals that Sakura Ridge Farm was a must. We have traveled to many places in the world and have been fortunate to have stayed in many wonderful lodges and hotels. Just entering the gate to the farm and lodge is worth the stay. The view of Mt. Hood is nothing less than a religious experience! Most importantly, spending a night in John and Deanne's home was simply memorable. Our room was lovely and the living room area and outside deck were comfortable and inviting. Breakfast was just right and the other guests were wonderful. Nothing else needs to be said!!

Joel and Allison

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks so much for supporting our Farm! We love to share the experience with all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
58
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our first visit was in 2003 and, like a fine wine, Sakura Ridge has improved with age. Now we visit 1-2 times per year and always look forward to our return. The tranquility of the property, natural beauty of Mt. Hood, and hospitality of the hosts are absolutely unrivaled in our experience.

The morning breakfasts are delectable with the freshest produce--some grown right on the property. Deana & John seem like personal friends after all these years and are especially respectful of guest privacy. This is a working orchard, yet all are welcome to lounge on the decks or roam around and enjoy the sheep, chickens and barn cats. Don't miss the Spring blossoms in the valley! A two+ night stay is absolutely essential to truly savor this wonderful property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We agree. 2 or 3 nights makes for a perfect stay. Sometimes there is nothing better than arm chair farming from the decks. 3,000 pear trees, chickens in the coop, bees in the hives and incredible grass fed lamb. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The working farm experience is very cool, and John let us bottle feed 3 lambs! Great food. Amazing scenery. Very well designed interiors that exceed the expectation of a log home farmhouse. Even though it rained the whole time and clouds obscured the view of Mt. Hood, I'd recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stay in one of the rooms facing the mountain for the most amazing views. Lots of common area to share with comfy furniture, a full kitchen and a wood-burning fireplace. Wander through the pear orchard or the veggie garden, be entertained by the chickens and the sheep or just sit on the porch in the rocking chairs and stare at the mountain views. The house is surrounded by beautiful flowers too. We've stayed here 3 times already and are going back in February. It's close to Hood River which has great restaurants and cute shops and awesome views of the Columbia River Gorge. And did I mention the breakfasts are fantastic?!?!

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in an upstairs room with private balcony. Nice view of Mt. Hood. Our breakfast was fresh and healthy with a great view of the mountains. Our room was clean and perfect. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Would go back without hesitation. I recommend this place to anyone if you want to relax, and enjoy a little seclusion and great food and service and rustic atmosphere...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sakura Ridge is located 10-15 minutes outside of Hood River. A gravel road leads uphill to the lodge. When entering/exiting you must get out of your car & unlock the gate so the sheep don't escape & the coyote don't get an easy lunch. The lodge faces Mt. Hood and woods. The surrounding farm is a photo shoot for House & Garden magazine...picture perfect! You can enjoy the breathtaking views while sitting on the patio rockers. The lodge has 2 large rooms downstairs. If you are a couple, opt for these larger rooms as we did for 3 nights. These rooms have a patio & the bathrooms have heated toilet seats. The claw tub is ok for showers. There's a small game nook downstairs and on the entry level you have access to a kitchen with microwave plus lots of sitting areas. Deanna makes a delicious breakfast of quiche, bacon, french toast, homemade granola & fresh fruits. The eggs are from her own chickens. She's also a friendly & welcoming host. The lodge is immaculate. The parking is convenient. It is so quiet here. GPS works intermittently
Beautiful wool Pendelton blankets cover the beds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The website’s photos of the farm and surrounding area do not even do justice to the beautiful and picturesque setting of this B&B. Fruits, vegetables, and farm animals surround the house. The air is clean and the sky is full of stars on a clear night.

The innkeepers are friendly and helpful, breakfasts are delicious, and everything is clean.

But we wouldn’t stay here again or recommend it to friends.

First there is a lack of privacy. We stayed in the “Valley Room” which is one of the three rooms on the lowest level (this part of the house is built into a hill, so it is like a walk-out basement). The Valley Room is separated from the bathroom of an adjoining room by a utility closet. The walls are thin. We could hear *every*single*sound* from that bathroom. Yes, every one. Ugh. Our neighbors also remarked the next day that they could hear us, but at least they weren’t listening to bathroom noises.

The Valley Room does not have a patio, and its only window is the small, high one you see in the website photo. The other two rooms on the lower level have walk-out patios. However, directly above those patios is the main porch for the Inn. Anyone sitting on the patios must contend with the sounds above them from the porch, and vice versa. It’s not that folks were particularly noisy, it’s just that you are always aware that there is someone else a few feet away. We were disappointed not to be able to experience the quiet and peacefulness of a rural farm.

Directly above the Valley Room is the main living room of the Inn. Again, there is little or no sound insulation, and we had to wait until everyone left the common area upstairs and went to bed before our room became quiet. The kitchen is located above the other two lower-level guest rooms.

Although our bathroom was clean, we were surprised to see earwigs and spiders in it each morning, probably because of the ‘basement’ nature of the room.

Valley View is the only room in the Inn that can accommodate a third person (I was told when I made the reservation). It is a very small room, the smallest in the property, yet the price is the same as other rooms. For a third person, in our case our teen daughter, there is an additional $30 charge per night. For what we received, the price seemed too high.

It’s likely that the one guest room in another building is quieter and more private. (There is another guest room in the house, but it is adjacent to the living room.) Or room-to-room noise may not bother you, or the Inn may not be full. But, despite the good food and nice innkeepers, we were very disappointed with our stay. Yes, you can escape your small room and spend your free time in the common areas, but at some point you do have to go to your room, and there is really no way to fix the problems of the layout and location of the guest rooms.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed the farm fresh breakfasts and John and Deanna. So sorry the room let you down. We make every effort for every guest to make sure their stay is a good one. After reading your review we did check out the situation and found that after a service repair done in the utility closet prior to your stay the workman did not re-install the rigid insulation in the walls. We are currently working on this and wished we had known sooner.

For future guests, give us a couple of weeks to complete the project but in the meantime the other 4 rooms are nice and cozy through the holidays. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge

Address: 5601 York Hill Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Also Known As:
Sakura Ridge - The Farm Hotel Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.