We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the Ordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge
5601 York Hill Drive, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
san diego
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Out of the Ordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sakura Ridge is located 10-15 minutes outside of Hood River. A gravel road leads uphill to the lodge. When entering/exiting you must get out of your car & unlock the gate so the sheep don't escape & the coyote don't get an easy lunch. The lodge faces Mt. Hood and woods. The surrounding farm is a photo shoot for House & Garden magazine...picture perfect! You can enjoy the breathtaking views while sitting on the patio rockers. The lodge has 2 large rooms downstairs. If you are a couple, opt for these larger rooms as we did for 3 nights. These rooms have a patio & the bathrooms have heated toilet seats. The claw tub is ok for showers. There's a small game nook downstairs and on the entry level you have access to a kitchen with microwave plus lots of sitting areas. Deanna makes a delicious breakfast of quiche, bacon, french toast, homemade granola & fresh fruits. The eggs are from her own chickens. She's also a friendly & welcoming host. The lodge is immaculate. The parking is convenient. It is so quiet here. GPS works intermittently
Beautiful wool Pendelton blankets cover the beds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The website’s photos of the farm and surrounding area do not even do justice to the beautiful and picturesque setting of this B&B. Fruits, vegetables, and farm animals surround the house. The air is clean and the sky is full of stars on a clear night.

The innkeepers are friendly and helpful, breakfasts are delicious, and everything is clean.

But we wouldn’t stay here again or recommend it to friends.

First there is a lack of privacy. We stayed in the “Valley Room” which is one of the three rooms on the lowest level (this part of the house is built into a hill, so it is like a walk-out basement). The Valley Room is separated from the bathroom of an adjoining room by a utility closet. The walls are thin. We could hear *every*single*sound* from that bathroom. Yes, every one. Ugh. Our neighbors also remarked the next day that they could hear us, but at least they weren’t listening to bathroom noises.

The Valley Room does not have a patio, and its only window is the small, high one you see in the website photo. The other two rooms on the lower level have walk-out patios. However, directly above those patios is the main porch for the Inn. Anyone sitting on the patios must contend with the sounds above them from the porch, and vice versa. It’s not that folks were particularly noisy, it’s just that you are always aware that there is someone else a few feet away. We were disappointed not to be able to experience the quiet and peacefulness of a rural farm.

Directly above the Valley Room is the main living room of the Inn. Again, there is little or no sound insulation, and we had to wait until everyone left the common area upstairs and went to bed before our room became quiet. The kitchen is located above the other two lower-level guest rooms.

Although our bathroom was clean, we were surprised to see earwigs and spiders in it each morning, probably because of the ‘basement’ nature of the room.

Valley View is the only room in the Inn that can accommodate a third person (I was told when I made the reservation). It is a very small room, the smallest in the property, yet the price is the same as other rooms. For a third person, in our case our teen daughter, there is an additional $30 charge per night. For what we received, the price seemed too high.

It’s likely that the one guest room in another building is quieter and more private. (There is another guest room in the house, but it is adjacent to the living room.) Or room-to-room noise may not bother you, or the Inn may not be full. But, despite the good food and nice innkeepers, we were very disappointed with our stay. Yes, you can escape your small room and spend your free time in the common areas, but at some point you do have to go to your room, and there is really no way to fix the problems of the layout and location of the guest rooms.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SakuraFarm, Owner at Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed the farm fresh breakfasts and John and Deanna. So sorry the room let you down. We make every effort for every guest to make sure their stay is a good one. After reading your review we did check out the situation and found that after a service repair done in the utility closet prior to your stay the workman did not re-install the rigid insulation in the walls. We are currently working on this and wished we had known sooner.

For future guests, give us a couple of weeks to complete the project but in the meantime the other 4 rooms are nice and cozy through the holidays. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid September, the weather was perfect, warm and sunny. The Lodge is very beautiful, the grounds are well kept and we had the most interesting healthy delicious breakfasts ever ! We drove the Fruit Loop one day and did some winery tasting on another. Also went to Maryhill Museum and saw the Stonehenge replica War Memorial. We ate at Celilo Restaurant all three nights because it was so good.

Room Tip: I would splurge on a room on the upper floor next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

After only one night’s stay, Sakura Ridge has gone on my top-5 list of best places to stay ever – and I’m fussy!

Everything about it is stunning, from the beautiful grounds with lawns soft and thick like rugs and borders full of colour and scent (even the orchards and the kitchen garden look like works of art!), to the gorgeous interiors, with their mix of simple elegance and rustic log-cabin comfort, to the building itself, which is just extraordinary. The service is unobtrusive but still welcoming – they’ve thought of everything, from free sodas and popcorn (there’s a microwave in the living area), to a heated toilet seat (a bit crazy but fun!), to putting the fridge on the veranda so the noise doesn’t disturb inside. Our room, the River Room, was very comfortable, and nice and cool on a sweltering day. It was a fairly small room, but our private veranda was welcoming enough to feel like a living room of our own, plus there’s a couple of communal areas, both large and more intimate, so we never felt crammed in.

Breakfast was lovely – fruit smoothie, veggie quiche, scones with jam, and granola (with yoghurt), all homemade, plus thick honey from their own bees, fruit from their own grounds (I went out and picked some extra blackberries from their garden, at the owner’s invitation!) and good strong coffee. It was large and generous without being overwhelming!

Oh, and then there’s the view. Lying in the bath with a glass of local white wine, cold from the fridge, looking out at Mount Hood in all its glory, takes some beating, but I think we did actually beat it when we lay out under the stars on a blanket in the evening (it’s a really rural location so there’s no light pollution at all and you can see thousands of stars) and saw a shooting star!

Some other reviews have mentioned the gravel drive – I was worried as I hate driving on gravel, but it’s only just the last bit that’s on gravel and it’s really well-made with no steep bits, so it’s nothing to worry about.

Honestly, this place is amazing. I couldn’t fault a thing.

Room Tip: We loved the River Room - not huge, but with a private patio, stunning bathroom and mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale az
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband really wanted to stay here because of the wonderful reviews. It is a beautiful property but not a place we would stay again. Although another reviewer said it was 7 minutes from town, and the owner said it was 10 minutes from town, with the gravel road, we found it to be further away. We dreaded going back to town to grab a bite for dinner but there was no food available in the afternoon/evening and we thought the drive to town was a bit too long. We ended up eating in some greasy hamburger place so we could rush back to the room before the road back to the lodge was too difficlut to navigate in the dark. We had no idea the town of Hood River was charming (another reviewer's comments). We had difficulty finding our way around and didn't get any direction/recommendations from the property owners who were busy handling "farm" chores.
We only had one night here - we might have been happier if we were able to stay 2 nights. The price was high and the breakfast, although lovely and fresh, was so so. We would have preferred a TV in our room and an ice or soda machine. I guess we are just not "rural" people. It is a very lovely place, great for honeymooners or romantic couples but for us, next time we will stay in a more lively place. We did have a good view of Mt. Hood but between running back to town for dinner and departing early the next morning, we had little time to enjoy the view. The husband seemed very friendly but the wife seemed a little abrupt when we were there. I must say though that the place looked cleaned, was nicely furnished and had the best little touches such as a comfy down blanket, lovely wooden chairs and great mattress. The claw foot tub was charming, I loved the bidet and the heated toilet seat and heated bathroom floor.
But its not a place I would recommend to my 50-something friends. We need a little more action.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I arrived at 5pm on a Friday and immediately regretted we were only staying 1 night.

What can I say that has not been said? The grounds are immaculate, Deanna and John are amazing hosts, and the cats are so endearing! And the breakfast? Oh the breakfast. Too pretty to eat! Deanna even packed my husband his breakfast to go, since he didn't get up in time for breakfast.

From the moment you drive in, to the wonderful sheets on the bed and the perfect attention to little details, this place will go way beyond your expectations. It really did mine.

We walked around the farm, did cartwheels on the grass, petted the kitties, listened to the buzzing of bees.

This place is MAGICAL. Worth every single penny. We are already planning our trip back. We have stayed at lots of bed and breakfasts, hotels and airbnb homes, but this place is truly truly special.

Room Tip: We chose the Mt. Hood room, and it is spacious, beautiful, comfortable and the patio is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Sakura Ridge was exactly what I needed to get out of city life for some R&R. The drive into the farm was breathtaking to say the least and I had to stop a moment to take it all in. The Orchard room had an amazing feel, homey with every comfort (no TV needed with the view)! The B&B is also just off the Hood River Fruit Loop and close to several of the stops including a u-pick lavender farm. Breakfast was thoughtful, filling, and deliciously fresh. I also admit to sampling a few blackberries straight from the vines on the property. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge

Also Known As:
Sakura Ridge - The Farm Hotel
Sakura Ridge - The Farm Hotel Hood River
Address: 5601 York Hill Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sakura Ridge - The Farm and Lodge to your Saves list