We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very cool place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehedge Gardens Wine Country Bistro

Stonehedge Gardens Wine Country Bistro
3405 Wine Country Avenue, Hood River, OR 97031-9783 (Formerly Stonehedge Gardens)
541-386-3940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 112 Restaurants in Hood River
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This is a very cool place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Visiting Hood River, I had an unexpectedly fabulous time at Stonehedge Gardens, sitting outside on one of the terraces amongst the trees, listening to some of the best music (Moe Dixon & Friends) I've heard anywhere, and enjoying their well-prepared and presented dishes. Everything was right--the food, the wine, the music, the setting, and--being in Hood River--lots o' beautiful people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    25
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Wedding Venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The patio setting was beautiful and peaceful, a near perfect spot for a intimate wedding. The food unfortunately did not do the setting justice. Salad was nearly inedible, the fish was mushy with a overly sweet topping, the beef entree was ok but not great. Sevice was ok but amateurish.
When they get the food right it will be the wedding venue of choice in Hood River.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hard to find but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Getting to this place was not easy. Our GPS told us we had arrived when we were at a gas station. After speaking to an employee there, we found out that we were so close....there was a new road going up the hill that led to the restaurant. A sign at the new road or a mention of this on their website would be helpful. The setting is lovely, with gardens and a water feature. We opted to dine outside and it was very pleasant. The Thai crab cake appetizer is out of this world. We both ordered the Dungeness crab topped halibut dinner. When it arrived, no crab but topped with bay shrimp. We asked our waiter and he told us "they ran out of the crab". It would have been nice had we been told prior to being served that the dinner had changed. The halibut was good but not great. Salad and side dishes were very good. Our waiter was somewhat quirky in that while we were eating our dinner he asked if we minded if he rang up our bill as he wanted to leave so did we want dessert. He brought our check and stood by the table as my husband filled out the receipt for the credit card. The funny thing was the waiter was still working when we finished our coffee about 20 minutes later. We felt rushed even though there were many open tables. All in all, it was a nice dinner despite the comments mentioned above.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“One of best restaurants in Hood River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We live in the area and have come here many times. It is one of the best restaurants in Hood River with a great outdoor patio for the summer. The service is always very good. The food is usually great also although my last meal there was only average (had the Filet). Although it is not located in downtown Hood River it is worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, Texas, United States
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This restaurant is a little hidden gem! Incredible food and service! One of the best dining experiences ever! My husband and I set in the gardens and had the most romantic dinner!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonehedge Gardens Wine Country Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Stonehedge Gardens Wine Country Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonehedge Gardens Wine Country Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.