We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of pFriem Family Brewers

pFriem Family Brewers
707 Portway Ave #101, Hood River, OR 97031 (Formerly Pfriem)
5413210490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 112 Restaurants in Hood River
Cuisines: American, Belgian, German, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Lift a glass to the Pfriem family of artisinal beers--- rife with complexity and elegance, influenced by the great brewers of Belgium, but unmistakably true to their homegrown roots in the Great Pacific Northwest. PFriem is located along the Hood River Waterfront with a European-inspired menu, and seating that is open to the brewery.
Hood River, Oregon, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not to be missed ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a new brewery here in the hood. If you are coming to hood river don't miss this place. Beer is outstanding. Vibe is super chill and the best surprise is the quality of the food. Not pub fare. Real fAre. Check it out

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty, Tasty, Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This new brewery is fantastic. Had two of the Blonde IPA's while watching the snowfall this past weekend. The atmosphere is great, the beer is perfect and the food good. Order the french fries, they are pretty special. The burger was pretty good too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Modern European atmosphere, great food and beers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our family of adults in our 40's and college aged kids loved this hip and upscale brewery. We visited a few nights before Christmas, ordered a flight of 12 beers and enjoyed them all. The appetizers we ordered were perfect - not big American portions - but incredibly fresh and flavorful bites. We had the meat and cheese tray - the blue was amazing, thick cut onion rings and lightly fried oysters. Wish we had stayed for dinner! Service was a bit slow, but this a a newer establishment and they were not expecting the crowd that evening.

Three family members met us at Pfriem 20 minutes after we arrived and left after 20 min. as it did not suit them. One was put off by the long communal table where we were seated - as it had benches with no backs and a stranger may end up sitting next to you (but that is a bonus, right?!). The others were unhappy with the slow service. But if you are a leisurely person who enjoys chatting at a communal table with great Belgian beers and fresh delicious food - then this is the place for you - it was for the 4 of us!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

It was a bit chilly in the place because it is a warehouse but that was overcome by the fun and friendly service, the promptness of our order being taken and the food coming. We did not feel rushed at all, but actually more like we were friends coming over for dinner. Sometimes this type of brewpub is so focused on making great beer (which they do) that the food suffers. That is not the case here. I had the burger and my wife had the warm kale salad. She thought her salad could have had a bit more kale but the flavor was great. The cheeseboard was great too, and the wine poor was plentiful. The prices were reasonable and I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place in Hood River, OR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our son who lives in Hood River took us to this restaurant for dinner. The decor was very modern and sleek. The atmosphere was great. The food and beer were delicious. The service was excellent. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed pFriem Family Brewers also viewed

 

Been to pFriem Family Brewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage pFriem Family Brewers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.