We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buon Appetito!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romul's

Romul's
315 Oak street, Hood River, OR 97031-2062
541-436-4444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 102 Restaurants in Hood River
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Buon Appetito!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ignore any review who's only reference to Italian Food is the Olive Garden. I've been to Italy and Sicily many times. My grandparents were born and raised there, and lived with my family in their twilight years, knew a thing or two about authentic Italian cooking. And since I ate more than my share of their fabulous fare, I guess I do too. I've dined at Romul's several times and I've NEVER been disappointed. The veal is particularly well prepared. I'm shocked Trip Advisor doesn't have Romul's rated in the top 3! I urge you to try it, I don't think you'll be unhappy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Masterpiece! Great food! Great service! And great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is like a diamond in the ruff! The Dalles is a great town but no other restaurant seems to have as much as this restaurant has going for it! Definitely five star quality!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly Service but Can't Recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very friendly and attentive service from the owners and our waiter but the food quality was really poor. I had Chicken Parm and it made the Olive Gardens look good. Everything tasted like it had come straight from the frozen foods section at Safeway. There are many better dining options in Hood River.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was hesitant to try Romul's because it is a new restaurant. We stepped into a little Italy when we walked in. Beautiful (but not tacky) decor welcomed us as well as very low lighting. I was a bit worried how our meal would be when we got the bread because it was really soggy and not what you would expect from a restaurant of this caliber. We had some wine and waited for our dishes which came very promptly. Everyone enjoyed their meals very much, the only complaint I have is that the portion sizes are ridiculously small.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Italian! Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

A truly stellar meal that was very authentic Italian food. Excellent wine selection, menu is wonderful. Save room for desert...amazing! Don't miss this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romul's also viewed

 

Been to Romul's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romul's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.