We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for bicyclists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Street Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Street Hotel
610 Oak St., Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for bicyclists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Two other couples and ourselves used this as a base for bicycling around the Columbia River Gorge on a long spring weekend, and it was perfect for that. Rooms are compact, kind of old-fashioned---as you'd expect since the building dates to 1909---but updated and clean. Good selections in the breakfast that's provided with room; hot water and tea always available in lobby; and there's a great open-air space on the big covered porch for decompressing after a long ride with friends/beer/wine.

There's a covered space to lock bikes in, and plenty of cycling territory nearby---the stretch of old highway along the top of the bluffs over the river, and a number of wineries on smaller roads out of town. Staff is friendly and helpful. We've stayed here before, and will likely do so again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you kindly for the great review! We really enjoyed having you and your group. It was lovely watching your friends sharing wine and stories on our porch. Perfect start to a Gorge summer! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was in the Dalles for business purpose, but during weekend I went back to the closet town - Hood River to relax a bit.
At that moment there was a cycling event in the city so most hotel/inn/b&b full or asking for extremely high price, luckily I managed to get the "last minute deal" from this hotel only one day before going back to Hood River.
Hotel didn't look huge outside, but room size pretty large, I liked the classic design of hotel, making me feel good. I opened up the window a bit and it already able to serve as air conditioning, fresh air is definitely better than using AC.
As this is a wooden building, and I stayed closest to the stairs, I could clearly hear someone coming upstairs, but it's really not a big deal as residents there usually won't come back in the middle of night :P
This hotel located in central part of Hood River, very convenient for finding food place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are so glad you had a great stay! Come back again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great location in Hood River. After arriving in Hood River during a 3 week road trip, we ended up staying her last minute and were very content with our stay. We stayed in a vey clean double room (suite?) and the price was very reasonable. One evening we had pizza (delivered) and wine on the porch and then walked a block to get ice cream at a cute ice cream place in town. A very unexpected wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again this summer...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a very good place to stay in Hood River. About 1-2 blocks away from downtown, an easy walk from all of the breweries. The rooms are very small, exactly what you would expect from an old house. The front desk people were very nice. The breakfast was simple self serve coffee and coffee cake. All in all we love coming to Hood River and always stay here or the old hotel. Both are great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you kindly for the review. just wanted to update you, we have crafted a new menu of breakfast offerings! We now offer a farm to table breakfast buffet included in your stay, with all kinds of delicious, freshly made things that change daily. The quiche is divine! Please stop in again and let us know what you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We paid in full for our room(NEXT SUMMER) with a group. The hotel cancelled our reservation saying they should have told us there was a two night minimum. this was not told to us and now all are inconvenienced. They should have honored their employees commitment, NOT THE WAY TO DO BUSINESS!!!

Do not rely on them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solea K, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I'm sorry you are unhappy with our 2 night minimum policy on holiday weekends. There was an error made when reserving your rooms and as soon as we caught it we offered for you to add another night stay to maintain your reservation within our policy guidelines. I understand your choice to cancel instead, 10 months prior to your intended stay. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HB, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I guess prepaid in full rooms mean nothing to this hotel. Our group had reserved the entire hotel--PAID FOR ALL ROOMS IN FULL !!!!!! Made all the reservations for the remainder of our trip including dinners, hotels, activities etc.(for 22 people--no easy task) Almost 3 weeks later we get an email saying that they have CANCELLED all of our rooms and out of the kindness of their heart will refund our money with no cancellation fee!!!! I would not trust this establishment with your reservations or your money. Of course at this time there is not enough rooms at any hotel in town to take our group. ALL OF OUR ARRANGEMENTS HAVE TO BE CHANGED--their suggestion was to have our group stay in 4 or 5 different places--does that sound like a group trip to you?? AVOID THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solea K, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I'm sorry you are unhappy with our 2 night minimum policy on holiday weekends. There was an error made when reserving your rooms and as soon as we caught it we offered for you to add another night stay to maintain your reservation within our policy guidelines. I understand your choice to cancel instead, 10 months prior to your intended stay. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My room was just slightly larger than the queen sized bed in it, the small flat-screen tv is mounted up in a high corner - hard to see. No seating except the bed. The carpet was stained and the floor creaked and squeaked. I found a small ant trap in the corner of the room.

Breakfast included coffee cake that was fresh on day one, and stale on day two. The specially formulated soaps/shampoos they mention on the website are for sale in the lobby.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne H, Manager at Oak Street Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you kindly for the review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy the small things which make our boutique hotel charming. Yes, some of the rooms are smaller; we are in fact a restored 1909 home turned hotel which lends itself towards cozy. The lobby area is quite spacious, with couches, fireplace and entertainments- a great alternative to staying in your room. Alas, in Oregon we battle ants, particularly fall and spring...the inconspicuous traps are laid to prevent any issues. Also, we have reinvented our morning repast into a farm to table breakfast buffet that is made fresh each day. If you happen to pass by again, please stop and let us know what you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oak Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Street Hotel

Address: 610 Oak St., Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Street Hotel is a newly renovated, 1909 classic beauty converted into a 9-room hotel located in historic downtown Hood River. Enjoy a cup of freshly roasted coffee fireside in the lobby in our quiet season or relax on the front porch with a glass of iced tea. The lobby resembles an art gallery featuring work by local artists known internationally. A complimentary breakfast is served with fresh pastries baked by hotel staff, fruit, gourmet coffee and a selection of teas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oak Street Hotel to your Saves list