We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice train ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Hood Railroad

Mt. Hood Railroad
110 Railroad Avenue, Hood River, OR 97031
541 386 3556
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$87*
and up
Murder Mystery Dinner Train from Hood River
Ranked #14 of 17 Attractions in Hood River
Type: Scenic Drives, Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tourist railroad offering 4-hour scenic tours through the Hood River Valley to the base of Mt. Hood on a historic Excursion Train, Dinner Train or Brunch Train.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice train ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice and interesting trip with view of Mt. Hood and Mt. Adams. The train route had many pear farms. The upper dome ride was great with amazing views.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review aboard the Mt. Hood Railroad. We are happy to know you enjoyed the trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    67
    33
    23
    49
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a great anniversary trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed Sunday's Brunch Train excursion. We received our boarding passes inside the railroad depot around 9:30am and boarded the train a few minutes before 10:00 am. We were guided to our assigned car and seats and the train departed promptly at 10:00 am. Our table was adorned with white linens, a plate full of delicous pastries, beautiful glasses,flatware and plates. We were offered complementary champaign or sparkling cider. The excursion followed a scenic route along the Hood River, and up through winding canyons and hillsides. Throughout the journey we passed multiple pear and apple orchards, got glimpses of Mt Hood and Mt Adams and enjoyed the narration of the areas history. We enjoyed a savory and fullfilling brunch. We had a one hour stop over in the city of Parkdale from noon til 1:00 pm where we visited a museum and an ice cream shop. On our return trip home we were greeted by the local sheriff and a group of hoodlums. Our hostess's were very nice and hospitable, the rail cars were beautiful, airconditioned and very clean. The ride was smooth and gently paced. All of the "actors" were exciting and people friendly. Both my wife and I would recommend this short 4 hour trip to any couple or family. The price was very reasonable. Parking was a nominal $5.00.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and hope we made your anniversary memorable! Take care, Meagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Very Nice & Interesting Day Trip - Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very nice inexpensive day trip - highly recommend. If you visit the Mount Hood, OR area you will want to check this attraction out, based on our experience. Wonderful old train has a daily trip around the Gorge and Mt Hood area (depending on the day some special theme trip offerings too - Christmas, etc) ... very interesting and informative trip - scores of vineyards, a pleasant stop in a historical town, etc. Suggestion: Book the day before if you can and pre-pd for a parking pass ... also, recommend you pay the small difference to reserve an Upper Dome Car seat - great viewing during the trip (you can eat prior to the trip, on the train or while in the stop). We close to eat at a wonderful restuarant during our stop (Apple Valley BBQ ... reasonably priced great BBQ that was served quickly) - great old fashion ice cream shop next door for dessert.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience aboard the Mt. Hood Railroad. I'm glad you enjoyed the ride, narration, scenery and the town of Parkdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mt Hood Railroad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Took my sister and her kids on the railroad up to Parkdale on the Mt Hood railroad. Had a great time and really enjoyed the scenery and short visit to Parkdale. They also offer a dinner train but we didnt have time for that. I imagine it is great also!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your trip aboard the Parkdale Excursion Train. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed the trip. If you like that train ride then you will love the Murder Mystery Dinner Train. I hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Fun Route to Mt Hood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

As an alternative mode of transportation, the Mt Hood railroad affords a scenic trip through the Mt Hood fruit loop to Parkdale with a magnificent view of Mt Hood. The historical narrative was enlightening as the train meandered by the glacial river, orchards laden with pears, apples and cherries into the sub alpine forest. During the hour layover, we wandered through the eclectic Parkdale museum then walked to the lovely Parkdale Inn where we booked a room for a return. This was a great trip, leisurely trip. Next time, we'll try sitting in the dome car.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Manager at Mt. Hood Railroad, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for joining us and commenting about your experience aboard the Parkdale Excursion Train.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Hood Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Hood Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Hood Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.