We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Gorge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at the Gorge
Save
You added Inn at the Gorge to your Saves list
1113 Eugene Street, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Perfect after a long day of hiking. Felt like we were staying at a friends house. We had our own door to come and go. Great recommendation of where to eat. Amazing tub with jets great after hiking! Breakfast was warm and filling: yogurt and fruit, juice, coffee, overnight oatmeal soaked in buttermilk pancakes with bananas and turkey bacon! Great!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iloverafting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Fabulous old home. Frank and Michele are wonderful hosts. Breakfast was superb.Good location. Easy walking distance to downtown. If you like antiques, this is a visual treat. We will definitely go back. Thanks from Wayne and Susan

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Immediately upon walking through the doors of Inn at the Gorge, we felt as though we stepped back in time. This 100+-year old grand house had such incredible charm. I loved all of the nooks and crannies, decades-old fixtures and time-warn furnishings. The location was fantastic because it was only a few short blocks to downtown. And the breakfast the next morning was off-the-charts delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed at many places over the years in Hood River, some good, some bad. But I found the Inn at the Gorge a few years back and I've never stayed anywhere else since. Unlike some B & B's where the innkeepers make you feel like you are intruding in their home, Frank and Michele are very low key, you feel welcome like coming home to grandma's house. The rooms are all different and very nice, I've only stayed in the Cascade Suite, but if the other rooms are unoccupied the door is open and you are welcome to have a look, I love this! The breakfast is wonderful and the prices are reasonable, I'm sure anyone would not be disappointed by staying here. Best for couples or someone travelling alone, not really a place for young children.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a perfect choice depending on the size of bed you want.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have often stayed here and are never disappointed. The Inn Keepers, Frank and Michele are very accommodating and their breakfasts are delicious. Fruits done in all kinds of ways with great combinations and baked goodies....like dessert before the main course. Plenty to eat!!!

We love the Master Suite, which has a king bed and big bathroom, and the Terrace Room, which is warm and cozy with Jacuzzi Tub plus shower, and pine on the walls, and all French doors on the front!!!! Good prices too and so close to town. TRY IT YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!

Room Tip: 3 rooms upstairs at the Inn have bathrooms and small kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeliqueSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a charming two night stay here in conjunction with the Fresh Hops Festival. The inn is intelligently planned Victorian guest house, meticulously decorated with many thoughtful amenities. Low keyed charming hosts and sumptuous breakfasts. A bit of a walk to the heart of town but a lovely haven at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Rooms may be previewed on their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at two bed and breakfasts during our vacation in Hood River, Vineyard View was the first (see separate review) and Inn at the Gorge was the second.

If you like staying near the heart of Hood River, but still want to get away a bit, the Inn at the Gorge is the place to be. My wife and I rented the Garden Suite.

What we liked about Inn at the Gorge:
1) Proximity to downtown. If you want to be within walking distance to the stores and restaurants of downtown or within biking distance of the river, this is the place to stay.
2) Our suite was great! A unique floor plan allows light from three different directions depending on the time of day. The space felt well utilized without feeling cramped.
3) We didn't have as much time to enjoy the backyard, but it is a nice respite and a great place for a nap or picnic if you don't mind the sounds of the city on the other side of the fence.
4) Breakfast seemed a little light for me, but was very healthy and the perfect size for my wife.
5) Frank was exceptionally helpful and friendly, he even helped hose off our mountain bikes when we arrived.

To improve:
The only negative part about the Inn at the Gorge is that parking is tight. I was afraid I was going to hit the rock landscaping or another car when backing out. However, if you plan on just sticking to your feet or your bike and just park once, you won't have to worry about this at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
1.5 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
1.6 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Columbia Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Riverview Lodge
Riverview Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hood River
3.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Gorge

Address: 1113 Eugene Street, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing