We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating! Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glassometry Studios

Glassometry Studios
3015 Lower Mill Dr, Hood River, OR 97031
(541) 354-3015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 22 attractions in Hood River
Type: Art Galleries
Attraction Details
billings, mt
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fascinating! Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Laurie Marie Hagen is the artist who created glassometry studios. She is very personable and very accomplished. A number of her steel and glass sculptures surround and inhabit the studio. She also produces functional art glass including sinks, counters, glasses, lamps and other useful objects. We both enjoyed watching her and the other employees work. The studio is set up with seating in the studio that facilitates getting a good look at how the glass is worked. We especially enjoyed working with one of the employees to create our own piece of glass. Each of us always wanted to know what it was like to work with glass and it was really fun to get a little better idea of what that is like.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moses Lake, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fascinating place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place is super interesting. If you have money to spend (Starting around $20 and going up even as far as $80) you can make your own glass art from a large selection, customizing it to your liking. From an icicle, to a sphere, to a pear shape, even more complex things like a mug or bowl. If you don't want to spend money, you can still sit in and watch them make things, which is great. The whole process is one of the most interesting art forms I have seen. The people are very friendly and were happy to work with me as I made a spiral icicle piece.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A great experience for the whole family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We decided to stop in on our drive around the Fruit Loop. What a fabulous decision! The gallery has some absolutely gorgeous pieces. The highlight for us is we were able to create our own pieces! They have a menu of items you can create. You get to pick your colors and then you get to help them make it! It was really really cool. The staff was super friendly and fun to work with. My three year old even got to make an icicle ornament. Seeing the whole process was interesting too. This place is definitely going to become a family tradition.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Fun Artistic Experience! A Great Place for Gifts too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Laurel Hagner, the owner and creator of Glassometry Studiosis so talented....visit her website to see examples of her glass blowing and metal sculpture. It's fun to visit and learn about glassblowing and even blow your own piece. Her staff is so friendly and informative you come away with a real knowledge of her art. An attractive gallery and shop with one of a kind artworks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glassometry Studios also viewed

 

Been to Glassometry Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glassometry Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.