We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy in Hood River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marchesi Vineyards

Marchesi Vineyards
3955 Belmont Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
541-386-1800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Activities in Hood River
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Franco Marchesi's passion for wine began in his hometown of Borgosesia, Peimonte, Italy. As a child he always wondered what it would be like to be a winemaker like his grandfather Achille. After running his own import company specializing in Italian wines for over 20 years, Franco began planting his favorite Northern Italian grapes in Hood River, where the climate and soil are just like Northern Italy. Please come visit, and taste our wines. Salute!
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Italy in Hood River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We discovered our favorite winery in Oregon while using a Wine Passport last year. You will love every wine, and some more, in addition to the location and attention to detail. It's a wonderful family to belong to!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    2
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicioso Italian wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by this place while in Hood River. Excellent atmosphere! $5 tasting fee for 6 wines, all delicious. Staff was friendly and I formative. Pricing per bottle was reasonable for the region. You must come here!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Tasting room in Hood River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is an Italian Winery, and they know what they are doing. I am not a red wine drinker by any means, i normally will take a pass on anything red. But i thought i am going to give this place a try. I liked almost every wine they had, i loved a couple of them. For me the non red wine drinker it was a total shocker!! You do not have to sit at the tasting bar, they have very nice seating for you to enjoy your tasting and they come to you! they also have some Bread sticks on every table, and meat and cheese to go along with your wine. It is a Win Win!
If you are a wine lover this is a place you much check out

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Some great wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I were staying in Hood River for a couple of days and it appeared that Marchesi would not be open those two days. I was pretty bummed by that because I really wanted to try some Italian style Pinot Grigio. As it turned out they were open a day earlier than we thought and we were able to taste some fabulous wines. We bought 6 bottles to bring back to Montana.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland,OR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Unexpected Gem - Excellent Wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Recommended by another tasting room in Hood River we visited this wonderful unexpected gem,
purchasing several bottles at the time. When they served a cheese tray to pair with the red wines we longed to be back in Italy where hospitality was born! This was a wonderfully relaxed experience. We recently drank the 2012 Valentino Primitivo at home and were reminded that it's time to go back to do what we should of done the first time....join the wine club!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marchesi Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Marchesi Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marchesi Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.