We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavender Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hood River Lavender

Hood River Lavender
3801 Straight Hill Road, Hood River, OR
+1 541-354-9917
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 17 Attractions in Hood River
Type: Farms, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don't miss our 10th Annual Lavender DAZE Festival, July 19 and 20th, 2014. Live Music, BBQ, 30 Art Vendors, Massage therapists, kid's activities, Wine tasting, 1000's of lavender plants available for U-Pick, Gorgeous views and good times for all.
oklahoma
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lavender Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I'm so glad we took the time to make the short drive to this place from Hood River. The drive itself was beautiful. We visited on a cool, misty day but that made our visit more enjoyable as where we are from summers are unbearably hot. Mount Hood was nice enough to briefly emerge from the clouds while we were in the gardens. What a gorgeous place! We were free to wander around at our leisure and take as many pictures as we wanted. Being from a state with a climate that doesn't allow this type of lavender to be grown made us appreciate it all the more. I personally like the English lavender found here the best. So fragrant! The poppies and other flowers were like something from a painting, and the little gift shop was almost like stepping into a tiny English cottage. It was stocked with a large variety of lavender products and the girl working there was great at answering all our questions. Everyone was very friendly and the pick-your-own bundles for $5 is a great deal. If we were still in the area we would definitely be attending their upcoming lavender festival.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“boring, nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Its just some flowers grown by someone on their farm. its nice and pretty but I wouldn't spend time and drive there unless you're just passing by. The drive there is good as you can see several snow capped mountains. Dont expect beauty like the tulip gardens.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Niceee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Visited this place but the lavender haunt bloom that much yet but i bet this place is a beautiful place to be. The owner was very accommodating though.. would love to see the lavender again with full bloom!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cut your own lavender”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I enjoyed being able to cut my own lavender bouquet. Cost was $5.00 for a good size bouquet. I plan on drying it myself. The smell alone is heavenly. As previously said the shopkeeper was very friendly and not pushy in any way.
I also agree, while beautiful, the fields were not as expansive as I had expected. Still, we had an enjoyable time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gardens with an amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This lovely garden is a stop along the Fruit Loop. We visited this area at the beginning of June when a few varieties of lavender were beginning to bloom. The location was very beautiful with great views of the surrounding orchards and both mountain peaks (Mt. Hood and Mt. Adams). However, the gardens themselves, while very beautiful, were a bit unassuming. We were expecting more expansive, larger gardens.

The gardens did have a lovely walking path through the lavender plants, as well as various wild flowers (I especially liked the poppies!). We were even greeted by Precious, a very friendly yellow lab! The little gift shop on-site carried a wide variety of homemade lavender products, including soaps, lotions, salves, sprays, etc. The extremely friendly and helpful shop owner even explained the different varieties of lavender plants and we were able to take a few home to start a garden of our very own.

Overall, while small, definitely worth a 30-45 minute trip along the Fruit Loop :).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hood River Lavender also viewed

 

Been to Hood River Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hood River Lavender, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.