We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardens with an amazing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hood River Lavender

Hood River Lavender
3801 Straight Hill Road, Hood River, OR
+1 541-354-9917
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 22 attractions in Hood River
Type: Farms
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Don't miss our 10th Annual Lavender DAZE Festival, July 19 and 20th, 2014. Live Music, BBQ, 30 Art Vendors, Massage therapists, kid's activities, Wine tasting, 1000's of lavender plants available for U-Pick, Gorgeous views and good times for all.
Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gardens with an amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This lovely garden is a stop along the Fruit Loop. We visited this area at the beginning of June when a few varieties of lavender were beginning to bloom. The location was very beautiful with great views of the surrounding orchards and both mountain peaks (Mt. Hood and Mt. Adams). However, the gardens themselves, while very beautiful, were a bit unassuming. We were expecting more expansive, larger gardens.

The gardens did have a lovely walking path through the lavender plants, as well as various wild flowers (I especially liked the poppies!). We were even greeted by Precious, a very friendly yellow lab! The little gift shop on-site carried a wide variety of homemade lavender products, including soaps, lotions, salves, sprays, etc. The extremely friendly and helpful shop owner even explained the different varieties of lavender plants and we were able to take a few home to start a garden of our very own.

Overall, while small, definitely worth a 30-45 minute trip along the Fruit Loop :).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Nice Stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a nice diversion on our drive around Mt Hood--it is not far off the main road. Nice views surround the area--picture time. The lavender was not in bloom in early May, I think it starts in June. The little shack is cute and they sell quite a few products (don't worry, they are not pushy salespeople). I got some dried lavender and some spray.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hrlavender, Owner at Hood River Lavender, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Lavender Farm! We appreciate your review, and truly hope you can visit us again sometime soon. We love sharing our farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I visited this place in mid-May, so the lavender wasn't all in bloom yet, unfortunately but it was still a nice looking place to see. The lady was very friendly, she even gave us some free hop roots to take home and plant. She has a little shop where you can buy all sorts of lavender plants and products. I sampled her pepper lavender jelly and it was very good so I bought some. If you're traveling around the Fruit Loop or if you're visiting Glassometry Studios, you should definitely stop by and see the lavender.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hrlavender, Owner at Hood River Lavender, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to visit and review our farm. Hope you love the Lavender Pepper Jelly as much as we do, and that your hops grow great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A nice escape we definitely enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a place we happened upon by following signs and we were glad we did! There’s acres of different colors and varieties of lavender with a view of Mt. Hood one way and Mt. Adams another. The scent of lavender hits you as soon as you get out of the car and the drone of the bees buzzing is continuous. But you don’t have to worry much about them bothering you because they act as if they’re drunk on all that pollen. You can pick your own lavender bouquet and they also sell lavender items out of a shed, including bath and body products, gift items, and lavender oil. Gardens of other wildflowers add variety and color as well. We had fun wandering around and probably could have stayed longer, but they closed at five and we didn’t arrive until around four.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hrlavender, Owner at Hood River Lavender, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us and the great review. I love the photos you uploaded too! Hope you can visit us again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were in the height of the bloom and it was the most beautiful site I have ever seen - now I am a gardener and I love lavendar so please consider that. The color was undescribable - my husband even used one of the pictures as a screensaver. Mount Hood on one side, Mount Adams on the other. The products are great - try the culinary lavendar in steamed milk for your latte tea or coffee. I had to go back a second time in our short 3 days here. The staff and owners were so nice and very excited to share their experiences and knowledge. My favorite place on earth (seriously). If you go in July don't miss the fresh fruit picked at the perfect time just before you get to eat it - the cherries, raspberries and blueberries were especially good. BTW - just returned from Maui and the lavendar farm there charges $10.00 to get in - Hood River Lavendar is free!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hood River Lavender also viewed

 

Been to Hood River Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hood River Lavender, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hood River Lavender to your Saves list